Welcome! Log in or Register

Popstars and Drugs - What's your opinion?

  • image
31 Reviews
  • Pot
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    31 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.07.2008 14:28
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      1 Comment

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Shocking

      *This forum hasn't been written on since 2001, I'm quite surprised as today's pop stars can't live without drugs*


      ---->Drugs and Music<----

      The music of today and the general view on on taking drugs is one that is far more tolerant than when the Beatles or Stones were popping Acid and smoking/growing cannabis or enjoying N.Y's coke scene.
      There has always been an affiliation between the music industry and the drug industry, whether it's rappers singing about snorting coke smoking weed or Pete Doherty sitting "as per", with a needle hanging from his arm, the connection between the two has always been evident.

      Just before I go on, I often wonder to myself, "What the hell do the music executives and producers do about illegal drugs use in their studios?", Jim Morrison used in the studio, the Stones, infact i wonder what band, doesn't use in their recording time?, be it alcohol to acid, these are places of work, try going in and telling your boss you're just away for a line of coke, see where that gets you!

      ----<Amy Winehouse>----

      Amy's father has just announced that Amy has the chronic lung disease Emphysema due to a heavy regimen of crack smoking and cigarettes, her photo has been splashed over both, the internet, and most daily papers with her smoking from a crack pipe and close ups of needle marks "tracks" (whether there is crack in the pipe or not, I'll leave up too you)

      She has been photographed with needle marks on her legs, a sure fire sign of someone having a"dig" (street terminology for injecting).

      The girl can sing, no doubt, but what example is she serving to her audience, on one show, she was clearly seen too take a "bump" of cocaine live on stage, in clear view of the audience (this is available, as ever, on Youtube) should we leave a public figure to there own demise and only concern ourselves with what they do in the studio or on stage? my own opinion is "live and let live".

      Some folk believe if the public pay there wages for them then we should know what on earth they are doing as public figures.

      ---->Pete Doherty<----

      Pete has a fanbase consisting of Pre-Twenty teens and early Twenties, fans.
      This is a guy who couldn't care less what the public thinks of him, the public blame him for Kate Moss's short downward spiral with her time spent with him, the pic of her at a studio running a rolled up note running along a powder filled mirror, got Kate dropped from labels such as H&M, Agent Provocateur, Rimmel, Burberry and a whole conundrum of TV adverts, yet some companies cashed in, knowing that this "image", could just as easily sell more of their product,
      But I don't believe for a second she done this because of Doherty

      Doherty has been captured a number of times on mobile phone cameras, hidden cameras and even friends snapping pictures when he is AWARE, Doherty injecting a heroin filled syringe into his arm, smoking crack from an improvised pipe on video doesn't seem to bother this baby faced addict.

      Anytime I have seen Doherty on TV in the papers or in private, he looks awful, unkempt greasy hair and dirty fingernails, a greasy pale and sweaty face is the picture I see in my minds eye of this guy. He has escaped jail so many times I often wonder if he has gave the judicial system a bung to stop him from getting it, the sentence he did receive, was absolutely farcical, had it been anyone else, you'd still be in till you had served half the sentence (with time off for good behaviour).

      ---->Opinion<----

      I think, until both these characters, and others like them, have kept their private life's and public life's from entangling, should stay away and get themselves sorted out.
      They aren't cool and don't serve as good role models for today's youngsters, I really cannot imagine what this pair would be doing if they hadn't made the big time, rotting away in a jail cell? maybe, on the dole and looking to score? definitely.

      It's high time the music industry did something about these Prima donnas, and handed them their jotters, let them find real work and then see how long their drugged up swaggers would last.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        07.09.2001 02:27
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        3 Comments

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        As we all know music stars are well known to take drugs and there are many reasons why. The main reason I think is because they have the money. I am a musician and I know I will never take drugs if I make it big. Well thats what I think, but it might not be the way I think it is maybe most of them want to take drugs to make them more popular or they think it makes the stress go away. When I heard that Eminem had took drugs onstage I couldn't believe it. Popbands like S Club 7 are a childrens band and when they got caught it must had shocked youngsters, or did it. What if they thought that it was cool . Most of my favourite musicians have taking drugs some have been killed because of it. To be honest I don't think anyone knows why they start taking drugs, we just have to put ourselfs in thier shoes and maybe we will find out. I think music stars taking drugs is very bad to society because it does influence there fans and mostly young people. Trust me I've seen this before, to find out more information read my op on Should Smoking be Banned in Public Places. I think to try and prevent fans from taking drugs because their idols do it, is to ban and arrest the people who influence them from making music, this should also go towards film stars. I know this should be a good idea because if they are getting all the money and fame they should try and help the world by not influencing people to take drugs. The thing I really hate and what tells everyone who is taking drugs is the newspaper. They always tell you, its like their advertising it. If someone famous takes drugs then it goes on the front page and with that it also reminds you how much money and fame they've got so why shouldn't I take drugs if there lives look great. I think what they should put on the headlines are things about people dying from drugs.

