Welcome! Log in or Register

OBSELETE opinions in general

  • image
101 Reviews
  • unhelpful staff is staffed at all
  • none
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    101 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      21.08.2013 16:12
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      5 Comments

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      5 reasons why you love summer.

      5 reasons why you love summer
      =======================

      Lungs were almost at full capacity while I traipsed up the steep hill looking down at Turville, which enabled me to be at touching distance with the famous windmill used in 'Chitty Chitty Bang Bang,' (1968) - a childhood favourite; made magical by Van Dyke's inventive fatherliness. It was non operational but proud and white as I remember it, in the film. It appeared restored to its 1967 glory. I was with twenty others, up for the challenge walkers. The summer had just begun and the air was infinitely purer than the standard city pollutants, my lungs had grown accustomed to during the long cold spell. I was training for the Sudetes Mountain Trek in late July; and I was gauging my fitness level and respiratory pattern. My burning lung doth complain but the rewarding view was sublime. I sat and admired the (1) 'bird's eye view of quintessential Turville.' 'Camberwick Green' sprung to mind; a 1967 Kid's TV programme which included 'Windy Miller,' who timed the walk in and out of the windmill to perfection, between the sail's rotations. Wobbly, clunky animated 'Windy' was in sync with the rotational mechanics, as a child I was glued at the grainy animation, my sadistic prose, wishing 'Windy' would get clobbered by a sail, it never happened. I remember the amateur studio lighting picking up the vibrant plastic gloss, of the animated figurines - below me, the glaring sunlight was making the people of Turville emerge vibrant and plastic. "Pugh, Pugh, Barney McGrew, Cuthbert, Dibble, Grub;' wouldn't have been out of place in Turville at that sunlit moment. I half expected the familiar, friendly narration of Brian Cant to surf on the mild breeze.

      As soon as I experience the delicate sweet, earthy warm scent of summer I receive the first sign of sinus twinges and twangs - not far off now from the morning nasal passage having a mucus plastering, until (2) Benadryl decongests, and on this occurrence, I know hayfever has awoken from its winter hibernation. I treat hayfever like an old school friend: 'Hey, it's hayfever;' who sporadically calls you, to tell you irrelevant stuff which you're fascinated to hear initially, but after a certain time span (approximately 40 minutes) you make your excuses and terminate the one-way conversation. After a week on the antihistamines, the first-bite aids my sleep pattern especially after a ramble, I catch up with my slumber and after seven days my body-adjusts to the daily antihistamine infusion. This means I'm pumped up with an insect sting antidote - while fellow walkers fret at the sight of wasps, I casually wave them away as if I'm summoning a waiter and offload to them the wonders of pollination. It doesn't calm the hysteria but I'm usually the culprit due to my offending size elevens gatecrashes wasp nests for fun. I'm just aware of irritated buzzing. I watch at the wasps venting their hunched up anger at my bare calves, I flick them off nonchalantly. Several little pricks that's all - as a rule you come across many pricks during a lifetime. Those who wear sun-shades inside, those who are open to the natural meteorological elements while driving convertibles.

      In my former life, I could've been John Loudon McAdam (1756 - 1836) the inventor of tarmac - I adore the smell of: (3) Melting tar. The scent is on par with the scent of marzipan during mid winter. Tar absorbs the heat of the sun and returns to its earlier stages of process. Moulding to construct is to 'macadamise.' Unmistakable, although the scent can be unidentified in small doses - part of the concoction cocktail of summer scent, like Pimms, too much can make you feel heady. To can see a slight emboss of your footprint if walked on. Making your mark on construction before a tyre wipes it out. Tar incessantly recycles itself at the height of summer; the temperature plateaus and the stark scents newness implies the summer's day has been freshly baked. In the cities the scent adds to the stifling heat - on slim country roads, it depicts the scent of summer on the same vein that cut lawns do.

      I adopt the term: 'comfort' - over the term: 'fashionable', when it comes to wearing items of clothing and foot-ware. The summer months are an excuse, well, licence really, to (4) marry socks with sandals. I can hear moans in unison already. I genuinely cannot see why such a combination of attire-wear could cause such a stir among the folk who run fashion - whatever that means. Plus, they've not been elected either by the public. I hasten a guess their silicon implants have disabled their logical synapses. The ease of slipping on sandals is not only a summer must, it does wonders for time-management and for your back while craning to manoeuvre stuffy shoes onto your foot, is hardly worth the effort to make your feet stick to your socks, all cooped up as if they're factory hens. Socks with sandals are odiously our nation's faux pas. Why does it matter if socks accompany sandals? I crave for the comfort and ease of the combination. Now if I wore white socks with a pair of designer high heel Jimmy Choo - that really would be a faux pas worth complaining about.

      (5) Openly eat Magnums without looking like an ice cream addict, everyday. Of course doing the same activity any other time will alert pedestrians you're a freak of nature. You can see their thought process scroll across their forehead. "It's too cold for an ice cream surely; freak!" Are we so programmed to gauging temperatures and sun's fickleness that it gives a 'green light' to whether or not to indulge in an ice cream outside? I've witnessed snapping tourists armed with iPads collecting screensavers licking ice creams during a window slot of fifteen minutes of sun. The ice cream vender smiled because he knew the window slot of sun would triple his daily turnover.

      A sunny disposition never loses out.©1st2thebar 2013

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        26.11.2010 18:43
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        28 Comments

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        The site is no longer run for the masses..

        -Statistics-

        -------------------
        <*><*><*><*><*><*><*>

        Reviews- 1060
        You have been thanked - 480
        Crowns - 177
        Reviews- 1060
        Rates given- 50,500
        Rates received- 51,800
        Dooyoo miles- 1.4 million

        <*><*><*><*><*><*><*>
        - - - Honours Board - - -
        <*><*><*><*><*><*><*>

        1st for comments written on dooyoo at 32,254
        2nd in speaker's corner for crowns (highest non guide)
        3rd in the total Film reviews written and crowns accumulated
        4th in the never been a guide but most crowns in films category
        5th in the never been a guide but most crowns on dooyoo category
        <*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*><*>


        As a proud member of the one million dooyoo miles accrued and words written club I think its time for a catch up to see where the money is going on site as we enter the sixth painful month of dooyoo's austerity package. My stats above are how hard I work here for increasingly depleted reward. At the moment it's between 80 and 100 reviews minimum to make the £50 cheque (unless you have 50 fridges or vacuum cleaners, of course) and that for me is not enough to make it fun anymore. If you post those 100 reviews up on ciao and rate well you get three fold that money. Ciao is battering dooyoo right now on rewards and competitions, but both still dependent on each others members cross-posting, a bit like the relationship between China and the US.

        Pretty much all of you have seen a big drop in rewards and we all agree we couldn't keep up the silly 50p per review thing and so the cuts were needed to survive. But now money is hard to come by as Christmas approaches we need to look at where the money is being made on dooyoo. We could pretend we have 14 cell phones, 10 sports watches and 7 yoghurt makers to go with our 50 fridges (and we all know who those members are) and chase the level one pay outs but most members have integrity and will continue to write about products they have used and things they have done and so expect reward there, the point of the site after all. Just how many bottles of spirits and aspirins can one woman get through in a weekend!! It's certainly given me a headache just trying to get through them in the newest review list.

