Welcome! Log in or Register

Do medication reviews have a place on dooyoo?

  • image
12 Reviews
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    12 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.06.2012 17:47
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      5 Comments

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Keep the medicine reviews!

      I have taken some pretty disgraceful medicine in my life, some that never worked, some that I reacted very badly to, and some that just tasted pretty foul. I have also taken some that was great, for insnatce Nurofen Fast Relief Tablets. The medicine i buy over the counter is usually based on speed and effectiveness, but how can you tell whichnis best? By reviews of course. Before i found Dooyoo i used to just go on "well i havent tried it so ill give it a go and see what's what" which didnt always work out.

      Its good to have reviews for medicine because much like a microwave, iPod, food & drink etc, its an every day need, something we need to get by and cant live without (quite literally in some cases!) and thats what makes medicine important, so I believe the medicine category provides good information about all thr fields that need to be covered when choosing medicine.

      If i see some speed relief tablets priced very high, yet claim to be auper fast and effective, i want to know if they are just saying that to sell tablets, and if they are a gimmick, or the real deal and will in fact be a product that i will use in the future. Honesty on the packaging changes a lot but reviews override whatever is on the packaging and tell you everything you need to know about the medicine.

      So for me personally, medicine does have a place on dooyoo, i just wish there were more reviews for them, that way the overall rating changes to reflect the general consensus of the people who tried it. More reviews written in different ways also point out good and bad points other members miss but when this comes to medicine actually matters a lot when you're lying on the sofa feeling pretty sick. It helps to know if those bargain asda tablets take an hour to start helping your body

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        27.05.2010 11:58
        Very helpful
        (Rating)

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        Get medication on here if its avialble to all, if its prescribed dont allow it!

        Now this is an awkward category, medication. Well does it belong on Dooyoo or not, well I believe yes and no and here is why.

        Everyone is different as you can tell from the reviews on here, some people love certain things like films/albums etc and others loath them. Some medications will work for some individuals and not for others, but where do you draw a line on reviews?

        I have never thought about medication reviews before, I have never seen reviews anywhere for medicines bar this topic which is a good place to start I feel.
        Everyone, or most people will have taken or will take some sort of medication throughout the year/years and with this they will have some knowledge as to how well the medication worked for them. Whether it was fast and effective or if it just did not work and gave them other side effects. You could compare prices, which is always handy. But this is surely where the comparison stops. How do you rate the effectiveness of medicines? You can barley compare two, as there are very few alike. And very few reviewers will actually know the inns and outs of the medication they are writing about. Such as what you can and cant take with it. Surely you need a specialist/pharmacists or doctor to explain them. Its too easy to "think" you know everything about some medicines due to looking on the internet but for something that could potentially cause you harm would you listen to other peoples reviews or a trained specialist??


        But for simple things like ibuprofen and paracetemol then maybe we could allow more off the shelf items onto Dooyoo. Everyone takes these just by reading the box and the dangers/risks are relatively low.
        Reviews would definitely benefit readers, what is good for a soar throat, lockets or soothers. This kind of thing would be useful I think, but always consult a gp before hand.

        So there, a bit of an awkward subject to kind of review and decide upon. Get some medication on Dooyoo, as long as its off the shelf from Tesco/Asda etc

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        18.02.2009 16:28
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        1 Comment

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        It's good to read up on things but always consult your GP

        I had never considered the implications of reviewing medication on dooyoo until I was having a look through some of the dooyoo-based discussion topics and this topic came up.

        I can see both sides of the argument really but I will start by looking at the case against reviewing medication. I suppose the main issue is the lack of knowledge on the part of the reviewer. I don't mean this as a put-down to anyone reviewing a medication or medical product - I have myself reviewed the Implanon contraceptive implant - I simply mean that a consumer is never going to be as knowledgeable as a medical specialist in any given area. There may be side effects of the product that only someone with knowledge of your medical history could tell you about. I think it is very easy these days, with resources such as consumer review sites and Wikipedia, for people to think that they know better than medical professionals especially those people who have become disillusioned with the NHS or their GP. This may lead to them insisting to a doctor that does not know them well that they want a particular product that may not be suitable for them.