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          14.08.2001 16:46
          Very helpful
          (Rating)
          2 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          In this I'm taking 'popstars' to mean people who make music and have it published with a degree of success. What people do in their private lives is, to all intents and purposes, their business and their's alone- at least that should be the default position. It is well known, and in many cases documented, that many musical types do indeed take drugs- and as has been mentioned before, this can lead to truly amazing music- I have absolutely no problem with this. I love music, and if by these means musicians are going to be able to produce genuinely creative music, then let it be- as I said, their lives- their affair. However. When someone like Eminem takes to the stage and appears to take tablets of some sort, this is where the line should be drawn. His actions can't really be interpreted as anything less than an endorsement- if not an incitement - towards drugs- which is going to be received by his 'fans', who are in many cases younger and inevitably going to be influenced by his actions. Yes, the majority of them will have the degree of common sense necessary to realise that 'hey- that ain't so smart'- but some will not- fact of life. As for the S Club boys- their business. So they were stupid enough to be in a public place at the time, but their business. But this said, perhaps 'artists' (ahem) who patently do have a younger audience should consider (before they get caught) the impact of their actions, perceived or otherwise, on their target audience- as surely details of a 'popstar's' private life that makes the news can, to an extent, be considered part of the product. So to recap, drugs as a means to enhanced creativity- okay, private life- own affair- but beware the impact on the targeted audience.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            07.07.2001 00:35
            Very helpful
            (Rating)
            1 Comment

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            Pop stars do pop, this does not in any way mean that they shouldn't do drugs if they choose to do so. Many people would say that these pop stars are influencing children and they could make drugs fashionable . I think this is sooooooo wrong. I mean look at how many people who aren't in the music industry, but still could influence children. Actors such as Matthew Perry( Chandler from friends) and Robert Downey Jr.( from films and ally McBeal fame) have been in and out of rehab from drug addiction more than Jordan's been in the operating theatre(and it would take a lot!)These actors, along with too many others too mention, have had drug problems but they never seem to be accused as much as the Pop stars. I don't like Pop music very much but i think they do get a rough ride when it comes to the subject of drugs and the media. Look at those in other music genres, for example those in the punk/metal and alternative catagories. Bands such as (Hed)pe, Pennywise and System of a down openly admit to drug use in magazines such as Rock sound and Kerrang!But they don't get the same amount of media attention. In a recent edition of Kerrang! Shifty Shellshock(bad name i know) from the band CrazyTown admitted to taking pills and and smoking cannibis but there havn't been any uproars in the media(to my knoledge)about this. With the rise of young and 'impressionable' children liking Nu-metal there could have been loads of teens reading that article but no-one batters an eyelid. There is not a certain type of person who takes drugs. There is not a certain type of music that drugs predominantly appear in. So why is it that the media insist on covering pop stars? You could say that the media insists on covering these stories, because some popstars nowadays are verging away from the stereotypical popstar behaviour of smiling on cue and being perfect. But in this society where lines of distinction between pop and rock are being
            distorted, it shouldn't be any surprise that pop and rock are mixing, and so are the cultures in these genres.It's completely up to the media that drugs and music is still a big issue, and they are responsible for the amount of hassle that pop stars are getting, when they are just being normal people who have they're own choices.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              30.05.2001 00:07
              Very helpful
              (Rating)
              6 Comments