        Not only has your review written revenue halved but your rates received cash, mainly because you foolishly continue that integrity by not rating everyone and everything as quick as possible just to get rates back. So that leaves the competitions and crowns as the only other route to make it worth your while here. Obviously the level one categories are 'coughing up' some crowns and so a good place to be and well supported work there can be very lucrative but when you have done all your boring electrical and household reviews you have to return to what you're good at and what works for you and then hope for crowns and rates.

        Getting Crowns...

        I must admit I have lost heart in dooyoo's crowning policy and it feels like the site is no longer working as it should be. I'm bored of writing restrained reviews to please dooyoo to chase crowns that never come as we increasingly run out of things to write on that will produce any sort of revenue here. What's the point in giving 100% anymore? Some established members and guides will have a go in their cosy chat forums and say here he goes again but they are only protecting what they have, which is a very nice chunk of the crowns for their efforts. They guides usually drift into a pack mentality over the guiding and crowing system. One or two have put their hands up and said yes, I do feel it helps to be a guide to keep my crowns coming and I have got more as a guide, which I 100% respect and wont be naming names, whilst others just smother any debate by shouting me down as a conspiracy theorist. Oh, and when I say certain members get too many crowns I'm saying dooyoo are 'giving' them too many rather than they are 'not worth' being considered for those crowns. But some guides spin it back at me to avoid that debate.

        The devil first 100 reviews on dooyoo scored 30 crowns, impressive stuff, and top ten on the crown chart for nearly a year. My last 100 scored 8, nowhere near the top ten. Find me a guide who has seen a fall anywhere near that. Dooyoo awarded the guides 70 out of the last 250 crowns (up until the end of October) on site, a seven year high and still rising, cutting crowns elsewhere to maintain the guide's booty. If reviews like this don't draw your attention to that fact and you don't act then that rate will rise and rise. Like your gas and electricity bills the market isn't working for the bulk consumer right now and some serious unchallenged profiteering is going on.

        Being a guide here must be like that episode where Homer gets the golden key to the executive toilet in Mr Burns's office, a perk that you keep quiet about so not to lose your privileges. But the biggest advantage they have on dooyoo is not that they are the best writers or anything (some of them are very good and some are ok) but they know their work is always going to be read and considered for crowns by dooyoo because they are guides, their healthy crown return testament to.

        The main problem for me is that dramatic rise in guide/crown ratios. Not because the guides are getting any more crowns than usual (although most are) but because non guides are getting far less from a much smaller pool and so the guides get a bigger percentage of the total crowns. A year ago Guides were getting around 45 out of 250 but in October this year it was up to that 70 out of 250 number. It seems Dooyoo's support for the guides is unflinching; each week at least one featured in dooyoo's celebrated dooyooer's thingy or winning an aspect of the competitions. One unnamed guide is now getting eight out of every thirty reviews crowned where as when they were not a guide it was around one every thirty. Ex guide and member Chrisandmark got 104 crowns for their first 150 reviews here but after a long hiatus got just 2 crowns in 100 reviews. How did they get that bad?? Nobody is questioning any guide's standard of work but that six or seven crowns are being taken from elsewhere and that devastates second tear member's chances and creates a subliminal quota system. We have to change things and make the system work for everyone. ALL members that work very hard on dooyoo and produce good work and volume should not be taken for granted. Ok, maybe I lose crowns for writing caustic stuff like this but other good writers that are safe are also losing crowns. I love dooyoo but they dont love me and are certainly not playing hard to get. lol.

        Reviews posted up on dooyoo have fallen around 30% in the last year yet dooyoo guides crowns have RISEN 30% in that same year (the gas bill). Because the guides ratios are not that unaffected by the cuts they have more confidence to write more reviews and so get more crowns. Good writers then write less because they ain't getting crowns and so the guides get even more crowns on top of that! Seemplez! My advice with crowns is don't aim high because at least 50% of them are predetermined to go elsewhere before you even put pen to paper. If you're here for the money just write tons of 400 word reviews in the level one categories on things that a friend of a friend may have used and forget chasing the £1.50's. The days of writing for a crown to make up your money are over for non guides is well and truly over. Sometimes you have to throw a fire extinguisher off the roof of the dooyoo HQ to get your point across over cuts. I have a feeling I'm speaking for a lot more writers this time around in my three monthly rant! It's not like I throw the odd review up a week and don't contribute to dooyoo. I do six good reviews a week and read and rate EVERY film review, four times as many as the film guide!

        The 'Film' section I love and there it's almost impossible to crown now, unless you're writing on obscure horror films, rarely on the desired newest product list. It's the same for music and books, the sections you really want to write in but seeing the guides dominate those sections, averaging 30% of all crowns on site there. 45% of all film crowns in October went to guides. The guides wrote around 40 of the 550 film reviews posted that month. It's a ridiculous strike rate. I took 5 film crowns in the 20 film reviews I wrote over the summer, which I was very pleased with, matching the guides abilities and ratios in the section, yours truly actually sitting atop the pile in the middle of that month. But now it's just one crown in six weeks from twenty five film reviews written and it's pissing me off. I'm sure lots of you are pissed off for similar drops. It's the peak rental season and the only time of the year I and film writers like me can really hope to earn any money here under the new mile system. The guides I topped in that list have NOT seen a collapse in crowns. You watch the movie...take notes....cover all the special features and nuisance of the experience and then you get nothing week after week. The MORE film reviews I write the FEWER crowns I seem to get!! It's that inconsistency that is infuriating to members. Film is critical to dooyoo and already some very good film writers have presumably just scaled back writing on mass at the peak of the rental season because of that reduction in rewards. Feel free to say either way on my comments bit to let dooyoo know your feelings on the issue - or on me for being a pain in the ass again. LOL. I'm not afraid of any stick or counter arguments guys. I think you know that much about me. If you don't speak out things won't change. I'm not suggesting you should stop rating the guides as this rant is purely about the BEST work getting crowns. No, we actually need to NOMINATE MORE and get stuck in and make it hard for dooyoo to crown the same faces. The more nominations you make then the more work they have to do to look through the work to decide the best and so the bigger the spread of the crowns across the site. SEEMPLEZ!!!!!! In that way you guys feel more empowered as the crowns feed through and so more part of the community and so write better reviews and so get even more crowns!