        This seems to be a good point to pick up the argument for reviewing medication. To follow on from my point about patients thinking they know better than their doctors from having read up on products on the internet, it is still the doctor that has the final say-so when it comes to prescribing medication. Any doctor worth his/her salt should not prescribe a product to a patient based solely on what the patient thinks but should discuss the risks and benefits of different types of medication before reaching a decision with the patient on the best course of treatment. The more information the patient has on viable medications, the quicker they will reach a consensus with the doctor so having read reviews could lead to medical resources being freed up more quickly due to shorter consultations.

        I think that on balance, I am in favour of medications being reviewed on dooyoo. The more information you have on something the better, but it is important to remember that reading reviews doesn't make you an expert on a product. Also, just because a product has worked for someone else it may not necessarily work for you.

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          08.07.2007 00:45
          2 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          let it on

          Everyone takes medicine from minor problems to major ones. Dooyoo should encourage users to write reviews on medical products to inform other potential users of benefits or disadvantages. Often a cure is achievement by more than one product, by telling us members about the good points and bad points about a product is what this site is all about..

          Medication reviews have a place on this site and whenever it is allowed people will find it extremely helpful.

          Issue of wrong recommendation may encourage some doubters. I am not one of them. This site is basically an indicator of something. For comprehensive information people could see the chemists or doctors.

          The other thing about medical reviews is that lot of people will read them and the information will be handy for all. Telling us about a good medicine to cure sore throats could make the difference and this example could be applied across the board.

          Internet has sites which give information about medical products; so far I have never seen one recommending medicine. Perhaps Dooyoo could be the first.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            07.02.2007 18:20
            Very helpful
            (Rating)
            3 Comments

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            NO NO

            No medical reviews here please.

            Liability is the main issue.

            Trust is an issue is well

            Quality of information and reliability is important too.

            Writing this sort of reviews won't do anygood. Drugs behave different in people. Therefore one persons good review is not relevant to the other person and vice versa.

            I would never allow reviews on this site that mentioned drugs and cures for serious illness. If categories were opened and users had no choice I would hope that only reviews which guide people on the product would be put on the site. Recommendations and cures will be in bad taste.

            I hope Dooyoo never let medical reviews on the site. Whereas most other categories are about things that don't harm people, drugs are one of those things which can if used in the wrong way.

            No to medical reviews.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              11.09.2006 13:37
              Very helpful
              (Rating)
              20 Comments

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              They have a place online, but that place isn't Dooyoo.

              Dooyoo is, and has always been, a site offering information for consumers. We can read and write reviews about various products out there, but it should be noted that the reviews are only written by those of us who can be bothered to give feedback on a product. A lot of the time, people only come online to write about things that have severely hacked them off (this is more true for the non-member reviews that have popped up of late). The companies responsible for these products never have a voice as they don't come to Dooyoo to review their own products.

              If there are a lot of reviews on something, it's easier to get a more balanced idea of how good or bad a product is. A glowing report or angry tirade may be an isolated case on its own, but if there are a couple dozen reviews agreeing on something, you can form a clearer idea of how the product performs in general. Everything should always be taken with a pinch of salt though.

              With new topics in Speakers Corner, the site has drifted away somewhat from offering advice and useful opinion to letting members (and non-members for that matter!) write about almost anything. So why not different medications?

              I think that it's always helpful to read about other people's experiences of the same medical condition from which you suffer, as some people have better coping strategies that you can borrow. For the newly diagnosed, discovering that you have a medical problem that will haunt you for the rest of your life can be hard to deal with, and reading about someone's account of how they dealt with the same thing and how life continued for them could be tremendously reassuring.