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              • Pot

              Should Popstars take drugs? Damned right they should. It should be part of their job description. I want my rock/pop stars to live on the edge, I want them to embody excitment and danger. I want them to make one good album and die face down in a pool of their own vomit. Because let's face it, what's the alternative. Without dying gracefully while they are still beautiful and talented, they risk rolling on into middle age (The Stones) insanity (Syd Barret), mediocrity (Lou Reed), pomposity (U2) or worse. No artist has got more than three great albums in them (David Bowie is the obvious exception here, and with that my pudding is proven). Kurt Cobain understood this in a way that Bryan Ferry, Billy Corgan or Scott Walker never could. But without taking drugs, and lots of them, there is no dignified way out for an artist. Rick Astley had the sense to walk away at the peak of his fame, Bros, Duran Duran and a million other weren't so savvy. Rodger Daltrey faously said, "I hope I die before I get old?" If he'd taken more smack he could have, and saved himself from releasing "Can't Wait to See the Movie". Only if our heroes burn out rather than fade away can they leave an incandescant trail across our souls. Remember Jimmy, Jim, Kurt, Sid, Elvis. All of them equated with greatness and drugs in equal measure. I'm not banging the drugs=brilliance drum, the Gallaghers disprove this spectacularly. But drugs do still have the faint whiff of rebellion about them, and pop music should bleed rebellion through every pore.

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments
              • More +
                28.05.2001 04:28
                2 Comments

                Advantages

                Disadvantages

                Certain popstars and rockstars are known for their drug-taking antics. One minute they are on stage singing about love and flowers and the next they are doing drugs with their mates in the toilets of well-known clubs. I am not saying that they shouldn't be doing it, although I am against drugs, but to do it in public and not even worry when caught doing it? I don't think that music acts realise just how much they can influence young children and also teenagers. Certain popstars such as SClub7 are actually constantly in the limelight. Not only do they frequently release material, but they also have their own show and appear on other TV programmes too. They are clearly a manufactured band. They were hired to bring joy into kids' lives, now they should be fired for bringing drugs into the spotlight! Drugs and music should not be allowed to mix. It is wrong. Especially the fact that people sing about wanting to get high ('I wanna be a hippy') etc. Children are protected from violent and sexual images on the television and in films, yet songs seem to get away with it. This too is wrong. Something needs to be done.

                Comments

                Login or register to add comments
                • More +
                  03.05.2001 04:00
                  1 Comment

                  Advantages

                  Disadvantages

                  Pop stars!!! hahahah don't make me laugh, well not too much. Seriously pop stars doing weed and Eminem doing pills, big deal who cares? Why is this such a big deal? Because it will encourage kids? Well to be quite Frank if you don't want to encourage kids into doing these things don't make big announcements about it on News and such. It's really the reporters that go out of their way to catch these people up to no good that "wreck" children's lives. If they want to that kind of thing I think it's up to them. As for Eminem the same goes it's up to him if he wants to do it or not. Kids wouldn't have found out about this if the reporters didn't televise it and stick it in the News papers! To be quite honest it's a joke to think that "pop stars" do that kind of crap. Obviously however people seem to be concerned when these people do drugs because I mean loads of Metal bands and other alternative bands do drugs but nobody cares about them. I think you should just stop playing innocent, the lot of you know that you've done at least cannabis and some of you have probably done even worse things than doing drugs. Oh and when I say "you" I mean society in general, I'm not getting personal or anything.

                  Comments

                  Login or register to add comments
                  • More +
                    20.04.2001 07:17
                    Very helpful
                    (Rating)
                    1 Comment

                    Advantages

                    Disadvantages

                    It seems to me that a lot of people who appreciate music do not appreciate the fact that a LOT of music is created whilst the artists/writers are on drugs. This, I feel, is a bit hypocritical. I am not advocating drug taking, but I do think that the music that we have in the world today would not be the same without any use of narcotics. Just look at artists that are revered as "classic" The Beatles were forever on drugs, Elvis was on drugs, the mamas and the papas, more recently Robbie Williams, he was thrown out of Take That for drugs...and now S Club 7....oh hang on. They're not revered in society, but still they take drugs.... However with S Club 7 its not like the drugs are enhancing their writing skills as they don't write the songs....and it won't enhance their performance as they'll be falling about giggling on stage instead of dancing....so maybe the excuse that they're popstars isn't really a good enough one for them taking drugs. However I don't think its fair that celebrities are excused for taking drugs because of the fact that they're famous. It seems to be expected of famous people....yet if I did (and could afford to) snort 2 grand's worth of coke a day this would not be seen as excusable.... yet again I am a hypocrite as my favourite bands are totally under the influence of drugs when they make their music. Eminem taking pills on stage....is illegal....but also may be a factor of his stage prescence and is almost certainly a factor of his music itself, it wouldn't be the same without the drugs...whereas S Club 7's music would bethe same without the drugs....and would probably be better performed... So I think the message here is take loooaaaddds of drugs....oh hang on, that can't be right.....don't take any....oh, but then music wouldn't be the same....ok, erm....make a new law where only REALLY creative people can take drugs....but maybe they'd only know that t
                    hey were creative ON drugs....hmmm, ok, basically I don't have a moral....all I'm going to say is that rock stars take a lot of drugs and it does seem to enhance their writing skills, but it can also impair their playing skills....ie the rolling stones.... they seem to fall asleep in a concert and then suddenly wake up again....which actually could be the drugs....basically music and drugs go hand in hand, popstars and drugs may not go hand in hand it just depends whether you think that pop music such as S Club 7 is actually music, because I personally don't. Therefore if you ban drugs you're banning music. We'll just be left with nothing if even S Club 7 take drugs too, drug taking just seems to be part of our culture.