        Our star non guide crowned member is JS, an excellent film writer, the one I need to be, a phenomenal dooyoo performer and averages a book or magazine review a DAY and a film in-between and still has time for 3000 rates per month, which is 100 rates per day and so around 6 reads per hour (that's with 8 hours sleep and toilet breaks in the equation!). It earns him/her on average two crowns per week. JS has recently moved to ciao in between all that. Is this the dooyoo model performer we need to be to get crowns? Is it now all about mass rating to get return rates and nominations for good work? The answer seems to be yes. If you think that's committed then think again, one member doing 4000 rates per month on dooyoo! Admittedly I am down to a pathetic 800 rates a month and refuse to read about Tampax and what Britney Spears smells like for rate backs. Last year were we were getting 70 rates per review minimum so it didn't matter so much but now we are down to half that and so it does matter that crown and rates are available to all. Are our reviews and hard work only worth 38p?
        In 2007 when we were getting similar rates per review I was way up the crown list with regular awards and so it subsidised the low rates. When my heavily nominated Commonwealth Games review and my 3000 word A-Z on the spending cuts and one on Northampton didn't earn a polite crown ( that dooyoo don't even pay £1-50 for those in the dooyoo lounge bit) I knew it was going to be a long winter for appropriate reward. Why on earth don't dooyoo reward people in non paying sections to make up for the crowns not rewarded on paying sections? We are long past the point where members are discouraged from writing in sections with low rewards. Just give us a boost dooyoo in another long cold winter.

        One of the most annoying factors is we still have no real clue what dooyoo actually want from us to earn us crowns, apart from some vague rules that don't seem to apply. I hate to bang on about it but if we had nominations listed under reviews we could at least gauge how well our review is doing and so try and earn more nominations for that review by doing some more concentrated rating for it and so hold back posting our next review up. But they won't do it as they will have some average reviews with one or two nominations earning a crowns and a review with ten nominations not earning a crown and so it looks bad. Nominations are either a pointer to how good the review is or its not guys. Get rid of them if they are not. SEEMPLEZ!

        Baring in mind dooyoo has the last say over crowns here are my rules that would be a requirement to get crowns. These rules would encourage members to write longer and better reviews and rate and read more.

        #1- Nomination's received listed under reviews
        #2- A minimum 30 rates per review to qualify for a crown
        #3- The writer must add at least one review a week to qualify for a crown
        #4- A guide's nomination is not critical
        #5 - More crowns given in non paying sections

        So where to write to get crowns?

        For a bit of fun I have looked to see where the crowns went in October. As women make 70% of all purchases in the shops but only earn 37% of the money spent in the same shops its no surprises the girls top the league with the 'Fashion' sections 32 crowns, and gorgeous they look too, especially our new batch of fresh faced students. 'PC and Video Games' has surpassed sex as what students and young people do most in the evenings and so equally unsurprising they sit third with 22 crowns on dooyoo. I am surprised 'Travel' and 'UK & Ireland' took so many crowns though, both level 3 categories, my point, perhaps, that still most members-including guides-write well on what they want to do and the thing that interest them rather than the stuff we are elbowed towards. It's clearly well worth writing in 'Travel' if you are crown chasing as only 120 reviews were written in that month to get 25 crowns. That's a one-in-five chance of crowing, four or fives times better than most sections. To put that in context, Film, which had 19 crowns, had to share there's out between 450 written reviews last month alone. As we have seen with Ireland, if the system doesn't work when money is tight then it will collapse like pack of cards.

        Those not bonking or shooting up a third world country on their PC or consul are probably listening to music, 18 crowns awarded last month for music heads. Some sections like Sports are just a farce of new members chasing the 60p reviews with poor work and so just 5 crowns there in October. Toys & Games, who dooyoo were plugging all through the summer, surprisingly saw 160 reviews earn ZERO crowns in October, very strange. Food & Drink reviews, who nearly bankrupt dooyoo, that have now been dumped in Level 3, saw 567 reviews earning just one pathetic crown on dooyoo in October, that for 'Clipper Organic Nettle Tea', presumably the tea of choice at Dooyoo HQ as they decide the weeks crowns! Banks and Finance, 25% of the economy, are rock bottom, no crowns for 6 months! It seems we all hate the banks.

        Total crowns in October (guide crowns in bracket)

        Fashion & Beauty 32 (6)
        Travel - 25 (8)
        PC/Video Games - 22 (3)
        Film - 19 (10)
        UK & Ireland 18 (5)
        Music -18 (3)
        Household - 16 (3)
        Cosmetics - 11(4)
        Audio\Hi Fi - 9 crowns (1)
        Health & Beauty - 9 (1)

        Photography - 7 (2)
        House & Garden - 6 (1)
        Computers - 6 (0)
        Dooyoo Lounge 6 (0)
        Sports - 5 (1)
        Telecommunications - 5
        Campus & Careers - 5
        Kids & Family - 5
        Motors - 5
        Pets - 3
        Shopping - 2

        Food & Drink - 1
        Services - 1
        Software - 1 (1)
        Video - 1
        Toys & Games - 0
        Banking\Finance - 0

        * Level 1: 600 dooyooMiles per review (+20 dooyooMiles per reading)
        * Level 2: 300 dooyooMiles per review (+15 dooyooMiles per reading)
        * Level 3: 100 dooyooMiles per review (+10 dooyooMiles per reading)
        * dooyoo Lounge: 10 dooyooMiles per reading
        * Archive: Categories in the Archive do not receive dooyooMiles

        Competitions are as equally frustrating here. Chasing the bucks I had a crack at the vacuum cleaner competition in the summer, 1000 words to make it funny, whilst giving plenty of product information and my signature social comment. But I received a Not Useful and loads of 'Somewhat Useful' because my review wasn't pedantic and technically minded like their reviews - and here's me thinking it was a fun competition. It was like stumbling into that shop on the hill in the League of Gentleman - 'This is a local section for local people we'll have no trouble here!!!! I wouldn't go as far as to say it was strategic style ciao voting because I was a threat but the Not Useful rate was outrageous.
        So being burnt in household I staggered out dazed with shell shock and a mangled Dyson-Hoover wrapped around my neck and I swore (and I really did) never to enter a competition again where there are women around. Theres a reason why women do the housework and its nothing to do with the fact men don't like doing it. If it's too hot get out of the kitchen.

        It was the same story when I entered the sports World Cup crown Competion previous to. I basically wrote all the serious entries (about 15) alongside a good one a guide wrote. Nobody else had bothered with the competition because most of it was dooyoo lounge categories so not with the effort for the miles rewarded (see my uncrowned 6000 word Commonwealth Games review as an example of meanness). It was between my reviews and Puggers. I think you know who won. Considering I have the second highest amount of dooyoo lounge/speaker's corner reviews crowned and written here I fancied my chances.

        I didn't enter this month's computer review to chase those juicy Amazon vouchers as I know I have no chance. I write 25 reviews on level one stuff over the summer and nowt. This week's competition for that £50 voucher is rather obvious , members given the chance to write a review on the 'most wanted list' products to nab that prize. All dooyoo cheating rules apply, of course. The number of members who have yet to write on products they have in that lucrative list must be few and far between. The winner of this one will be interesting...

        And now...

