Welcome! Log in or Register

Writing a Good dooyoo Review

  • image
529 Reviews
  • uncertain
  • Puts me in a bad mood.
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    529 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.10.2013 12:52
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      14 Comments

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Only review what you have used and know about

      I have now written over 500 reviews - but having collected only two crowns I am probably not the best person to give out advice to others - but I will say what I try and include in my reviews, and what I appreciate in other peoples. ===Length of Reviews=== I know the minimum word count is 150 words - but it really annoys me when new people do a review of exactly that amount. I find a lot of mine are way more - some often over 1000 words - if I have a strong opinion on something (either good or bad) I just tend to keep going. ===Setting out Reviews=== I have developed a certain way to set out my reviews - which might not be to everyone's taste. However one thing I find really off putting with some other people's reviews is if they are written in one huge chunk of text - and not broken up into paragraphs or different headings. I tend to lay my reviews out as follows: Item Description Cost My Opinion Star Rating Would I Recommend Any Web Links List of Ingredients (if applicable) I like putting the cost separate so it is easily found by viewers. Ingredients can be a contentious subject - many people seem to hold it as a virtue that they do not include ingredients - but personally, as long as they are not just added to bump up the word count then if they are just add at the end they may be useful to some people - or can be ignored by those who are not interested. Some reviewers say about the ingredients being on the packet - but maybe we do not have the packet and are just curious about a product. ===Grammar=== Far be it from me to preach to anyone - as errors are in my reviews the same as anyone elses. However I usually write up my reviews on my computer first. Then read through it again as it is being posted on Dooyoo. I try and lay it out clearly and spaced out so that people can read it easily. Obviously even with a spell checker there is no replacement for proof reading as sometimes a word has been spelt incorrectly for that situation - but will not show up on the spell checker as it does in fact spell another word. I would not mark down for a few minor spelling errors - unless the whole review was really slapdash. ===How I Set About a Review=== Obviously you should only be reviewing something you are acquainted with and have used or are using. The way I go about putting together a review is as follows: 1) Reading the packaging and making notes of any information such as ingredients or nutritional content (if food). Or measure the product if it is relevant. 2) Recording the firm's web site details and going there to see if there is any more relevant information other than what is recorded on the packaging. 3) Maybe looking up the product or firm on Wikipedia for a bit of background knowledge. 4) Finding the current cost and also recording how much I paid for it. Usually quite simple for me as I tend to do most of my shopping online anyway - so prices are easy to search for. 5) Type all this information into a Word document and save it on computer. 6) Depending on how much I have written above I may leave it for a while before filling out the most important part - My Opinions. Or if feeling energetic I may do it all at the same time. I try to include any relevant information - such as how easy it was to use, what I thought of it - did it work and would I use it again. The main thing in a review of course is your own opinion of the product - but a description of the item and how it works is also useful - especially if we have no idea how something works or if it is complicated or not. ===What to Review=== Personally I am happy to review most items I have used about the home so have done various items such as: Make up and Perfumes Bath Products Food Items Handbags Books Household Utensils I have reviewed cameras and phones but computer components are not my sort of thing at all! So my advice would be to stick with what you know and are comfortable writing about.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
        More Comments
      • More +
        24.09.2011 01:29
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        13 Comments

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        I hope I am not telling you all how to suck eggs, I just thought I would share.

        After recently writing my 300th review and celebrating 18 months of being a Dooyoo member, I thought I would share my experiences with other members on what makes for a good dooyoo review. Maybe I am not the best qualified, having only 16 crowns in the 18 months, mostly occuring in the last 7 months, but I feel that I am constantly trying to do better, and perhaps I do have something worth sharing for newer members to the site. I think most of us join dooyoo as a way to make a few extra pennies. Within a short period of joining, you realise one of 2 things. 1) people who are here are not daft, and they expect you to write about things well 2) you love it and you want to do the best you can while also earning some pocket money, or you aren't keen, so you kind of don't bother once you reach payout. Myself, I think I did write fairly well at the start. I tended to write in paragraphs, and mainly review things that I was strongly opinionated on, so I had something to say. Looking back at some reviews though, I can see they were less useful as they had very little opinion and my typing was rushed, and I often got told off for slipping in 'i' instead of 'I' in my haste to get my ideas down in the box. I also didn't do much to format my reviews. I think the turning point for me was receiving my first crown. It made me take a little more pride in my work, and make me want to really share to the best of my ability. At first I couldn't tell what I had done that made that particular review better, but I then recreated that experience another 16 times, and now I get a bit of a feeling about whether a review will get nominated as I am writing it. What we need to remember, is that this site is for consumers really. We might forget that as it is us reviewers who rate each others work, but we get paid because advertisers want to sell products. So we need to write for these consumers, and not for your mate for example. So, when I am writing, I do something I used to do when I was teaching. I would say to the kids, explain this as if you were explaining it to an Alien who popped down to Earth for a visit. I can't really speak for other people, but I don't sit down to write with a specific idea of what to write on most occasions. If I see a product suggestion has come up, or I am feeling inspired, then I will write about that particular thing I am thinking about. I then make sure that in my review, I try to explain really well what I am reviewing. If that is something like a book or film, I might look at an outline of the plot, with something about the author or actors, and make sure I include opinions such as how well it was written, how well the actors played that part, how believable it was, and what was it that made me enjoy it, or dislike it. Although these are perhaps to some people the easiest reviews, I find these quite hard, as your opinion can be quite abstract. For something of a higher market value such as a household appliance, or a mobile phone, for example, I know that there is a really wide market available, so the reader will want to know why my version stands out. Here, I tend to look at the manufacturers page online or the actual instruction manual while I am writing the review. This way, I can outline what the best features are, and why I love or hate them, and then look at anything that really does not work well compared to other models on the market. I actually find this sort of review easier as you are comparing a stated fact such as this machine will wash 8kg of clothes and leave them crease free, with your opinion if it does this or not. I have certainly seen a lot of crowns in this field too. The other thing I review a lot is the toys and games my children play with. Here, as well as saying things like what it is, how much it costs, and if I think it is good value, I look at what sort of thing that my children do with it. I might hate it, but to them it is the best thing since sliced bread. This is the sort of thing that a parent wants to know. Eg. I thought it was great because it was really educational, but they picked it up once, and never bothered again as they got bored. To write a good review, you don't have to be the best writer. You don't need to have any qualifications. You don't need to write an essay. You need to write from the heart, giving an explanation of what it is and how it works, and then make sure you give plenty of reason why you love or hate it. If you are new to the site, don't assume you can copy something from somewhere else and this will be ok, or that you can rush off just 150 words and it will be great as it meets the minimum requirement. Just be honest, and write the best you can, and think to yourself as you proof read it, if I knew nothing about this, would this tell me what I need to know about it. If you are old to the site, don't get complacent and think you can't improve. My only tip is keep writing, keep reading, and you will definitely get better, and that elusive crown might one day be awarded to something you have written. When I started, I couldn't even imagine hitting 100 original reviews, but here I am, review 305 and counting.