              However, are people going to look to Dooyoo for this? Would you run a google search for a consumer review site when looking for information on a certain drug? I think there is a need to have a big database of advice and support for people with medical issues, but to make this place Dooyoo does not seem appropriate to me. You cannot have a review on coping with epilepsy on the same site as coping with a ham sandwich. It trivialises health problems too much, and as human beings, this is a very sensitive area. Poor health reminds us of our mortality and few people are comfortable of spending time thinking, "I'm going to die. I don't know when, but I definitely am." Poor health and consequently death, are topics which can freak out a lot of people, and to discuss these topics along with the ordinary is an act of poor taste.

              It might be hypocritical of me to say that it's fine to discuss experiences of various medical conditions when these can vary dramatically person to person and say that it's not a great idea to discuss experiences of medications when these can also vary dramatically, but let me explain. If everyone writing about medication here on Dooyoo did so in a balanced manner, it would be fine. However, I have read several reviews saying "THIS IS HORRIBLEDONT USE IT!!" and not much more. With certain medications, you do need to try them for a set length of time before asking your doctor to prescribe you something different, and I'm not convinced that all of those writing reviews have followed this guideline. Not only are the reviews one-sided, but they're also based on incomplete information and the reviewers are not just passing on useless information but may actually not be doing themselves some harm by stopping a drug before it's had time to have an effect.

              It can be important to read about the negative side-effects of drugs, as doctors aren't always keen to discuss this side of treatment, preferring to keep you in an optimistic mood (with certain therapies, the more positive you are, the better the results). However, this should always be backed up with the statement that the drug may have better effects for someone else.

              Reading about the positive effects of drugs are also useful, as they give hope, however this too needs to be balanced. Hope is good to hold onto, but false hope can be soul destroying, depending on the situation.

              Perhaps what is needed, is a website that has information on medical conditions, written by qualified doctors and nurses, backed up with stories written by patients. That way there is something solid, that can be taken as read, to help counter any poor advice from general members of the public. This could be a huge database with the potential to help a lot of people, but it's not a project that Dooyoo should or would take on.

              Dooyoo should be, first and foremost, a site for consumers. By introducing more medication reviews, people would understandably mistake this site as an online support group and post questions rather than opinions. You can already see the potential for this to happen, if you read any of the Lipotrim reviews. (With the exception of lellagrace's one, it's actually quite helpful.)

              By asking us if Dooyoo should introduce more medication review topics, Dooyoo mean, should they introduce more medication review topics and leave the system "as is"? I think that the structure and ethos of the site right now are just incompatible with drug reviews. Factor in the legal issues and there seems little incentive for Dooyoo to continue down this path. The only people who would really benefit from unbalanced medication reviews would be those earning the 3 penny pieces. Or drug companies with advertisements in strategic places.

              Not on this site, please.

              Thanks for reading and I welcome your comments:)

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments
                More Comments
              • More +
                11.09.2006 00:01
                Very helpful
                (Rating)
                10 Comments

                Advantages

                Disadvantages

                In my opinion, reviews on medicines will cause more harm than good.

                There is great debate at the moment about whether there should be a place on Dooyoo for reviews about medication. I feel quite stongly about this, and think that there are pros and cons of such a descision being taken, and that the outcome of reviews could have both positive and negative effects on readers.

                On the one hand how good would it be to read about other people's experiences of the affects, both positive and negative, of certain drugs, therapies and treatments. First hand information of how it feels to be taking something, whether it worked for them or not, that can be very useful in a positive sense. It can boost people's hopes, and that can only be a good thing, especially if the illness is serious, because the one thing that helps healing is having the hope that you will get better. Belief is a powerful thing in itself.

                However, the most important thing to remember is that everyone is different. the way that one person may react to a particular drug or treatment is not neccessarily the way the next person will react. One person may experience side effects that another person taking the drug may not. It's impossible to compare two people reactions to a drug or treatment because for a start they may have been prescribed it for different reasons, or with different health issues in mind.