                    Comments

                    Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      10.04.2001 17:37
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      OK, there is a massive following for freeing the weed as they say. I agree that grass should be legal ASAP, but until then it isnt, and therefore popstars like S Club 7 (and i use the term loosely) shouldnt be caught in public places doing spliffs. They are setting the example to their fans (all about 12) that its OK, now as i said we all agree that it should be legal, but as it isnt kids shouldnt be encouraged to do it. I was pleased to see S Club 7 lose their sponsorship off BT over this, as it might make them think, although I see Pepsi have already snapped them up (lucky it wasnt coke eh?) Eminem does the same, although for some reason he falls into a different category. We know he is a little on the happy side of madness, and that he tends to do silly and immoral things so a few pills on stage doesnt come as a shock, but it doesnt make it right. Popstars have to remember they are in the public eye, and especially the eye of younger people. When Noel Gallagher proclaimed Coke to be OK, or S Club 7 do joints, or the long awaited day when Christina Aguilera admits to having a slimming pill addiction they are showing kids things they shouldnt see. Until drugs are legal, I hope the kids dont get to see them.

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      09.04.2001 05:34

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      Celebrities will always take drugs. Fair enough some have been caught and others will openly admit it but I am sure that there are so many others who are hiding the fact. Drugs are not glamorous and those who say it is are stupid, to be polite about it. Take Daniella Westbrooke for example. Look at the state of her and she is still doing it. The S Club 7 boys, Oasis, Whitney Houston, Eminem, Madonna and Davina Mccoll have all been liked with drugs. They might think they are clever but that is not true. Celebrities seem to think that because they have the money, they can do what they want. They can but it will catch up with them like it does everyone else. It is their life and if things go wrong then they will have to take the consequences.

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      07.04.2001 18:40
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)
                      1 Comment

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      I've never really written in these 'speaker's corner' topics before, so I thought I'd give it a go. Apart from Sports, none of the other sections realy 'appealed' to me, so I thought I'd give you my views on Popstars and Drugs. The debate has really been going on for years, though only really recently has it been brought into the 'limelight' when the three S CLUB 7 boys, John, Bradley and Paul were caught smoking a Spliff in Covent Garden, London. So, I have decided to base most of my opinion on this. Recently, S CLUB 7 have decided to go a bit more 'funky', drawing themselves away from soppy, little kiddie's music that appeals to eight-year-old tweenagers. Their appearence has changed from this to 'wannabe cool' musicians that dance around singing about what they feel to be meaningful things. To me, I still feel that they haven't changed much, but after hearing on my local radio station that they were arrested, I had different thoughts. My first thought, was that 'Oh, they're doing it for the publicity'. I thought this because no-one in the right mind under the public eye would go to such a public place and take drugs. I realised that because S CLUB 7 wanted to change their appearence, they would want this to happen. I thought they were trying to follow in the footsteps of other drug addict popstars, such as Robbie Williams. After the three boys appeared on GMTV and apologised, I thought that perhaps they really were Druggies, and that even John, who you would expect never to touch anything of the like was, especially after the Labour party dropped 'Reach' as their campaign song. I do not think that when a popstar who is a drug addict should be treated any differently to those who are not famous are, but I do think that they should not be taking drugs in public, especially bands like S CLUB 7 who appeal to children of such a youn
                      g age. These children may want to do everything that these 'Stars' do, and this means that these popstars are then 'promoting' drugs in a sense to very young teenagers. It is the same with all musicians and famous people that people look up to and admire. I personally feel that taking drugs is stupid, but I do think that it is up to people if they want to ruin their lifes, but if they do take drugs, then they shouldn't take them in public, as no-one should. I don't think that the media should have front page articles on this type of thing, because even though it is a big deal, and they want a big story, once again they are showing what these popstars do, often making fans feel they need to copy them. Thanks for reading, Hannah :@)