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
          More Comments
        • More +
          22.09.2011 13:44
          Very helpful
          (Rating)
          11 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          Ways to write a good review

          I may not be the best person to be writing within this discussion, having never received a crown for any of my reviews. However, looking back to some of my older reviews, I can see that I have improved and I generally get 'Very Useful' rates. For me a review needs to be concise and packed full of useful information. Personally when I read reviews that are 2000 words long about a tin of beans, I lose interest. Some products do require lengthy reviews but not everything. A review needs to tell the reader, what the product is, how it performs or compares to other similar products and a personal opinion with an overall view. I believe prices are also relevant because products are sold for different prices at different places. If someone writes - I bought this product in Tesco for £49 and another review says they bought the same product in ASDA for £39 - that is useful for a reader to know, as it also helps decide where to purchase from. It's a good idea to have a really good read through other member's reviews to see how they are rated for their reviews, then you can see what people are looking for in a good review or what they see as being a bad review. I don't mind reading reviews with some spelling or grammatical errors but there are limitations. I haven't seen any but I wouldn't be very impressed with a review that was written in text (txt) language. I personally write all my reviews on a word document first to pick out as many errors as possible. Plus this also provides me with a back up copy in case my computer crashes or if the review isn't successfully uploaded - this has happened to me before! I also think reviews should tell the reader a little bit about you. For example if you are reviewing a face wash and have sensitive skin, it's useful to tell the reader that you have sensitive skin. Or if you are reviewing an action film but you don't generally like action films, which is useful to know because it may be relevant to the reviewer's opinion of the film. Take note of comments that are posted. It can be valuable feedback, as long as they are constructive comments. All of the above is only my own opinion of good reviews and I'm sure not everyone will agree with all of my above points. However like with all reviews, I believe as long as comments are justified and reasoning is provided, the reviews will be useful. Thanks for reading.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
            More Comments
          • More +
            06.06.2011 21:35
            Very helpful
            (Rating)
            3 Comments

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            Keep it concise but keep it informative

            Having been on Dooyoo a while now and read a good few reviews I still don't find it any easier to improve on my own. I know my reviews are not packed with information like some but my view is if you are serious about buying something and want as much information as possible you will check out as many reviews as you can including the really long winded ones with every concievable detail covered but as long as you can take one useful bit of information away from one of mine then thats good enough for me. The same goes for other peoples reviews that I read. I must admit I also find it difficult to find items to write a review on, the items I have done reviews on are all items I have had experience of and feel I am in a position to comment on. I'm certainly not going to go into 3 pages of what a Mars Bar or a can of Coke is. In my opinion a good review does not have to have every single detail of the product, just whats good and whats not so good about it, relevant information yes but too much detail I personally find makes me switch off. I take my hat off to all the guys out there who write first class reviews, it is appreciated.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              22.01.2011 00:53
              Very helpful
              (Rating)
              6 Comments

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              What i've learnt from dooyoo about writing a good review