                I think it's good to have a general idea of the side effects of any drug you take, but these can be found easily by reading the leaflet that comes in the box of medicine.

                In short, my opinion on this matter is that Dooyoo should not have a category for medication reviews, as it opens up a whole can of worms regarding different people's reactions, their definitions of the illnesses for which the medication has been prescribed, and could cause more problems for people than solve them. Medication for serious illness can only be prescribed by a doctor, and as such, they will be taking into account all of the patients' issues when they make their diagnosis and prescribe medication. Reading about different drugs on the internet is fine, but unless we each have doctorates in medicine, we are not qualified really to discuss them generally, and our descriptions of how we react to certain things could easily be taken out of context or misinterpreted, to the detriment of other readers.

                My conclusion is that while there may be some small good in sharing our experiences of certain drugs and medicines and treatments, I feel that more harm than good would come of it, and I therefore say there should not be a category for medines reviews on Dooyoo.

                Thankyou for reading, Kate x

                Comments

                Login or register to add comments
                • More +
                  27.08.2006 18:07
                  Very helpful
                  (Rating)
                  6 Comments

                  Advantages

                  Disadvantages

                  Its too much of risk to throw this category wide open

                  I came across this category while browsing the Dooyoo site and, to be honest, I find it quite strange that the question of a 'medications' review category should even be considered.

                  This is not a medical site and the vast majority of those reading and writing on it are not health professionals.

                  Therefore, no one is qualified enough to either recommend, or warn against the use of any kind of medication that must, in UK, be prescribed by a doctor.

                  Just because a particular drug was effective for a particular person, doesn't mean that it will work, or even be suitable for another. Pharmaceutical products that require prescription are, generally speaking, restricted in that way for a reason. Self prescription can be dangerous and sometimes fatal.

                  Doctors are qualified people who take all the presenting symptoms of their patient, their background, age,contra indications, etc into account before prescribing. Okay doctors aren't perfect but it's the best option we have right now.

                  Here's an example to illustrate what I mean:

                  A member writes recommending a particular drug because it stopped his chest pain. He had severe upper chest pain on and off for a couple of weeks and the doctor said it was acid reflux. He prescribed 'red' pills which stopped the pain immediately.

                  A second member reads the review and decides that this is what he needs. After all his symptoms are the same. He goes to his doctor and demands the 'red' pills that worked so well for his fellow Dooyoo member. Doctor asks where he read about them and he mentions Dooyoo.

                  Doctor laughs and warns against self medication, or prescription, and tells his patient to go and buy some Gaviscon from the chemist to stop his indigestion. Patient gets annoyed and is convinced that he is not getting what he needs.

                  Now, imagine that this man knows someone who is taking those 'red' pills that he saw reviewed on Dooyoo and he really figures that he needs them. He gets some from his friend and the friend gets some more on prescription.

                  The next day the man feels unwell and ends up in hospital with severe kidney pain and breathing difficulties. That particular drug wasn't suitable for him as he had an underlying health problem. That's why his doctor refused to prescribe it.

                  Not everyone is that stupid but it could easily happen.

                  Just write a review on 'depression' and see how many comments and remarks you get about medication,illness, symptoms, etc. It opens the flood gates for those that like to wallow in it and ends up like a pharmaceutical inventory.

                  Not sure if that category is still live on Dooyoo but if you don't believe me, just read the reviews there. (Before anybody decides to have a go at me for singling out the 'depression' topic...yes, I do know about, yes, I do understand!)

                  That particular example is just one, but it illustrates what happens when people start comparing medications.

                  There are those who would be determined to get hold of and try out medication recommended by others who appear to have the same symptoms. Not every drug suits every person. We are all different.