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                      • More +
                        06.04.2001 23:58
                        Very helpful
                        (Rating)
                        9 Comments

                        Advantages

                        Disadvantages

                        Okay, I have recently returned to my life here on dooyoo, and I am going to continue with my review writing flurry, as I miss not having something to write about, this section caught my eye, virtually straight away, drugs and the rock and roll industry. Although I cannot help but feel that S Club 7 have slightly brought this on, I have to wonder what all the fuss is about, what is the difference between normal people doing drugs and pop stars, surely it is just the same. At the time in the news when S Club 7 were done for smoking weed I ended up watching News round, the children’s news, as I wandering through the channels, and they had letters coming in with the opinions of youngsters all around the world, some of which went: ‘I am really upset, I will never buy any of their records again’ Well I will tell you right now, with my head held high that I laughed hysterically for quite a while, in fact deep inside I am still laughing, I mean sure, this was from a young lad, but this is the general attitude of people. Does it really matter if some pop stars want to smoke different substances, I have no doubt that at least 80% of all the bands I listen to smoke weed, and do different drugs all the time, in fact I know some bands like Cypress Hill are always smoking it, you can smell those guys before you see them. But I would like to make a point, most of these bands will have been doing drugs before they got famous, most of these bands will have grown up doing it, not a lot of bands will just started doing it just because they are famous, if they did, then they deserve no respect for it at all. I have mentioned Cypress Hill, but I will make a mention of Eminem, who was in trouble for popping pills on stage, well during his first year of fame Marshall was always high on something, and he has been like that for a long time, should he stop just because he is in the lime light? Well maybe he sho
                        uld, he is giving a bad message to kids after all, but would you care if he were just another guy? I doubt it. But it is fair to say that music, whether it is the rock and roll world, whether it is the pop world, or any type of music, does seem to go hand in hand with drugs, a bad example, probably. I guess this will be made up by the way you personally look at drugs, I look at drugs in a pretty relaxed way, which is if people want to do that to your bodies then let them do it, but I am more than aware that the law and a lot of people around scowl on drugs in a very bad way. So think about this, I think that if you have a relaxed view you really wont care, if you scowl on drugs it will worry you intensely, I know this is trying to stereotype people a bit, but I think their maybe another thing as well. I think 99% of all the parents here on dooyoo will say that the connection of drugs and music is a bad thing, why do they think that? Simple, they have to worry about their children, which is fair enough, I cannot comment because I am not a father, being young and everything. I stand to be proved wrong, and I would love to hear people’s comments on this as that always interests me, thank you for spending the time to read my ramble. Mr. T FTW (Free The Weed)

                        Comments

                        Login or register to add comments
                        • More +
                          06.04.2001 01:39
                          Very helpful
                          (Rating)
                          1 Comment

                          Advantages

                          Disadvantages

                          The title is a line from the 1996 REM hit single E-Bow the Letter, which was part of their experimental post-Monster album, New Adventures in Hifi. It is, on the face of it, just another reference to drugs in the music business, and it seems that even the squeaky clean (or so we all thought!) may be partaking of the occasional "pick-me-up". Part of the problem is though that they have a propensity to get caught. A lot of groups are however unaffected by their misdemeanours, with their record sales going up. Of course someone like Tippa Gore might think they should be banned, for their unwholesome behaviour, but the truth is, how many children are going to be so impressionable that their role model taking drugs is going to send them onto them. Whilst I don't condone celebrity drug use, it is something that won't go away. When Ian Botham admitted to having smoked cannabis during his youth in 1986, there was a massive to do and he was banned from cricket for three months. However it didn't send every teenage idol of his into a pit of despair and a downward spiral of drugs. Furthermore with the recent S Club 7 incident (they were just a bit silly) I can't see it doing either harm or good for their career, as their mechanic bubblegum pop is just a passing fad. To be puritanical would not be fair though, and judge their music on their lifestyle. It is freely admitted that the amount of drugs done by most megagroups is mindboggling. No one had that much against the Beatles, even if they did smoke joints before receiving their OBEs at Buckingham Palace. They were established household names, and they got a slapped wrist end of story. No-one bought their records out of solidarity for their rebellious nature, just as no-one really will be burning their S Club 7 memorabilia in disgust. Either way, young people are probably just as switched on, if not more so than many parents are, and make their own decis
                          ions, based more on personal ideas, than on whether their idols are on drugs. The media hype probably makes more of an issue of it than is really necessary. I know that REM have hardly been drugfree in their time, hell in twenty one years of being together you will go through a hell of a lot, so it will happen. At the end of the day any drug habit they have does not influence whether I buy their album, as I buy their albums on merit instead.