              I don't write mind-blowing reviews. I could never write professionally or write reviews that millions of people would want to read. I'm not one of those people who has a special way with words. But from my experience of Dooyoo, both reading and writing reviews, that's not what people on Dooyoo want. All they want is enough information to make an informed decision on whether or not they should buy the product. One simple rule of writing a good review is that you have to ENJOY writing reviews, and to WANT to review things. Otherwise you will just be filling in spaces until you reach the word limit. It also helps if you really loved a product so you want to tell the world how good it was, or alternatively if you want to warn people how awful a product was. However, we don't have strong views on everything we own and a review of a product which you found to be mediocre can be just as good. I think it's good when reviews contain a bit of background, a bit of the story behind you buying the product. I'm not saying you should tell your whole life story because obviously this is pointless and your review will most likely be rated as not useful. However, I think when you include a bit of background it creates a rapport between the writer and the reader and this informal style is something I love about Dooyoo. I also feel reassured when I read a bit of background to it because it makes it seem more like the writer actually owns the product. I'm sure you've all read reviews that have left you thinking: 'Dp they actually even own that??' and obviously if they don't the review is in no way useful. A good review should contain both fact and opinion. By fact I mean price, where it is available, what sizes it comes in, or whatever's relevant for that particular product. Yes, I know a lot of this information can be found quite easily elsewhere but isn't it easier when it's all in one place? But overall the opinion is much more important than the fact. Afterall, when people look for reviews they are looking for opinion. A good review contains opinions on every aspect of the product, not just 'This product was great'. For example, if you were reviewing a hair dye it is important to mention the clarity of the instructions, the ease of use and the results, so there are no nasty surprises for people who then go on to buy the product. I think reviews should end with whether or not you'd recommend the product. Often this is clear from the review itself or the number of stars given but if the review mentions both advantages and disadvantages of a product, how do they weight up? Is it still worth buying? Reviews are always much more enjoyable to read when the spelling and grammar is correct. Ofcourse, everyone makes the odd spelling mistake and not everyone's grammar is perfect but bad spelling and grammar is something that really bothers me. I've read some reviews in which the spelling and grammar has been so bad I haven't finished the review. If this isn't your strong point, there's no harm in writing the review in a programme which has spellchecker then copying and pasting. I also much prefer reading reviews with paragraphs. Reviews that go on for 20 lines with no spaces between paragraphs aren't easy on the eye and aren't as appealing to readers. Sometimes if i see a review that isn't paragraphed I just decide not to bother reading it. The final point i'd like to make is more advice to people who are new to Dooyoo. Read other reviews of products in the same category as the one you're reviewing. Obviously you're new, your reviews aren't going to be great. So it just helps get an idea of what should be included. Often it's obvious that new writers haven't done this and I have to rate their reviews as not useful or as somewhat useful and I feel bad for that. To sum up, a good review should have good spelling and grammar, contain both fact and opinion, and be just a little bit personal. Thanks for reading :)

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments
              • More +
                14.01.2011 22:48
                Very helpful
                (Rating)
                7 Comments

                Advantages

                Disadvantages

                A review of reviews.

                I've been on Dooyoo for a couple of weeks now and have enjoyed the experience to date. I do find that my reviews are different to most of those posted on here though and as such I sometimes wonder whether this site is the right place for me. Let me explain - I see a good review as one that leaves a reader with a desire to find out more. I also think a review should tell a story. With my reviews I've tried to do that in extremis - using little vignettes from my life to give the context for the writing that follows. As I've said in my bio, I realise that this isn't to everyone's taste (and a couple of users have made comments to that effect). However, I know the general types of reviews in the mainstream media that I like to read and have tried as far as possible to use that general style while finding my own voice in my writing. I certainly think any good review should contain basic information on the product. However, I'm absolutely not of the opinion that reviews should treat the reader as a simpleton that can't do their own research. I don't want to read something that spoon feeds me a vast quantity of basic information. I want some nuggets that I won't find in a technical specification or manufacturer's description. Opinion is clearly also very important but I do believe that reviews for different items will naturally contain different amounts of opinion. Factual reviews on products are much more likely to contain bits of opinion on the efficacy of a product. Did it work or not? In my opinion this approach is much more difficult with reviews of the arts or culture - you can't say whether something works or not, it's whether it moves you and this is trickier to package and describe. So, opinion is important but to me there's something even more vital - the quality of the writing. I want to be engaged by writing. I want to read first sentences or paragraphs that draw me in and I want the review to actually give me an idea of who the author is. Good grammar and spelling are always crucial as well. To sum up, I really like Dooyoo. The community on the whole seems very friendly. As such, any constructive comments would be really helpful to me. I do wonder whether I'm just trying to do the something different on a site that wasn't designed for it.

                Comments

                Login or register to add comments
                • More +
                  23.09.2010 00:04

                  Advantages

                  Disadvantages

                  Had very poor service from a company called serviceteam ltd based in London. Ironic that they use the term service. Appalling service and so called customer service. Would NEVER recommend this company. Just see their terms and conditions and ask my neighbors what they did to me. I have now had the work redone by an excellent tradesman.

                  Comments

                  Login or register to add comments
                • More +
                  18.06.2010 00:55
                  Very helpful
                  (Rating)
                  19 Comments