        The only good news is I have just been awarded a contract to write at the Olympics and some more cricket work for Spin magazine yet still dooyoo matters to me. It's they who got me into writing and it is they who are going to have to put up with me because of that. I know I keep moaning about crowns but we have to know its even playing field. If you read my comments thread you will see who really has the most to lose if the rewards system was to change - the ones that shout loudest for it not to. Even when I'm watching the archery or judo (yep, got the crap sports because no one else wants to do them) in 2012 I'm pretty sure I will be thinking of my opening line and title for my next film review here. I will also be hoping to see nominations listed under reviews then. :-)

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
          More Comments
        • More +
          29.07.2002 22:41
          5 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          For you to fully understand the importance of this album, I find this short biography of Nirvana to be useful: The following extract is from www.rollingstone.com: "In their brief seven-year history, Nirvana unwillingly brought alternative music into the mainstream and defined a generation of young people alienated by baby boomers, Michael Jackson and Madonna. Nirvana's roots lie in the underground hardcore scene of the mid-1980s; Sonic Youth was a BIG influence on their music. What was Nirvana's big appeal however, was that they created a unique blend of hardcore and pop that charmed millinos of listeners. The aggressive pounding of Dave Grohl's drumming and Krist Novoselic's manic hurdle-jumping bass tunes met with Kurt Cobain's introspective lyrics and melanchloic pop savvy. Novoselic and Cobain met in 1985 in their hometown of Aberdeen, Wash., a rural logging community outside Seattle. Their first musical incarnation as the Stiff Woodies featured Cobain on drums, Novoselic on bass and whoever happened to be around on guitar. By 1987 they had morphed into Nirvana; Cobain moved to vocals and guitar, and drummer Chad Channing was added. Nirvana soon gained the attention of the hip Seattle label Sub Pop and their debut album, Bleach, recorded for just over $600, was released in June 1989. Dave Grohl of the Washington, D.C. hardcore band Scream replaced Channing in September 1990. During the summer of 1991 the band opened for Sonic Youth on their European Festival tour. Nirvana's landmark performance at the Reading Festival was featured in the documentary "1991: The Year Punk Broke" and marked the beginning of their worldwide recognition. Ironically, 1991 marked the birth of Nirvanamania and the beginning of Cobain's mental and physical deterioration. The group signed with Geffen Records to record their much anticipated second album, and when Nevermind was released in the fall of
          1991, it symbolically knocked Michael Jackson's Dangerous off the top of the U.S. album charts. The success of the album, which went triple platinum, was fueled by MTV's incessant airplay of "Smells Like Teen Spirit." The song was hailed as the anthem of the grunge generation and its appeal broadened the band's fan base to include mainstream jocks, metalheads and alternative wannabes; the very people Nirvana music was supposed to alienate. Rumors of Cobain's heroin use were ever-present and as the band grew into a multi-million dollar commercial entity, he began to withdraw into his own drug-induced world. The band's stability was questioned in the wake of a variety of bizarre stunts including Cobain's penchant for showing up at concerts in women's clothing and mocking his way through songs, and Novoselic and Grohl's nationally televised kiss following a Saturday Night Live performance. Cobain's marriage to hardcore diva Courtney Love in 1992 only fueled the negative publicity fire. The recording of their third studio album was delayed by Cobain's health problems -- he complained of chronic stomach pain and was hospitalized several times -- and Geffen released Incesticide, a compilation of B-sides and rarities late in 1992 to appease the cash cow fans starved for new Nirvana material. By the spring of 1993, the band was ready to go back in the studio. They recruited Steve Albini (previously produced the Pixies- another huge Nirvana influence) to produce In Utero,the long-awaited follow up to Nevermind." So it was no surprise that In Utero was met with huge public scrutiny and was frequently compared from every angle to its platinum selling predecessor. Some fans were disappointed, some fans leaped with joy. But whatever the opinion, everybody reacted to In Utero. It was said to have split the real fans from the "teenyboppers" who had jumped on the bandwagon after Smells Li
          ke Teen Spirit. There's no denying that Nirvana lost very many fans with the release of this record as some people rejected its more down to earth and deadbeat mood. A similar reaction was caused with Weezer's Pinkerton but the effect wasn't as bad here as In Utero was one of the biggest selling album's of 1993 and 1994 (There were huge public sales after Kurt Cobain commited suicide on April 4th 1994). On to the review: In Utero is ripe with injokes and contradictory statements – all of them viciously direct – at life in the post-Nevermind fast lane, at the moneychangers who milked the grunge tit dry in record time and at the bandwagon sheep in the mosh pit who never caught on to the desperate irony of "Here we are now, entertain us". (one classic line from Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. And there's no doubt that In Utero has a much more daring and hardcore sound than its bubblegum predecessor. It combines the metal sound of Bleach with the bubblegum wit and pop savvy of Nevermind to creat a record that overtakes its predecessor in every category. It's clear that Kurt Cobain wanted to make a statement with this album. The very first words out of Cobain's mouth in "Serve the Servants," In Utero's psychedelic and melancholic opener, are "Teenage angst has served me well/Now I'm bored and old," sung in an irritated, sardonic tone that derails any lingering expectations for a son of "Smells Like Teen Spirit". It seems that Kurt wants to get away from Nevermind as quickly as possible and those lines really let the listener know what you're in for. Kurt Cobain is talking to you through those lines and that's why everybody is engaged by Nirvana- they truly know how to manipulate their audience. The song Serve the Servants is as far taken from Smells Like Teen Spirit as can be possible. There is no big riff or a stadium plea
          sing chorus- instead we're met by thrashing melancholic chords and pounding drums as Kurt sings one of his most autobiographical songs: "All I wanted was a father, instead I got a dad, serve the servants, oh no, that legendary divorce is such a bore". It truly is mesmerising stuff indeed. It gets better. In "Very Ape," a two-minute corker cut from the same atomic-fuzz cloth as the band's 1989 debut album, Bleach, Cobain gets right down to sardonic business, against a burning-rubber lead guitar squeal and the manic sounds created by bassist Chris Novoselic and drummer Dave Grohl: "I am buried up to my neck in contradictionary lies." That memorable opening line follows with one of Cobain's sardonic puns: "If you ever need anything, don't hesitate to ask someone else first". The whole song seems like a walking contradiction and it works all the better for it. it has a repetitove two chord riff that just explodes during the bridge to the chorus: "I am the king of a relative, I got here first". Very Ape is as close as this album gets to Nevermind but it still has all the hardcore hooks of other tracks on this album. That said- there are really two kinds of song on this record: 1. The hardcore metal style song with overlaying screams. This kind is heard on such crowd pleasers as Milk It and Scentless Apprentice and never fails to get somebody hyperventilating from dancing around to it too much! Some people despise tracks like Milk It where it seems Cobain had deserted his own pop roots since it barely has a tune but wait until the chorus where Dave Grohl really smashes those drums and you'll be shocked with devilish glee. These types of songs only work is there is a hooky chorus and riff coming attached with them. Cobain was always able to produce these and only lets us down on one song: Radio Friendly Unit Shifter. I personally think it is Nirvana's worst song: i
          t's just an uncalulated mess. There's: No hook <br>Bad lyrics Moaned vocals The drums and the "tune" don't fit too well together. It really is the bad apple of this album and you can't help but thinking how much better nthis album would be without such a tinker akin to a lullaby version of Anarchy in the UK! 2. The scond type, and fra superior type, mixes in pop savvy with chopping grunge hooks and sardonic lyrics sung in a sarcastic fashion. It was done very well on Nevermind but is done far better on this record. Such gems as Serve The Servants and Tourette's far surpass anything done on Nevermind, even if they lack THE hook of Smells Like Teen Spirit. And talking of Smells Like Teen Spirit, one song does surpass it on this album- Rape Me. "Rape Me" opens as a disquieting whisper, Cobain intoning the title verse in a battered croon under a riff that is more than reminiscent of the one used on Smells Like Teen Spirit. It's just Cobain and his guitar playing along and for twenty seconds we're all fooled- then the chorus headbutts us all. The drums pound, the bass kicks in and distorted guitars fly off the walls as Cobain sulks: "Am I the only one, ohhhhhhhhhhhh, Am I the only one?". The song seems to be a chilling two fingers up at Kurt's unwanted public attention towards him as he goes on: "Hurt me, hate me, rape me" before the chorus kicks in yet again. What makes it better than Smells Like Teen Spirit is that it's short and sweet. What dogged Nirvana's "classic" down is that it was far too long at five minutes and got boring after a while. At around two minutes, Rape Me is the definition of punk perfection. The same quiet then shocking chorus technique is used on Francis Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle (a horrible title, I know). None of this remorseless self-obsessed rant &
          roll would be half as compelling or convincing if Nirvana weren't such master blasters – Novoselic and Grohl deserve a few extra bows here as they are the machinery that powers along all of these songs. Grohl must have gone through hundreds of drumsets while making this album as every song sounds as if his drums are breaking under the huge blows he is dealing to them. Novoselic though is far more melodic and puts some sanity into Cobain's often convoluted guitar playing. Essentially all Nirvana songs prescribe to one formula: Kurt's gentle guitar hook and singing accompanied by pounding drums and an unobtrusive bassline fool you into thinking a calm song is ahead but then you get shocked by a stadium-pleasing chorus. That's not to say that there are some genuinely quiet moments on this album- the folk strumming of Pennyroyal Tea and the sulking guitar chopping of Dumb really are soothing, if disturbing at times. Other instruments like violins and cellos are used on these songs as well to create a more soothing effetc after several power chord driven wonders. Dumb even contains one of Kurt Cobain's greatest lines: "I'm dumb or maybe I'm just happy". The line refers to how one may become more unhappy with the more knowledge they gain about the real depressing world and not the fake world shown in sentimental films like Father Of The Bride where miney grows on trees and happy moments come ten a penny. Steve Albini's "production" isn't really production. He's more or less let Nirvana do what they want in the manner that they wish and the sheen that laced most Nevermind songs is not present anywhere on In Utero. It is said to make the album more punk. That said, tracks like Heart-Shaped Box and Tourette's still do have all the meet you at the finish line statistics of Nevermind. However, it is closing track All Apologies that really confirms Cobain's gen
          ius to a tuhne. With classic lyrics like "what elesshould i say, all apologies, what eles should i say, everyone is gay, i'm married, buried". It is Nirvana's best song. FULL STOP. It's the last thing most people would expect from Angst Central, and it's an inspired sign-off that shows how Nirvana have been reborn in the face of suck-cess. In Utero is a lot of things – brilliant, corrosive, enraged and thoughtful, most of them all at once. But more than anything, it's a triumph of the will.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            30.04.2002 23:19
            4 Comments