                  Come on Dooyoo, can you really afford to take on such a responsibility? Just one person acting irresponsibily and doing themselves harm through trying out medications reviewed on Dooyoo is one too many.

                  Comments

                  Login or register to add comments
                  • More +
                    24.08.2006 11:58
                    Very helpful
                    (Rating)
                    11 Comments

                    Advantages

                    Disadvantages

                    If reviews on medication are to remain, there will need to be quality control.

                    There has been a lot of debate on whether reviews on medication should be posted on consumer review sites, including Dooyoo. It certainly is not an easy and clear-cut topic, although certain individuals feel strongly about the fact that the only place that medical advice should be obtained is from are doctors.


                    ***Why write and read reviews on medication?***

                    So why do we consumers like to post reviews on medicine? I have written some, especially early on in my writing career. Through reading other writer's well-written medical reviews I quickly discovered that they are very easy to write. You start out describing the purpose of the product. You inform consumers whether it is available over the counter or by prescription. You mention the cost. You mention the recommended dosage. You list the possible side effects and dive straight into your personal opinion. And then you can post yet another review to earn you a few pennies. It's much easier than reviewing a technological gadget, as the package inlay gives you the bulk of your review.

                    Another reason for writing reviews on medicine is a sincere interest in helping other consumers. When I reviewed Migraleve, for example, I was keen to add my own experience and help consumers who might suffer from the same horrible migraines that I suffer from.

                    And why do we like to read reviews on medicine? I think when it comes to over-the-counter medication, especially drugs like cough medicine and painkillers, consumers are just overwhelmed with choice. A new product comes on the market and we wonder if it will be any good. Reading about other consumers' experiences with such products gives us a little more basic information - information that is actually rarely provided by GP's, who rather prescribe something else. And when it comes to a choice between various prescription medicines, especially something as widely taken as the contraceptive pill, it is interesting to read about the different options that are available to us. Our GPs are overworked - they will not sit there and give us a list of 10 different contraceptive pills that are available to us and tell us their pros and cons. They will simply prescribe one - and if it does not work or if there are side effects, they will simply prescribe another one.


                    ***The pros and cons of reviews on medication on consumer review sites***

                    As mentioned above, I think the biggest merit of including reviews on medications on consumer review sites is information. It allows consumers to learn about different products that they may have considered buying, but knew little about. Is that really such a bad thing? Face it, if it is an over-the-counter drug, it is likely to have any highly adverse consequences on you - after all, if it would be dangerous, the British Medical Association would not make it freely available. You may buy some Sudafed cough medicine because I said in a review that it worked for my persistent cough - but if it does not work for you, you will simply be a little annoyed, perhaps write your own review on your experience to give us a balanced set of opinions - and then you will throw it away and never use it again. How is that any different to you buying a shampoo that someone claims to give your hair extreme volume, but which leaves your own hair absolutely flat?

                    And conversely, if I am recommending a prescription drug that worked for me, there is no real danger to your well-being, simply because you will not be able to obtain it that easily. You will still need to visit your GP and ask for him or her to prescribe it to you, at which stage it is their job to consider whether it is indeed appropriate for you. So if you like the sound of a certain contraceptive pill you never heard about before, a review posted on Dooyoo gives you the information you need to go to your GP and ask whether this may be a good option for you. It does not instantly lead to you taking a drug that may (or may not) affect you differently than it has affected the writer of the review.

                    The main problem lies in the quality of reviews on medication. In order to be helpful to consumers, they need to be balanced and include a lot of disclaimers. Often someone is really disappointed with a product and the next thing they will do is to log onto Dooyoo or another review site, warning consumers off the certain product wholeheartedly without giving any further details on the product. Conversely, they may post a review stating that the drug is "simply the best product on the market", failing to state the side effects that some patients may experience. This is where such reviews become dangerous. Few of us reviewers are doctors or nurses - and as such we should not write a review on medication that is unqualified. In addition, we should always include the disclaimer that consumers should obtain advice from their GP or a pharmacist.