                  Advantages

                  Disadvantages

                  Brooke's opinions on Review Writing

                  I'm not an expert on review writing. I'm not a guide. I don't regularly get crowns. I've never been dooyooer of the week. I'm not really going to reveal the secrets of writing a crown worthy review. This is just my opinion on how to write a good, useful review. ==Before Writing== In my opinion the first thing you should do is ask yourself if you would have wanted to read a review of the product before you bought it. It is my opinion that if the product or category isn't useful then there's a limit to how useful the review can be. Does anyone care about what you have in your bag? No? Then how can that review be useful. Does a questionnaire about you really belong in a review or on your about me? I'm not saying you shouldn't post in those categories, dooyoo allowed them so go ahead. I'm just saying that you can't write a useful review in certain categories. The other thing to do before writing a review seems obvious to me but clearly isn't to other people. Use the product. I've read reviews in all kinds of categories where the person hasn't actually used the product, dooyoo sometimes allow this depending on the product but to me that's still not useful. ==Writing the Review== To write a useful review just write what you would want to read in a review. You are a consumer, what would you want to know if you were reading a review of that product? If you're writing a book review would you want to know what the characters were like? If you're writing a food review would you like details of the nutritional information? If the answers are yes then include that. If the answers are no then don't. Different people look for different things in a review and you can't please everyone. If people rated honestly we would probably see a range of rates on every review because people aren't the same, we don't look for the same things in a review, we don't have the same priorities. Don't write your review with the idea that everyone will find it very useful, write it so that you're pleased with it and it contains everything YOU would want to know. ==All Reviews== Opinion should make up the bulk of the review. When I write reviews I often like to put in opinion throughout because that's what people are really looking for in a review. Yes it makes it more useful to me if someone includes a plot summary in a film review, particulary if it's a film that I don't know much about but what I really want to know when I'm looking at a review is what the reviewer thought. Opinions need to be explained. Just telling me that you enjoyed Sex and the City 2 isn't useful to me at all because we're not the same person and we may not like the same things. Telling me that you enjoyed Sex and the City 2 because you loved looking at all of the fashion and found that you could empathise with Charlotte as a struggling mother is very useful to me because it tells me that I would probably hate that film. Reviews need to have a certain level of grammar, punctuation and correct spelling. A few mistakes won't make me mark it down but if it's difficult to read then it's less useful. Don't copy things. This isn't just about plagiarising reviews. If you want to include information about an author write it yourself, if you want to include the history of a shop write it yourself. Don't just copy it from a website. A big concern for me when purchasing anything is ethics. If there are any ethical considerations I find it's a really useful extra to add onto the review. I recently read a review that I thought was bordering between useful and somewhat useful, it then started talking about human rights abuses perpetrated by this company which took the review straight to very useful for me because that would always beat anything else. The product could be fantastic, it could get rid of cellulite and reduce wrinkles and I still wouldn't consider buying it if I knew the company involved used child labour (for example). When it comes to reviewing places I like to know if the place is accessible to wheelchair users. I try to avoid visiting places that discriminate against disabled people so I always like to know before I visit somewhere if it's wheelchair accessible (plus I often visit places with wheelchair users or people with prams). ==Books, Television and Films== Book and film reviews should not contain spoilers. A spoiler with a spoiler warning is still a spoiler. In my opinion a plot summary is essential in book, film and television reviews but it should be exactly that, a summary. You don't need to give too much information here, just enough so that the reader gets an idea of what the product is about and so that your opinion makes sense. Don't just copy the back of the book or DVD box, write your own summary. If the book or film is part of a series or the television programme isn't the first season I like to know some background. I wouldn't necessarily rate down if you don't do this. I think it's fair to assume that if a consumer is reading a review on season 4 of Supernatural then they've probably watched the first three seasons but I know that I tend to forget what happened in previous seasons, books or films. I actually often read my own reviews of books before reading the next in the series just to refresh my memory! If I was reading a review of Supernatural Season 4 I would want to be reminded of what happened in Season 3 even though I have watched Season three. ==Food== In my opinon there is rarely a need to write more than 500 words on a food item. There are exceptions of course but for the most part I like food reviews to be short. All I like to read in a food review is what the product is and how it tastes. Saying it tastes nice isn't sufficient. I don't like to read anything in a food review that I can find out from the back of the packet or the website of the product. ==Cosmetics and Beauty== The main thing that I want to know when I read a review in these categories is does it do what it claims? If the product claims to reduce the signs of aging I want to know if you think that it did and if so how. If it claims that it will give you clearer skin I want to know if it gave you clearer skin. It's good to know other things about the product, like how it felt while you were using it, but without including if the product achieved what it claimed to achieve the review can only ever be somewhat useful. I don't care about how much a product costs so much as if it's good value for money. Including the price in a review can be useful, particularly if you tell me how long the product lasted. For me this can be the difference between a useful and a very useful review, or a very useful review and a crown nomination. ==Children== If you are a reviewing a toy or a children's book then I will want to know what the child thought. If you don't include whether or not your child enjoyed playing with a toy the review isn't useful to me. Even with a very young child you can still write about their reaction to a product. ==Shopping== A useful review of a shop for me includes what the shop sells, what customer service is like, how expensive the products are and how well laid out the shop is. I don't like reviews that go into unnecessary detail so listing all of the products that you've ever bought there isn't useful to me. I think it's much better just to give a brief description of what the shop sells with a few example including how much it costs. I think it's useful to include how friendly and helpful staff were, if you had to get a refund how they handled it and if they gave you their full attention when serving you. ==Hotel Reviews== A useful hotel reviews needs to include opinion and information about the room. Cleanliness and security are always my main concerns when booking a hotel and I think it's important to include these. I like to know what extra's were included with the room, how comfortable the beds were, how good the view of the television was from the bed, how often the rooms were cleaned, how big the rooms were, if the bathroom had a bath and shower. I like to know if there was room service and if you used it how quickly the food arrived (and how good the food was). If the hotel contains a leisure club and you used it I want to know how clean the changing rooms were, if there's a children's pool, if the equipment in the gym is any good and how big the gym is. If the hotel contains a restaurant I would like to know your opinion on the restaurant, particularly how good breakfast was. I don't think it's useful just to list everything that was included on the breakfast buffet, you need to give your opinion about it too. You should also include how good the service was. How easy was it to check in and out? Was there anyone there to take your bags to your room? Was there always someone on reception? Were the staff friendly? ==Restaurants== I don't eat meat therefore a review of a restaurant that doesn't include information about vegetarian food isn't very useful to me. There's nothing worse when it comes to restaurants than sitting down in a restaurant with friends or family and not being able to eat anything on the menu. Except finding wasps in your food, that's worse than not having a vegetarian option. I went to Frankie and Benny's a couple of months ago and had to just order a side order of chips because even the salads weren't vegetarian which was not as bad as the time I had to send my food back to a different restaurant because there was a wasp in it. If there's no vegetarian main courses on the menu I would like to know, if there were wasps in your food I would also like to know. I like to know how good the service is and how quickly food is served. I'm hypoglycemic and not particularly good at managing it so often I will find that by the time it gets to dinner time I need to eat quickly. I often choose to eat at restaurants that have fast service for this reason. ==Dooyoo Lounge Discussions== For me this is the easiest category to write a very useful review. Make your arguments clear and don't contradict yourself. I don't think you need to be balanced, you're writing your opinion and that doesn't need to be balanced. If you're strongly anti-abortion and want to write your opinion on that then there's no need for you to give pro-choice arguments in my opinion. Back up what you're saying with facts. If you're talking about your own experience then obviously you don't need to use any facts or statistics. If you're claiming that that there's a higer suicide rate among men then use statistics and maybe include a link to where you got your information from (or at least mention it). Making claims that have no proof are one thing that I will down rate for. Don't make racist, sexist, heterosexist, disablist or any other prejudiced comments. ==Conclusion== I'm not suggesteing that everyone should write the reviews that I've described above. Of course it would be lovely if the dooyoo world revolved around me and everyone wrote reviews that would be very useful to me. However, we should write for the consumer's who visit dooyoo and bring in the money, not for each other. Some of those consumers may agree with me, many of them probably don't give a damn about whether a restaurant serves vegetarian food or a shop is accessible to wheelchair users. Some of them may even want to know the contents of your bag. It's my opinion that you should just write what you think is useful because if you think it's useful then it's likely that there are consumers who will think the same.