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            • "The Monkees (Hey
            • Hey
            • were the . . .)"

            Pure, unadulterated evil - the most hateful and scary evil doer of the year is upon us and he batters you to death first and asks questions afterwards. Tim Roth has always spent his time on the wrong side of the tracks. I remember him first as a teenage skinhead with National Health specs on the TV, but in the brand new Planet Of The Apes movie, as General Thade, Tim Roth is so absolutely, unspeakably evil that you'll have nightmares about him. It may be the make up, or the bandy legged gait, or even the way he leaps onto the back of his horse, but whatever it is, Thade is the most fearsome epitome of evil since the black clad Darth Vader. Even before seeing the film, the ads and the trailers hinted darkly at the thoroughgoing badness of it all - the low, beetling brows, the malevolent eyes, the ferocious snarl, even the very, very hairy eyes - but they do not prepare you in any way, shape or form for the reality of General Thade in the widescreen cinema. He is total, unfettered, undiluted evil. Well, I'll come back to Thade a bit later .... As regards the film, eagerly awaited is very much an understatement as far as the new Planet Of The Apes film is concerned. It's the latest in an exceedingly lengthy line of darkly macabre films from the masterpiece of sinister darkness, Tim Burton, but it's much more a rip roaring adventure film than a follow up to Batman, apart from Roth's fiend from Hell. In fact, it doesn't strike you immediately as a standard offering from Burton. The first two Batman films, The Nightmare Before Christmas and Sleepy Hollow were all mysteriously sinister with the emphasis on sinister, but Planet Of The Apes is just amazing action and the age old battle between good in the shape of Mark (formerly Marky Mark) Wahlberg and evil in the entire simian forces of an entire planet, with only the very exotically disfigured Helena Bonham Carter bridging the gap. I have to say that Bonham Carte
            r's eyebrows as a sex kitten, pacifist chimp are less fearsome than the lady's are in real life, but she gives a pretty sympathetic and believable(!) performance here, while Wahlberg is all jutting jaw, sturdy chest and lack of humour or irony. But neither of them can hold a candle to that man Roth.... Wahlberg plays American astronaut Leo Davidson who is a member of a ship's crew which is flying across space. The ship is carrying a load of apes which are trained to fly space pods to investigate when trouble is afoot. The ship approaches a space storm and despite Davidson's plea that he should be sent out to investigate, his favourite chimp is despatched instead, only to go missing. Davidson decides to ignore his orders and takes off in another pod. He is caught in a strange time warp type effect which sends him spinning helplessly across the far reaches of space and into a forced crash landing on a nearby planet. He crashes through a jungle into a swamp and finds himself at the bottom of a lake, but manages to free himself and escape. Suddenly as he struggles to shore, he finds himself in the middle of a bunch of men and women who are racing desperately away from something which is pursuing him. Panicked by the rush, he turns and flees with them, and it soon becomes evident that their pursuers are huge, powerful apes, who wear clothes, ride horses and can talk. They are ferocious, extremely strong and lightning fast and force the humans into the open where they pound them into submission and force them into cages. Davidson is totally bemused by this turn of events, but can get no sense out of his fellow prisoners. But when he finds himself brought to a village and sold for money to a slave trader, everything starts to become clear. For some strange reason, things have all been turned on their head - the apes are intelligent and are the dominant species, humans are reviled as being filthy and vicious brutes and
            are the slaves of their hairy masters. Now, I'm not going to give you any further clues about the plotline here because you should check this film out yourself, and I've got no intention of spoiling the amazing fun for you. Suffice to say, Davidson is the meat in a lustful sandwich between a blonde Amazon and a pacifist chimp, and General Thade uses the state of emergency that results from an escape attempt to get martial law declared so that he can follow through with his ambitions to wipe out the entire human species. The make up in this film is absolutely wonderful, as is the scenery and a lot of trouble has been taken on creating a whole new world. Marvellous new flesh has been added to the splendid concept of the 60s original and even if Marky Mark is no Chuck Heston, he doesn't have to be as in truth he's just a supporting player here as the bad guys get all the best moments. The fight scenes are immense and the apes, errm, well, you know, actually act like apes, from the shambling gait to the knuckle scraping running style. Old Roddy McDowall had nothing on this lot, and I bet he's turning in his ape enclosure at the new developments. PS Kris Kristofferson manages about a quarter of an hour in this film, so why the big billing? PPS Be prepared for a neat twist at the end, but watch out for the barely disguised intro to the obligatory sequel - All the young chimps love Marky...