                    ***So how do we solve this dilemma?***

                    I would be a little disappointed to see medical reviews disappear from Dooyoo completely, however, I do think that unlike some other product categories, there should be some quality control. A short review with an unqualified statement on whether the product is good or bad will neither help us consumers nor will it do the drug manufacturers any favours.

                    Perhaps this is one category where posting should not be automatic, but where someone, for example a Dooyoo Guide, must cast an eye on it before the review can make it on the site. I am not talking about superbly strict controls here - I am just talking about avoiding those reviews that are easily recognisable as an unqualified statement of disappointment or happiness about a medication to be posted on the site. Of course, this may all be administratively difficult and not feasible.


                    ***Conclusion***

                    There is an inherent danger in allowing reviews on medicines to be posted without some kind of quality control. The hypochondriac consumer that is easily convinced about the merits of certain drugs may be tempted by a review simply stating that a drug is a miracle product without listing its pros and cons. Conversely, a consumer may do a lot of damage to a drug manufacturer by merely posting a rant or anger about the effects that a certain product has had on him or her.

                    As much as I would like to see reviews on medication have their place on Dooyoo and other consumer review sites, I believe that if quality control is not feasible because of an excessive administrative burden, it would be best for everyone to simply shut the category down completely.

                    Comments

                    Login or register to add comments
                      More Comments
                    • More +
                      23.08.2006 08:22
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)
                      15 Comments

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      No to drug reviews.

                      Should there be a category for medicines on Dooyoo ?

                      In my opinion, it's a dangerous area. Imagine for example that vulnerable people access the site through the search engine on Google, and come across a review where inaccuracies lead them to believe there is that wonder drug out there, that suited one person who wrote a review. Medicine is very specialised and although we can write a review about the effect that a drug had on us, I would prefer to see it become a very small corner of the site, where members can write on “My experience of ..............” rather than having a specific drug category.

                      In the past couple of weeks, I have read many reviews on medicines and what is a worrying trend is that people state categorically that a certain drug causes problems. Drugs were manufactured with specific illnesses in mind, and maybe they do not suit you, or the side effects that you get are worthy of a mention, but I also believe that reading a frightening review on medicine that you may be taking can cause more problems and that rather than doing the public a service, we are questioning experts who really are the only ones that know what is good for our bodies.

                      On the other hand, people may be taking a drug prescribed to them and having the ordinary side effects that wear off, read a review on the site and stop taking essential medication because of reviews that they read, not realising that the side effects are temporary. It really is dangerous. The only person that can tell you whether you should be taking a drug is a doctor who knows you and your body, and if you are not satisfied with his answers, then asking a second professional opinion, rather than reading a review would be a wise way to go.

                      I have taken many treatments in the past and have experienced bad side effects, but there is so much information already out there on the internet that I do not believe that a review by me on a drug is of use to the public. I am not an expert. I am a patient that suffered certain symptoms under certain circumstance, had the sense to go to my doctor and change the medicine. The same medicine is taken by many people that I am aware of, and for them it's a life saver.

                      The trouble with medical reviews is that people make mistakes. They may be taking many medicines at the same time, and the problem that exists may not actually be caused by the drug they are talking about, but more a combination of the drugs that that person takes, plus the psychological effects of illness combined with the biochemical reaction of their body using those drugs. It's a grey area. None of us are the same, and none of us (or few that I am aware of) are actually qualified to review drugs, or to give advice on other people taking them.

                      An example here is that many people with constant pain will try anything. In my own personal experience, my husband, for example, was taking what the doctor decided was a lethal cocktail. Why ? Because he wanted to reduce his pain and would do anything to achieve it. Going to a pain control clinic, he learned that the mixture that he was taking was doing him more harm than just taking a few of the correct drugs. It's too dangerous. We do not know what mixtures of drugs people are taking and I really believe that people can be mislead, not through deceit of any kind, but by ignorance of drug useage.