                  Comments

                  Login or register to add comments
                    More Comments
                  • More +
                    04.06.2010 19:06
                    Very helpful
                    (Rating)
                    10 Comments

                    Advantages

                    Disadvantages

                    What I think makes a good review :o)

                    As I'm waiting for some of my product suggestions on here, to fill the gap a little I decided to have a look at the dooyoo lounge. I'm sure there will be many different views on 'How to write a good review' as it will differ from person to person. I've been with dooyoo for just over 4 years now, recently came back to start again. So I'm going to write a few words on what I think makes a good review: First there should always be personal experience not just writing about a place because you've read about it, but because you've been there etc. What bugs me is sometimes when I read reviews on for example creams, shower gel etc but they have only used the product once. I think you need to use them at least a few time before making your judgment on a review. Reviews that lack on detail, a review doesn't have to be 10000 words long to have good detail. Personally I'm not a fan of very long winded reviews and if it's a topic I am not keen on I will get rather bored very quickly. Information that is relevant to what your reviewing not just waffling on to fill up the minimum requirement of 150 words! When I write I review I think 'what would I want to know?' which helps me loads when writing a review. As in I would want to know the costings, where could it be purchased, why did I go for this product, what caught my attention, what I liked/disliked etc. Some reviewers I've noticed like to write several reviews a day, it doesn't bother me that they do that but I find at times they do lack on the quality and thought. If you take a little more time you can still add your reviews just maybe over a couple of days so that you have read them a few times and are completely happy with them. Copying product information I've seen people do; trying not to stereotype people but it is mainly new reviewers. Which when doing so is clearly going to get you know where as again it's lacking personal experience (and after all that's what we read the reviews for) A nice lay out is always good so it's easy on the eye; some reviews go on for lines after lines but not any paragraphs? It makes it look so much neater when you add them! Another thing which I admit I'm not brilliant myself at is spelling and grammar, when reading reviews that has so many mistakes I personally find it hard to read and get into. That why again a little more time is always helpful to tidy up your review. (Odd I can spot peoples mistakes but never my own, until my partner spots them!) Something I like when reading reviews is people adding there own personality to a review, this makes it much more enjoyable to read if its a topic I'm not fond of. Summing up what I think makes a good review: Experience with item/product/place Detail/Information Time Quality Spelling and Grammar Your own style! Thanks for reading :o)

                    Comments

                    Login or register to add comments
                    • More +
                      09.05.2010 01:16
                      Very helpful
                      (Rating)
                      8 Comments

                      Advantages

                      Disadvantages

                      WRITING A REVIEW

                      I have been on dooyoo for just over 3 months now and have developed my own writing style. Everyone is different and what appeals to one person or the majority, may not appeal to others which I have recently learned. My first lot of reviews were churned out rubbish just for money..I admit that! Now though, I have learned from others what makes a review good and would encourage the reader to buy or not to buy a product. Here are my views and suggestions on writing a good dooyoo review! *Information* I like to see information on the product being reviewed. For me personally, I would like to know what the product is for, ingredients if relevant, how to use etc. This information may well be on the product or on a website, but I feel by covering this you are giving the reader the facts in one which may save them time locating them! *Price* If this is relevant, I would like to know a price even if it is a rough price as they do change. A reader could decide that the product being reviewed is simply not within their budget. *Location* Let the reader know where something can be bought or where a place is etc. This can save the reader valuable time researching and locating a product or place that may not be anywhere near them. *Spelling* I feel if the majority of spelling is great and the review can be read easily, this is fine. I would suggest writing your review in Word where the spell checker can be used and mistakes rectified. I do this and it does help a great deal. *Paragraphs* I personally wrote my reviews in one big paragraph when I started on dooyoo. I am now aware that this makes it very difficult to read and it would be best if there were paragraph spaces between different sections or comments. *Opinion* Of course this is the main one. You could go on and on about what something is supposed to do but what the reader really wants to know is does it do this? Decisions to buy or use a product can be greatly influenced by the writer telling the reader their opinion on the product. If in doubt, read reviews of others and ratings and this will give you a feel for what it is you should be aiming for. Thanks for reading and I hope this has been of help x

                      Comments

                      Login or register to add comments
                      • More +
                        29.04.2010 13:19
                        Very helpful
                        (Rating)
                        18 Comments