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              21.04.2002 00:34
              1 Comment

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              Final Fantasy was the most wanted game in 1997 and didn't disappoint the fans. Before the game was released there was so much question about ?is it good? and ?have you played it yet? What?s it like?? Sony also helped in this publicity by showing what seemed to be movie trailers on TV. It was a forgone conclusion that it would be a big hit and they were right. It was a huge success with games being sold all over the place. There are many different reasons why people like Final Fantasy 7. One is its addiction factor while another is to be the best of your mates, but whatever it was it worked and sent the game straight to the top of the list and on my own list it is still near the top. As the games begin I was presented with some of the best graphics of the time and smooth game play. The sound is one of the high points of the game never giving anything away so it is all one big shock for people everywhere when Aries died because no-one saw it coming. As Aries was one of the main stars you always expect her to come back to life but she doesn?t and that is one of the worst bits because she is the best person on the game. So this game leaves none of my fantasies unfulfilled. Hot women, adventurous game play and strong magic spells that can kill almost anything in one shot.

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments
              • More +
                15.12.2001 00:27
                12 Comments

                Advantages

                Disadvantages

                I’m sadly having to use dooyoos own site to shake them up in the reward department. Ive been jousting with amazon .con over one of their electronic gift vouchers I got from dooyoo that turns out to be a dud. None of the two sites will admit it’s their fault that I have a naff voucher and are messing me around over resolving the matter. I cashed it in on November twenty yet I still haven’t got the thing to go through.almost three weeks into the e-mail and help line battle. I know dooyoo are suffering in the fiscal department and are perhaps “delaying” payment to pay the bills. But surely a twenty-pound gift voucher shouldn’t be all that much of a problem. I’m reduced to attacking a site I love to get this thing resolved. I’m wondering how many more people have had the same problem. Think twice before you take the option of amazon’s rewards as they mess you around something special. It certainly wont be getting me as a customer.WARNING!.dooyoo vouchers suck. Ive been stuck in Nigeria for a month on a very complex legal matter. I was so pleased to rap up the job and get back for Christmas and some decent tally. Nigerian TV is nearly as daunting as their legendary airport at Lagos. I managed to get my laptop stolen at the notorious airport from my hire car and was relived off all my local dollars for various blatant con taxes by the local corrupt officers lining up to clean me out. Anyhow im home now and the news is worse as my trusted dooyoo have halved the rewards. You guys are not Nigerians are you.So i decide to cash in my miles to try a visit to Amazon .com with the twenty pounds of online vouchers I earnt here. Now the high street vouchers took some messing around before I got them the last time I cashed in rewards here and I was dreading cashing the electronic versions in. How right I was. The site its self is set out well and looks fairly easy to follow. I
                purchased three books and calculated the postage and packing and proceeded to the checkout. Put my address in after opening a simple account as instructed. Then the moment we all dread when shopping online that the code will be excepted, and of course it wasn’t. Well i knew it would go wrong so I tried again and again, re-checking the rules etc. So after a series of e-mails with their and dooyoos help desks I was getting the impression it was my mess up and they were telling me so. But after opening another account and not getting anywhere I decided to ring Amazons help free line. Now im not going to print it here although i knowwwwww you’re going to need it. But im sure I will get locked out if I hammer dooyoos best buddies. The first call to their help line was predictable as they told me bad I was at ordering online and I should try this method. But then I read the code out that dooyoo had sent me and she didn’t recognize it. Now we are getting somewhere when an experienced call center girl is puzzled. The second call recommended that I shift the numbers around a bit and throw in a slash or two.It then became apparent on the third call that the code was duff and some one had either stolen it between dooyoo and Amazon or it was duff all along due to both sited precarious finances. Being a corporate lawyer I would like to say now that im not saying it’s a duff code but some “confusions taken place over the order of digits. The forth call with a sly threat of legal action proved that it was indeed out of date and they have now credited my account with the twenty quid. Finally i thought,the books will arrive for Christmas and cover a quarter of my shopping costs.Theres some very good deals on their site you know. This time I got to the final order Page with no error messages or over spending in the account. Total costs 19-50 and we are ready to rock. But you guessed it, it didnR
                17;t go through. Calmly pick up the phone for call number five only to be greeted by a friendly Aussie voice. No worries mate. Consultations and the girl agrees that I have twenty pound and it should have gone through. Then she suggested I put the last five numbers of my credit card on the payment section to secure the confidence of their software. Being a shrewd legal chap I know this is a method of getting the remaining numbers of your card without asking. This is where I think the main problem is with Amazon dot con. They clearly don’t want to be giving free stuff away with electronic vouchers and train their call center staff to get those digits of the visa, in my opinion. She then suggest that I go online at that point and she would crowbar the transaction through while she talked me threw it on the phone. Now I have only one line at home like most people and mocked her a touch. She then said I should do the credit card number thing again which would probably meant I would have been billed again for the books and it would take twice as many calls to get that back. Every single time I got the error message it hinted that I should give my credit card number as if I hadn’t enough to cover the order. Once they have your credit details you end up buying there anyway as you lose the will to live to try and annul it with these guys. She had another plan involving going through the cheque method and not tapping in the duff voucher, which also failed. But im not deterred as I had survived three months in Nigeria so know naff online Book Company wasn’t going to get the best of me. Its no wonder that no one wants to shop online. With the high street Dixons vouchers I got here with dooyoo you just handed them over the counter and touch and feel the goods as you walk out. Online shop is a glorified mail order which still has a bigger chunk of the market sales than this hit or miss chaos. Call number
                six took place today with their latest excuse being that it won’t go through because the order now exceeds the value of the voucher. In the last three hours it had gone up a convenient seventy pence to scupper me once again even though it was fine yesterday. These guys really don’t want to give me what’s rightfully mine. Their customer service is obviously trained to get my credit card number and f**k me around until I go away. But my job is all about coming back and biting necks. I want those vouchers more than America want Bin Laden, and I wont be making any fake videos to secure them. Im going online at 6pmm to change the order again so it’s definitely no where near twenty quid. With the Christmas cut of date coming its gunna get nasty folks. You can’t keep the money you don’t spend from the gift order as you are allowed only one single order. That lost revenue will come from my glee in throwing negative publicity to a shoddily run site. Now the chances that my experience is unique in getting a duff voucher from one of the two sites is small. I presume there are other dooyooers out there who have had this problem and have eventually given up. Well im happy to help out in a class action if I don’t get the goods after today. If you cant honor the electronic vouchers you should try a different payment method. Clearly the high street vouchers were the most poplar and were dumped because of that. The airmiles system was ridiculous with you need in to write for five years to have enough for a pack of five blank videotapes. I love dooyoo and the idea that you can paste up your stuff and get little (or little) rewards for your effort. Obviously I have had a bad experience and have ironically used their own site to get my point across which is exactly the point of this consumer site. Now I may be blocked out by dooyoo police or this opinion locked for highlighting what I bel
                ieve to be a bigger problem here. Please comment below if you have hassles to on getting rewards. I hope this helps to speed up my payment and transaction and I finally get to spend my rewards on what looks like a good website bar the customer non-service. Its just a warning to say that because of both websites financial situation you may get messed around over whats rightfully yours under current internet law.Come on dooyoo lets get back to the top when you were winning those awards.