                          Comments

                          Login or register to add comments
                          • More +
                            05.04.2001 03:20
                            Very helpful
                            (Rating)

                            Advantages

                            Disadvantages

                            Popstars and drugs, the sequel. Now that would make good TV prime time Saturday night ITV.It would probably improved their music radically to. Noel would start going to Michael Barrymores parties, Myelin would get very naughty (smile) and the single mum would be back on the dole. Drugs and rock is just not cool anymore as the groups are so controlled, with or with out role model status. Most of the big rock bands of the seventies and eighties were doing series amounts of cocaine and LSD. Some of the stadium bands like Aerosmith and Guns N Roses blew every single penny on it. Some silly people say that bands are at their most creative when they are out of their heads.I personally don’t go along with that,although it could explain why the Lightning Seeds are so crap. I think it’s the done thing if you’re a rock and roll band to get high after a gig to maintain that high and ones inflated ego. I think the boy and girl bands have been running scared since the ultra wholesome Hearsay stole all and I mean all of their publicity. Resulting in some sad publicity stunts by the “nice”boys of Sclub 7behind a theatre in London’s busiest street. The chances of them “not” getting caught were pretty slim, especially after their agent no doubt called the cops. Then we get handbags at ten paces between the boys of Westlife and Boyzone to see who’s the hardest. Well we all know who’s the hardest when these guys get together, but hey, lets leave Michael Barrymores house parties out of this he he he. I think deep down most promoter’s want their acts to be a little dangerous, although not reckless, but to encompass all tastes and ages. East 17s image was clearly street working class east London lads and all the young offending laddish cool that it was projecting. Shock horror when the delinquent looking one takes drugs and gets sacked. Pop is almost a paradoy of its self now when that happens, and all the messages the pr are people are trying to project to sell the records.

                            Comments

                            Login or register to add comments
                          • More +
                            03.04.2001 02:33
                            Very helpful
                            (Rating)
                            4 Comments

                            Advantages

                            Disadvantages

                            With three band members from S Club 7caught in the act, it really made you think. What double personalities they lead. On the screen they are innocent as anything and then they get caught. They give an apologetic sorry on GMTV, pathetic, just pathetic. School kids, boys and girls idolized them and they let them down. They should be sacked, they let their fans down. A bit harsh, yes! And why? Because my little cousin likes them, has her room full of their photo’s and she was getting upset that her idols had been ‘bad’ but it didn’t matter because if they could do it then maybe she would. To most of us, we would laugh at S Club 7 and shrug it off, but kids really do love them, it’s mad but they do. Of course her parents sat with her and after a long hour so explained to her drugs were bad and they were bad for taking them. It wasn’t easy and it made me mad! It would be wrong just to focus on S Club 7, it was Bryan from East 17 a couple of years ago, oh said ‘drugs were ok’ and he got chucked out of the group before re-instated but he never really survived the onslaught. But, that beside the point, these pop starts and if we broaden it most celebrities have money to burn. They get bored booze isn’t good enough, they have all the kick money can buy, big houses five or six of them, cool cars and so they need another ‘kick’ so they turn to drugs. They wreck their careers and then when it’s to late they realize what they’ve done. Maybe they have too much money and don’t know how to spend it, maybe I could show them how to spend it wisely without mucking my life up with it. They should be happy with what they have, glamorous lifestyles but it isn’t enough? Just look at George Best, the greatest Manchester United player and can’t get off booze, he has no will power, it’s sad but he will drink himself to death. It will be a trag
                            edy. My formula is simple, and celebrities who do avoid it do well: FAME=MONEY=HOUSES/CARS=…..BOREDOM=ADDICTION=DRUGS OR DRINK. It may be harsh and a bit deterministic but that’s how I see it. The song by Verve ‘Drugs don’t work’ should be played to them all. They don’t they wreck lives.

                            Comments

                            Login or register to add comments