                        Advantages

                        Disadvantages

                        Tips for newbies

                        Now people will have different opinions on what makes a good review on Dooyoo but this is what I think. I'll keep it short and sweet! 1. Spelling. Spelling in a review can make all the difference, you get a positive feel from reviews that are easy to read because of the spelling and reading one with countless mistakes can be a bit of a chore. Now I know some people struggle with their spellings and I can make mistakes on a few words so I'd advise you to write out your review in word first and that way you can spell check it. This also means you can save copies of your reviews as a back up. 2. Layout. I think most people will agree with this one, reviews that appear as one long passage really take effort to read. It looks messy and it's hard to keep your place when you are reading from a computer screen so paragraphs really help in a review and make it look professional if they start and end in the right places! 3. Information. Obviously reviews have to contain information on the product / topic that you are writing about but this does not need to be copied word for word from the product itself as this can get boring and lacks personality in the review. Some information is important when writing about a product so try and add it in your own words. 4. Opinion. There are so many brilliant reviewers on Dooyoo but there are also a lot of people who think they can tell you all about what the product is, what it does and the information from the packaging but not give any sort of opinion on it. These reviews are meant to assist consumers in their buying decisions, not display information that can be found out from the manufacturer and like most people I like to hear people's opinions as these are what count when making that decision to buy. 5. Personality. I think reviews that show a bit of the writer's personality in them are really interesting reads as apposed to those who just read matter of fact. Of course this isn't necessarily a requirement from Dooyoo but it does add to the enjoyment of reading a review if it can make you laugh or so you can simply tell it was written by a human being not a computer. Understandably sometimes the products require a lot of facts but there's no harm in making it interesting without filling the review with drivel! 6. Price. I read so many reviews that do not inform you where or how much you can purchase the product for. I know it isn't essential as you can go away and look for it on the internet yourself but a ball-park figure would be nice to see to give you more of an idea of value. That said, a few price examples are great but don't go listing all the websites that stock it and at what price, maybe give the cheapest to be helpful. Short and sweet, above are just some factors in which I think makes a good review for the reader. Thanks for reading everyone!

                        Comments

                        Login or register to add comments
                          More Comments
                        • More +
                          27.02.2010 16:12
                          Very helpful
                          (Rating)
                          13 Comments

                          Advantages

                          Disadvantages

                          If you ever need help with writing reviews then the Dooyoo community are always there for you.

                          As this is my 100th review (yay!) I thought that a good way to celebrate would be to reflect on writing reviews! I don't claim to be an expert on writing reviews so this is all just my opinion on what makes a good review. I've been a member of Dooyoo for almost a year now and after writing 100 reviews and rating many more than this I feel I have enough experience to be able to comment on this discussion topic now. So what makes a good review? 1. The length For a premium review you have to write 150 words or more but reviews that are exactly 150 words long generally don't contain enough information to make them 'Very Useful' but on the flipside, a review that's too long may bore me and not hold my attention to actually get to the end! If you're going to write a long review then try to break it up with numbered lists (like this one!) or into easily readable chunks. 2. Relevant information When I'm reading a review I want to know as much relevant information about the product as possible which means the price you paid, where you bought it, your experience of using it, and if there were any problems or issues with it. For food reviews I like to see an ingredients list because I'm vegan so I always want to know whether it's worth me picking up the product to try for myself. I also like to see basic nutritional information like fat and salt content so I can see if it's a healthy product or not. Some people disagree with writing out ingredients/nutrition lists for reviews so I guess this is just down to personal preference. 3. Spelling and grammar I write all of my reviews in Microsoft Word before copying and pasting them to Dooyoo so that I can be sure of the spellings and I also re-read my completed reviews twice before submitting because I guess I'm a bit of a perfectionist. However, I won't rate down a review that has poor spelling and grammar unless it's unreadable or doesn't make sense. I know how easy it can be to make mistakes so I'm happy to excuse these but if you're a person who struggles with spelling/grammar then its worth doing the same as me or getting someone else to check your reviews for you. 4. Personality A review can be very bland if you don't put a little bit of yourself into it, whether it's your dodgy humour or just an accurate account of using the product, "warts & all", even if it's a bit cringe-worthy! But there's a fine line between writing an interesting personal review and trying too hard to be clever/funny; just be honest and try to notice if your review becomes too much like a creative writing piece! 5. A good title When I first joined I didn't fully understand the power the titles of reviews had - if your title is interesting, clever or funny then people are more likely to read it because it'll grab their attention. I still don't think I'm very good at this but it can be difficult to do well. 6. Rating in return One of the things many people in the Dooyoo community like is when you rate someone's review in return for rating yours (without 'revenge rating' if they give you a 'Somewhat' or 'Not Useful'). It's just a simple way of saying thank you and it's great for creating friendships that will help those points mount up! Giving a rating in return doesn't necessarily create a good review but by reading others reviews it will hopefully help you to improve your own. I hope this look at writing successful reviews has been helpful to you, I know I still have more to learn so any feedback would be very welcome.

                          Comments

                          Login or register to add comments
                            More Comments
                          • More +
                            08.02.2010 03:19
                            Very helpful
                            (Rating)
                            11 Comments

                            Advantages

                            Disadvantages

                            Be good to your reviews!