                Comments

                Login or register to add comments
                  More Comments
                • More +
                  10.12.2001 00:51
                  4 Comments

                  Advantages

                  Disadvantages

                  Just when it seemed as if first-person shooters had run out of ideas, along comes No One Lives Forever to reinvigorate the genre. Two years after the release of Half-Life, a first-person shooter has finally arrived that's so stylish, so ingenious, so well written, so well acted, and otherwise so great that this review won't have to include the expression "it's no Half-Life" - except for right there. No One Lives Forever takes the impressive enemy artificial intelligence of Half-Life, the stealth features of Thief: The Dark Project, and the gadgetry of the console shooter GoldenEye 007 and then combines them all with a unique, colorful '60s setting and a great sense of humor. The resulting game's unrelenting inventiveness shows in virtually every aspect of its design. Although you might expect that it's somehow inspired by Austin Powers, No One Lives Forever's inspirations actually seem to be drawn simply from the same cultural well as the Mike Myers comedy. The game's plot is part Avengers and part Our Man Flint, with a little Dr. Goldfoot and the Girl Bombs thrown in for good measure. The story itself isn't especially engaging: The good guys, an international antiterrorist organization called UNITY, attempt to foil the world-domination plans of the bad guys, a mysteriously well-funded group of homicidal lunatics called H.A.R.M. But this simple plot acts as a framework on which the designers have strung a great number of brilliantly absurd details. Someone at Monolith had the bright idea to portray the cutscenes in the game using cinematic flair, rather than with bland camera angles typical of most games. By locking the camera down and framing each shot as if it really were from a movie, the designers have given the game a singular look that really sets it apart from the competition. The acting in No One Lives Forever is so good and the dialogue is often so sharp that it'll cast a pall over your memory
                  of previous action games and might even ruin your experience with future shooters that are any less impressive. Thankfully, the gameplay in No One Lives Forever is every bit a match for the execution of its story. The game includes close to 60 levels spread over 15 diverse and often brightly lit and colorful environments. Expect to spend more than 20 hours finishing the single-player game. The action alternates between missions in which shooting at things is the primary goal and levels wherein the game's heroine, Cate Archer, must sneak undetected from one place to another. Some missions combine the two elements in surprising ways. True to the game's spy theme, stealth is always rewarded, even though it's not always strictly required. At the end of every level, you're ranked on your performance, and a large part of your score is based on remaining unseen. Unlike many other shooters before it, No One Lives Forever never settles into a boring routine. After a few more-standard shooting or sneaking sequences, the game always adds an interesting twist. It's a testament to the game's ingenuity that to describe the setting or action of many of the levels would spoil a lot of the fun of experiencing these sequences for the first time. But to give you some idea of what to expect, here's a description of just the very first mission. You must protect a clueless yet surly ambassador from assassins as he stumbles around the streets of Morocco. First you'll stand at a window and snipe enemies as they appear at various spots in a building across the street. Then you must sneak to another room, without alerting any civilians to your presence, where you set up a new sniper nest for another round of protecting the ambassador. Once you've finished this sequence, your room is besieged by a group of thugs, and a wild, close-quarters gunfight ensues. This is all in the first level of 60. Every gunfight in No One Liv
                  es Forever is very exciting thanks to the game's truly outstanding artificial intelligence for enemy characters. For starters, you won't ever witness an enemy running in place or bumping into things as in many other shooters. It's almost startling to realize just how much of an effect that one detail can have on your sense of immersion in the gameworld. But the developers have done much more than rectify that problem. Namely, your enemies actually appear to care whether or not they live or die. In large groups, they'll assault you head-on. But alone or in pairs, they'll often run for cover and then switch position if they notice you've moved. They'll knock furniture over to hide behind, they'll stoop down to investigate the bodies of their dead coworkers, and they'll even hunker down behind tables, stick their weapons over their heads, and spray suppressing gunfire blindly at you. The enemy behavior seems to be partially scripted, but replaying a battle using different tactics will often result in different enemy actions. What adds to the illusion that you're taking on real, live opponents is that you'll frequently sneak up on henchman engaged in long, often hilarious discussions to pass the time while going about their tedious jobs. These conversations range from a critical reevaluation of the Edsel to an argument over correlation versus causality as it relates to beer consumption among criminals. Delivered in a deadpan style that perfectly matches the dialogue, these ancillary conversations are one of the best parts of the game. You'll replay levels simply to hear dialogue you may have missed by alerting the guards to your presence. The motion-captured animation of the game's characters is also top-notch. Although there aren't a huge number of different character models, they're so well animated that they can express emotion through body language alone. And you'll notice other impressive details
                  such as how enemies killed at the top of stairways will actually come tumbling down. It's true that the characters in No One Lives Forever don't take damage in so many ways as in Soldier of Fortune; you can't vivisect them into forty bloody pieces. But a single head shot will usually take an enemy down, and chest hits appear to be more damaging than targeting a limb, all of which is more than enough to reward accuracy over wild shooting. The graphics in No One Lives Forever are powered by the newest version of Monolith's Lithtech engine. It seems a little less technologically advanced than either the Unreal Tournament or Quake III Arena engines. There are no curved or reflective surfaces on display, and items you'll find throughout the game frequently appear blocky. But it's hardly an issue. Regardless of how many triangles the engine is spitting out, the art direction in No One Lives Forever is spectacular, and the graphics are colorful and always interesting. The game even saves and loads data quickly, unlike other recent Lithtech-engine games. The game's sound effects and '60s-era music are excellent as well. Different game actions have different themes, which actually segue from one piece to another without a jarring jump cut. It's a subtle effect that's one of many other features that make No One Lives Forever seem so polished. To live up to the single-player game, the multiplayer experience of No One Lives Forever would have to be pretty spectacular. In short, it's not, though there's nothing really wrong with it either. There's a built-in game finder, plenty of character models to choose from, four deathmatch levels, and six maps designed for a capture-the-flag variant called H.A.R.M. versus UNITY. The problem is that most of the elements that make the single-player game special - the acting, the dialogue, the sneaking, and the precisely orchestrated gun battles - are simply abs
                  ent from the multiplayer game. However, the multiplayer mode does have a few interesting elements. For instance, motorcycles and snowmobiles are provided to help you traverse a couple of the larger maps. But ultimately, there isn't a lot to differentiate the multiplayer component of No One Lives Forever from that of most other shooters. Whatever minor problems or shortcomings there are in No One Lives Forever are dwarfed by the technical expertise and sheer creativity that went into it. The fact is that Monolith Productions has finally delivered an undeniably superlative action game.