                      This isn't an opportunist review, jumping on the bandwagon. I was so concerned about the drug reviews on the site that I contacted a guide to ask dooyoo what they thought, and the category appeared. I really hope people do consider very carefully the effects of writing an inaccurate medicine review. If in doubt, go to your doctor. Don't take the advice of a review on a website. They do not know your medical history.

                      Rachel

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                        More Comments
                      • More +
                        22.08.2006 22:03
                        Very helpful
                        (Rating)
                        13 Comments

                        Advantages

                        Disadvantages

                        Get rid!

                        Hell no! Would be an accurate, but somewhat short answer to the question posed above so I suppose I should wax lyrical as to why I think medication reviews have no place on dooyoo.

                        Medications are like no other product on dooyoo in that for me the most important factor in these reviews are the factual accuracy, rather than the opinion. In every other category it is the experience that is important factor. How they used the product and what they thought of it are the things that interest me in any other category. However, when I read a medication review I find myself trawling for facts, figures and side effects. Why is this? Well, the experience counts for nothing in a medication review if it is not backed up by unequivocal facts and research. I trust not any reviewer who does not quote the contra-indications of the medication they are reviewing and am inherently suspicious of those who claim something has little or no bad effects.

                        Despite the good intentions of some I often find medication reviews factually inaccurate. Reviews are often written from memory using a members experience of a product. This leads to misinformation regarding such important things as medication dosage, route and side effects. A unique difference from any other category with medication reviews is that to be truly useful, they must also be all encompassing. Your experience of how efficient Aspirin is an an analgesic is all well and good but, unless you couple that with warnings that Aspirin can also cause gastro-intestinal bleeding then you are at risk of giving out potentially dangerous advice.

                        You see this is my main problem with medication reviews on dooyoo. If someone reads a review of a game and buys it then find it to is rubbish then the only thing they damage is their wallet. If someone takes the advice of a medication review they have the potential to damage their health. Considering I have seen reviews recommending taking "several" painkillers for a headache this advice could be particularly hazardous. Yes all reviews should be taken with a pinch of salt and I certainly would not take the recommendations of one review without doing some serious research but unfortunately not everyone is so sensible. For this reason I believe even non-prescription items do not really have a place on site.

                        Furthermore, I really do not see the need to have prescription only reviews on dooyoo. Were is the revenue for dooyoo for having these categories in the database? Last time I checked you could not buy anti-psychotics and anti-depressants over the counter yet they are both in the database. Dangerous advice such as, "do not take your medication as it made me feel worse" is commonplace in these categories and I strongly believe their are better places to seek out such information elsewhere. After all with self-help forums, G.P's and NHS Direct all available to you why would anyone need to read the thoughts of a complete stranger on a site that reviews films and toasters?

                        So, is there any value to having medication reviews on dooyoo? In my opinion no, there is not. For me a, "member advice on...(inserts a medical condition)" would be of more use and hidden away from the consumer would be less likely to cause harm. In this way members would also be more likely to talk about how to cope with a condition rather than what their medication of choice is. Yes there are some great medication reviews out there particularly of children's medications such as Calpol but I strongly believe the bad outweighs the good ten to one.

                        So, should there be medication reviews on dooyoo...HELL NO!

                        Comments

                        Login or register to add comments
                          More Comments
                        • More +
                          21.08.2006 23:39
                          5 Comments

                          Advantages

                          Disadvantages

                          Useful

                          I always believe if you know the facts then you can make an informed decision, and I believe that to be true with medication reviews.

                          If the information isn't here, then people with just look elsewhere for the same information. This site does not hold exclusive information and if people's opinion on a particular medication enables you to make an informed choice then why not review.

                          However, the information can also be false, not everyone believes the same, and one may react differently to the other, so regardless of information found on here a doctor should be consulted.

                          Comments

                          Login or register to add comments