                            Even though I have not been a DooYoo member for very long, I've quickly caught onto the do's and don'ts of writing a review, come across some fantastic writers, had a run in with a revenge rater and found out some very interesting information about possible future purchases, trips and experiences! For me, writing a good review on a product has to have some key elements. I want to know as much as possible, so when I write or read reviews, I have a few pointers that I like to see included: Where can i get it? If the product is available for purchased, or involves obtaining a product or experience - I want to know where I can get it from. It's quite alright to tell a reader that the product is available, but without the information about where to find the product, there's not much point telling me I can get it! If it's available to purchase in a store - tell me which one. If you can attend, for example a day out or trip away, tell me where. Basic information is a must in a review, and is overlooked quite a lot which frustrates the heck out of me! How much does it cost? If the product you are reviewing involves an exchange of money to obtain it - I want to know how much! Again I find that this basic piece of information is often missed out of reviews, and annoys me, as I do like to know how much a product is going to cost me. When reading a review, the price of a product helps the reader to judge whether it is worth the money based on the writers opinion. How does it look? If I don't know what it looks like I'm not going to be able to find it in a shop am I ;) I do like a good description of a product and find that a short description helps me to find products when looking for them physically, or imagine what a product looks like. If you purchase an item and it is beautiful - I want to know! If you stay at a hotel and it is dirty, grotty and digusting - I want to know! How is it packaged? If the item you are reviewing comes inside packaging, let the reader know. This sounds rather dull, but I do like to know how an item is packaged. I find this little bit of information helps me if I decide to go out and make a purchase. Does it taste good? If the product is edible, I as a reader definately want to know how it tastes. Surely the main basis behind writing a review on a food or drink is to share with the DooYoo world how it tastes. If you enjoyed an edible product thoroughly, or hated every minute of it, I want to know whether this was due to how it tasted. Can I smell it? Although I have a terrible sense of smell, I still want to know what products smell like, especially bath and body products. If I'm reading a review on a product that is going to be used on my skin, in the bath/shower or as a fragrance, I want to know, as a reader, how it smells. Is it fruity? Is it bland? Does it have no scent at all? Giving this information definately helps to conjour an idea of a scented product in the mind. The more information you can give me in a review the better - yes this means effort, but you don't get anything for nothing (atleast I'd like to think so)! It's all about putting as much relevant detail into a review as possible. I want to know as much as I can about a product before I decide to dash out and buy it, book it, eat it or wear it! Aside from the content of the review and desciptions of the product, one of my pet hates when it comes to DooYoo is people that type in slang, text talk or use terrible words to describe products. Describing something as 'wicked' or 'proper good' makes me want to claw my eyes out! Basic english please! Another pet hate of mine is reviewers that refuse to type in a decent fashion. I cannot stand TyPiNg LyK DiS. ARGH! Make sure your review is readable and makes perfectly clear sense before you submit it, please! I don't want to waste my time wading through awful spelling mistakes, terrible english or dreadful typing. Basic spelling, grammar and punctuation mistakes are another bug bear of mine. We all make the odd typo here and there, but reviews that are sloppy, inconsistant and full of mistakes makes it hard for a reader to make sense of your review and can result in a lower rating. If you're unsure of a word, google it! Reviews do not have to be long, but writing the bare minimum with hardly any effort whatsoever just to get the 500 DY miles is not the point of this website! 150 words is not an awful lot, definately not enough to give a good, hearty review on a product, so do not think that scrimping on information to barely hit the 150 word limit is passable for a good review. As I said, reviews do not need to be an essay, but they also need to be more than a few lines long to include the necessary information that makes up a good review!

                            Comments

                            Login or register to add comments
                              More Comments
                            • More +
                              06.02.2010 00:39
                              Very helpful
                              (Rating)
                              6 Comments

                              Advantages

                              Disadvantages

                              Keep it on topic and let us know what you think

                              In gratitude for the very kind acknowledgement made by Dooyoo this week by making me a celebrated member of the week, I thought I would give back a bit to the community. Here is a little of my background. My experience in reviewing probably stems initially from reading media guides at school and my love of subjects like English Language and English Literature. It was further shaped by my A level in English Literature which I did under a truly brilliant teacher. On from this, I have reviewed a number DVDs and books for two mainstream martial arts magazines. Martial arts magazines, even those that sell in WHSmith, pay their freelancers in advertising space if you are lucky! So this is my advice on what I think makes a good Dooyoo review for a film or a book, my two primary areas of interest. I have been known to occasionally give a review on the odd CD and I love contributing to the discussions, but let's not split hairs here. Please read and, to paraphrase the Little Dragon, absorb what is useful and disregard the rest. Observe the rules A review is your opinion on a product you have experienced. Provide some basic details on the film or book, describing what is about and say what you thought. Write the sort of review you enjoy reading. Try not to give too much of the plot away (like I did with my "Casualties of War" review!), but explain what moved you to your opinion. If it makes matters easier just divide your review up into sections detailing first what the film/book is about, some technical details (more applicable to DVD reviews), availability and pricing and then give your opinion. Obey the law According to Penn and Teller's fantastic sceptical show "Bulls*it!" calling someone an "a*sehole" won't get you in trouble like calling them a fraud or a charlatan will. It's an interesting piece of advice. I wouldn't encourage you to go into overdrive with obscenities, but to consider even if you thought something was a "rip-off" to be a little careful with your wording. Rules? We don't need no stinking rules! Okay, I am not a very inconsistent writer and I resent following the advice offered by some websites such as Ciao. For example, I don't feel it is very important to bombard a review with a massive list of technical details. I am tempted to write a review on one of these demand a lot, give "sweet FA" websites with a list of publishing history for a book. If we are to be honest, you can get most of that by simply clicking the product. There you will get a brief plot summary, list of actors, crew and running time if you really must know! The purpose of a review is to tell prospective customers what you thought! As for prefixing your statements with unnecessary expressions like "In my opinion..." and "I thought..." this is just encouraging bad and very boring writing. Read any book on the craft of writing and they will tell you to avoid just expressions. Of course, it is your opinion, that's the whole freaking point! So, in a nutshell, keep it on topic and let us know what you thought. A bit of extra background information on the book or film that isn't contained on the back cover is also very welcome. This is the time to show off, so long as it lends something to the opinion you are giving.

                              Comments

                              Login or register to add comments
                              • More +
                                05.02.2010 13:20
                                Very helpful
                                (Rating)
                                9 Comments

                                Advantages

                                Disadvantages

                                I'm really glad I was recommended this site. Thanks Kim!