                  Comments

                  Login or register to add comments
                  • More +
                    27.11.2001 22:49
                    1 Comment

                    Advantages

                    Disadvantages

                    Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please Please do not read this opinion. I have done it totally wrong. the reason for the please's is becuse you have to write at least 75 word limit!!!

                    Comments

                    Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      18.10.2001 18:29
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      This is one of those sites which, when you find it, makes you think, 'how have I missed this?' It's underpublicised but has possibly more useful content than any other UK biking site. There are lots of reasons to come here: the racing news and general articles which most sites have, plus classified ads and a photo gallery. All pretty self-explanatory and useful stuff. But there are two big reasons to use this site. Firstly the calendar, which is browsable, and searchable by date, event type and location. Ok, it's not comprehensive, but sadly there isn't a comprehensive MTB events calendar on the web. But the best thing about the site is the route guides (listed under 'rides' on the main menu). Choose a region of the country and then select, via another map, from a range of rides which are colour-coded according to difficulty. Then you'll find a screen with highly detailed directions and a description of the ride, one or two photos, and best of all a waymarked map. And there are quite a few rides available as well. If you're visiting a new area of the country this is a top site. Find a ride, print out the map and go.

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      24.09.2001 00:53
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)
                      2 Comments

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      None of us are perfect and like a few of you reading this (I hope) I do sometimes forget an item when I do my weekly shopping or run out mid week before the next weekly shopping trip. When this happens I have to go to our nearest supermarket which is Londis. Most Londis shops are in small towns and villages and out of the way places. The prices are much higher than the supermarkets in the town and the stock supply is much much less. Often they only stock one size without a choice of brands or just their own brand. That is the bad side and yet there is a good side. If we didnt have Londis we would be really and truly stuck. We would either have to spend out on petrol and parking to buy just one item, or go by bus or cycle and both of these are time consuming especially when you only have a couple buses running a day. I cannot see Tescos saying great we will build a tesco store in that village. So without Londis we would be really lost so yes the prices are high the choice limited but at least I can get that item. The other alternative I know is to get my memory sorted out! Londis does have some good bargains though. At the moment they have 4 chocolate bars for 99p this can be a choice of the 3 different types of galaxy that you can get or caramel or ripple. They also do tins of dog food with 50% extra. So even though more expensive it does have its good points.

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                      • More +
                        04.09.2001 07:12
                        4 Comments

                        Advantages

                        Disadvantages

                        • none

                        I was looking for new side by side frost free fridge freezer, then i come across freenet.ltd.uk after looking at various online electrical sites. Freenet had the type of fridge freezer i wanted and also the best price compared to other sites. The sameday i was called by Kerry from customer service, who told me that the model samsung srs2026c is currently out of stock until end of August. I told her that i was happy to wait as i was planning to move to new property. On the 27th August i was called by keith to let me know that he contacted samsung and my order was on his way and my fridge freezer will be deliver to my new address which they did. I was very happy with freenet, friendly customer service, speed delivery and the price. If you are looking for home and kitchen appliances i would recommend www.freenet.ltd.uk. They are the best online when it comes to good prices and free delivery and excellent customer service.

                        Comments

                        Login or register to add comments
                        • More +
                          20.08.2001 03:10
                          20 Comments

                          Advantages

                          Disadvantages

                          i am writing this op about all u sad bitchez out there who reckon its fun to grass people into the dooyoo police not naming ne name's DEL BOY u saddo wot the point of grassin people in do u get thrills from it. I reckon everyone who does it are sad. Do u reckon us is hard or summit. Does it affect u in ne way NO it doesn't so why cry like bitchez everytime some 1 copys a rewiev or summit its not like ure losin nethin. I dont really give a shit if u get my account locked u sad people. OH and by the way Del Boy copy's his rewiew's and not only that he opens extra accounts to vote for him self the sad boy.And all u other freaks out i got 3 word's for yall KISS MY ASS!!!!!!!!

                          Comments

                          Login or register to add comments
                            More Comments
                          • More +
                            19.08.2001 23:12
                            5 Comments

                            Advantages

                            Disadvantages

                            As you should know it is not allowed here on dooyoo.co.uk, to copy reviews from other sites and post them on this site, and if people are found out to be copyig from other sites and posting them on here there mombership will be blocked. Many members on dooyoo do not like it when people are copying reviews from other sites, but many know that there copyied, but they dont know where from. The only way the dooyoo police will do anything is if the member who complains knows what site the person got there review from WHAT SITE DID THEY GET IT FROM? There is a way to find out if people have copied reviews and from what sites they got them from firstly copy the beginning of one of there reviews secondly paste it into a search engine and click search thirdly the search engine will show the site from where the review is from fourthly tell the member you know that he or she is copying reviews and that if they carry on you will tell the dooyoo police fifthly if they carry on email info@dooyoo.co.uk and tell them which member is copying Please vote for this site becuase then more people will be aware of people copying, and hopefully these people will be blocked NOW GO AND CATCH THOSE BITCHES!!!!!!!!!!

                            Comments

                            Login or register to add comments
                            • More +
                              11.08.2001 22:16
                              Not Helpful
                              (Rating)
                              11 Comments

                              Advantages

                              Disadvantages

                              Dooyoo.co.uk is a brilliant money making site in which you get to express YOUR oppinion and get paid for it. Some users misuse the site by copying ops and Self rating, by using the same IP address, with two different accounts. This is wrong and shouldn't happen. The site is very useful, and contains some good opinions but sometimes, you get annoying know-it-all members who interfere and get in the way of other members. Its people like that, that give dooyoo a bad name and deter new members from making the commitment to a perminent membership.

                              Comments

                              Login or register to add comments
                                More Comments
                              • More +
                                09.08.2001 23:57
                                5 Comments

                                Advantages

                                Disadvantages

                                After enduring the last three weeks of non-connections,line dropouts and non-existent web pages, I have finally decided to pull the plug on Tiscali. When you finally get on-line everything happens at such a pedestrian s-l-o-w pace that is downright frustrating! Frankly, I think that LineOne members should receive some sort of compensation for the service we are paying for,but simply not getting any more! I know we don't stand a snowballs chance of getting even a recognition that there's a problem, but is there really no kind of sanction we can impose, other than all the hassle of changing to another ISP?

                                Comments

                                Login or register to add comments
                                1 2 3 4 5 6 7

                              Products you might be interested in