                                I first found this discussion when I joined Dooyoo but didn't feel I knew enough to talk about it. I have now been on Dooyoo for nearly 3 months and feel like I can give honest answers. Q1. How did you discover Dooyoo? My sister-in-law is a really fond member of Dooyoo (Kimbles245). She told me everything about Dooyoo but at first I thought it was a scam of some kind. That was until she told me she had received her first lot of Amazon vouchers! Then I realised it couldn't be a scam, and I signed up. That was nearly 3months ago now and I'm so relieved that she encouraged me to come on here. Q2. Why did you join? I love reading books and then love telling people about the great ones and the not-so-great ones! Dooyoo is perfect for this, as people can read the review if they are interested or bypass it if they're not. The money is also a huge reason why I joined. I work 2 jobs, but still have little or no money spare to treat my son in any way, so I thought that I would use the money I earn on here to put into his trust fund account, and as he gets older, I can treat him to things that he would like (hes only 3 at the moment so he doesn't really know what he wants!). Q3. What was your very first opinion on? My first review was on the book Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I absolutely loved the books and wanted to tell everyone about them. As with most other 'newbies' I struggled to get to the 150 words, and my review was very little over that. At the time I thought I had wrote a brilliant review, but soon realised that 150 words on a book review is nowhere near enough! Q4. Did you find it easy to get the hang of Dooyoo? Surprisingly I did. I thought it was going to be a very complicated site. I had looked at Ciao a few weeks before joining Dooyoo and was completely stumped with how the website works. I thought Dooyoo would be the same, but thankfully it wasn't. It can't be made any easier to use, and of course within a few days of joining I knew the Dooyoo site inside out and could navigate it in my sleep! Q5. Did you read other opinions before you posted your first one? Nope. I wish I did now though. After writing my review and posted it, I thought I would have a look at other Twilight reviews, and then realised that people were writing mostly more than 500 words. I then felt a bit upset as I knew that my review was not in depth enough. Q6. Do you write no/some/many comments? I do write a few comments. Sometimes I write a comment because I love the product they are reviewing, other times I tell them that they have wrote a brilliant review. I mostly write comments though if someone's review has made me really keen to try the product for myself. Q7. When you click on the list of Newest Reviews, do you read your friends' opinion no matter what they're on/according to subject no matter who has written it/preferably the opinion of new members? Most of my circle of friends, are members whose ratings I respect. Some of them though are friends that live in the same town as me. I do read all my friends reviews, but then I read nearly all reviews. Sometimes I don't read them about food, like baked beans, because I know what they are like and theres not really much you can say about them - I think some people waffle their way through their review. Q8. Do you write your opinions in one sitting? Yep. When I start writing everything else gets put on the back burner! It doesn't take me long at all to write a review because after plenty of practice I know what people do and don't want to hear. Sometimes I write my reviews in work if its very quiet. But if someone calls then I have to leave my review well alone and help them with their query! In work, I tend to read and rate reviews more than write them, but on a site like this, I think it is very important you do this from the minute you join. By reading other peoples reviews, you start to get an idea on what your reviews should be like. Q9. Do you use a spell check? All my reviews are wrote in word first and saved regularly. This is because sometimes my son gets hold of the internet livebox and disconnects it making me go offline so I wouldn't want to have to lose a review! This means that spell checker is used on Word first before posting, plus I hate nothing more than bad grammar and spelling when I'm trying to read a review! Q10. Do you think you can improve your chances of a crown if you suck up to a guide? Nope, no way. From what I know, the guides are there to .... well, guide! They help us write a good review and if asked, will let you know what sort of things you should put into a review of a certain category. I have nominated only 2 reviews for a crown since I started Dooyoo, and hopefully one day I will get one! Are you a member of a dooyoo related forum or chat room? No ... I didn't know there was one! I'm going to have to look for that now! Q13. What did you do with your spare time before joining Dooyoo? Nearly all my spare time was either reading a book or playing about on Facebook. But I'm glad I found Dooyoo because then when I'm reading I know I can earn a little bit of money on it after, and I'm also glad I found Dooyoo because I am starting to get bored of facebook! Q14.Are the rewards fair? Yes, better than any other review site I have come across. I don't think Dooyoo could ever be a major income, but its a nice little top up every few months. I have been on here nearly 3 months and am about 80p off asking for my first cheque for £50. If I carried on at this rate I would be getting about £200 a year, definitely not something I would grumble at! Q15. How can dooyoo improve? I think the minimum word limit for a premium review should be at least 300. I think 150 words is way too low for a good review by the time you've talked about the product itself, and given your opinion on it. But thats it, otherwise I think everything else should stay the same. Q.16. Do you write for money, pleasure or ego? All 3 I think! Obviously everybody wants a little more money so I do it for that reason. But I also enjoy telling people about good things I've tried and the not so good. I never really thought about ego, but it does make me feel happy when I get very useful ratings. Q.17.Whats dooyoo`s biggest disappointment? I don't think there are any ... Q. 18.What's dooyoos biggest mistake? I don't think theres any major ones apart from the 150 word limit thing I talked about before. Q.19.Where do you see dooyoo in five years time? Hopefully still here, unlike a lot of review sites! Others stay around for a little while and then disappear! I'd love to see reviews on Dooyoo making a huge difference with consumers (more than at the moment). Q.20.What would you change on dooyoo if you were given the keys? I would make it compulsory to write a comment if someone rates a review as not useful or somewhat useful. There is nothing more annoying than getting one of these ratings and not being explained why by the person who gave it. I would also change the 150 word limit to a minimum of 300 words. I hope you have enjoyed my thoughts on Dooyoo, and would be nice to read some more if any of you ever have time to discuss this. Thanks for reading x

                                Comments

                                Login or register to add comments
                                1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36