Welcome! Log in or Register
£25.00 Best Offer by: ebay.co.uk See more offers
58 Reviews
  • Web site is the only think user friendly
  • lack of
  • Service
  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    58 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.04.2014 10:11
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      • "Web site is the only think user friendly"

      Disadvantages

      • " lack of"
      • Service

      NOT RESOLVED AS YET

      I ordered some furniture for my son on the 15th March, I received a text on the 25/3 advising delivery on the 1st April between 10am and 2pm. Rang the delivery firm at 4pm as no one came. They could not get hold of the drivers while I was on hold! No one came back to me after I rang, on the 2nd was told that delivery would be on the 10th. I asked to speak to the MD who did ring me, saying his drivers tried to phone. I said they did not. He rang me on 3rd April and apologised as they had not phoned, he would get the delivery out on 6th April, yes they did turn up with some furniture, 1 correct undamaged piece, 1 damaged and 2 the wrong colour. Driver said it was my fault, the range confirmed I had ordered all Black. Rang the Range several times on the 7th and 8th as the goods need to be reordered, nothing back from them. They have finally responded to Facebook and asked for my order No. Money was taken out of the account straight away, bad practice, should only be taken once dispatched!! I will update once I have either received what I ordered or cancelled my payment and left the goods for them to collect. Its simple to get it right, no one wants to take ownership of the issue, yet they are happy to have your money. BEWARE

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      04.03.2014 11:03

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Automated sale but no follow up customer service

      Order number 10190721 My online shopping experience with the Range rates as the absolute worst customer service I have ever encountered. Telephone rarely answered, emails not responded to. Even more annoying is receiving surveys asking about the goods I am still waiting for. Ridiculous. When you escalate to head office, they can only reply with "we are not connected to the online team". I have seen the same goods with other suppliers, so please be aware - avoid the Range online shopping and maintain your sanity. I contacted the manufacturer directly and found out the information I needed and delivery dates etc. They were magnificent. However, it was the Range customer service who should have been advising me, not the other way around. I don't blame the operators, I blame the managers who are clearly not managing nor following up. This relates to online shopping only. In store I find the staff helpful and friendly.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      17.02.2014 16:51
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      2 Comments

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      As Above

      I purchased a Swan Processor on 31.12.13 as a belated Christmas present for someone. Before I paid for it I asked if it could be returned if not wanted. I was informed that it could be returned in the original packaging. The person that I purchased it for returned it to me a few days later stating it had an intermittent fault as it did not always start. I returned the item to the store where it was plugged in. This time it started so I said the fault was intermittent and that I wanted my money refunded. £24.99. I was refused so purchased another processor and this time from Argos who said that they would have refunded and returned the item to Swan. This is good customer relations and I will continue to shop at Argos. I sent an e mail to The Range and an automated reply came to me stating that they pride themselves on their customer serviced and hoped to get back to me within 28 days. It is now 49 days later and still no reply. I have written to them again and received another automated reply. I have made several phone calls to them but one just can not get past the female operator. I will never shop there again. I have since found that I could have purchased the item from BM stores for ten pounds less so the Range are not that cheap are they. R.Burrill Store 00093 Till 09 TRAN 006824 31.12.13 Operator 002010

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        15.02.2014 01:44
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        3 Comments

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        Well done, and brilliant customer service

        Several months ago a new branch of the Range opened locally to me, just outside Bridgend.(South Wales). Reading through some of the previous reviews I was surprised at the negative experiences reported by other Dooyoo members. To be fair I haven't ordered anything from the store so can't give an opinion on that. My first impression of the store was that I had better not spend too long in there or I'd risk spending a lot of money. It seemed packed with attractive items for the home, mirrors, lights, pictures,soft furnishings, and small electrical items (strangely not including hairdryers). It also sells some furniture,a limited range of clothing, homewares, pet equipment, drain cleaner and some bargain food and drink. My husband likes to write a list when he shops, rush in, find it ,pay and rush out as quickly as possible.I like to look round, spend time,look for a bargain and maybe impulse buy. I guess we are pretty typical in this, for this reason I think the Range may appeal to women rather than men.Because I love it in there, its like an Aladdins cave. The main reason I shop there though is because I'm a keen amateur artist. If the Range has a specialist subject it is Art and stocks a very impressive range of art materials of good quality.Whether you use acrylics watercolours (artist quality) or pastels, whatever paper you are searching for, look no further, a wonderful selection is available.Also carriers to store your portfolio. However I have a friend who is very skilled in cake decorating , so she headed for the Range to find ....nothing! So the Craft section is brilliant, but also limited in range. My final comments are to do with the customer service. I am glad to say that my experience (truthfully) is BRILLIANT! A* 1st example: I went in with my 10 year old granddaughter. She told me she had seen a sewing box in the Range Which she wanted to buy. When we went in we couldn't see it, so I headed for the nearest member of staff, a young girl. She looked up and down several aisles, couldn't find it, so went to ask another girl, they looked everywhere but then apologised as they couldn't locate it. I am ashamed to say that as we were leaving the store my granddaughter said she had remembered that she had actually seen it in Tesco's not the Range (she was correct) 2nd example:I wanted some parcel tape, I asked an assistant as I couldn't see it, she also looked in a few aisles, then told me to stay while she went to ask her senior, she returned after a while carrying the tape I wanted which she had gone into the stock room to find. I was very impressed with both these examples, as the staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide good customer service, going the extra mile. So, in my opinion the Range whilst not perfect, from my point of view at least as a customer deserves a good review

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          13.02.2014 20:05

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          Avoid. If you have issues nobody wants to know.

          We ordered a very nice bed off the range online. We Received it 2 months after we ordered it although in stock for the 2 months. When we eventually received it there were pieces missing. Online customer service team are none existent and never answer their phones. The emails I sent were not replied to and a month after delivery still haven't. Went In store but as I purchased online they could not help me. Rung customer service and they also could not help me, again because I purchased it online and had to ring the "online team". It was down to myself to ring the supplier, Julian Bowen who sent out the parts the next day. Avoid buying this or any large product online cause if you have any issues, good luck getting through to the "online" customer service team. I wrote this review against the product but it was rejected surprisingly. Weird how the "online" team can check through reviews but not check emails or answer their phones. Mr sebastian Mawdsley Order:- 10176918

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          10.02.2014 20:26
          5 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          Buyer Beware!!

          My family and I have shopped at The Range for a good few years now. We purchased a hamster cage from their Scunthorpe store for our autistic son's Syrian Hamster that was part of his birthday present. That evening after taking great care to ensure the hamster was comfortable we went to bed. The next day the hamster was there and seemed happy, but the following day he had vanished. We searched everywhere but couldn't find him. There were no doors on the cage open and we came to the conclusion that it must have squeezed through one of the bars. Our son was very upset as you can imagine so for the next week my wife and I took turns to get up in the middle of the night to see if we could find it. This was fruitless and so we decided that the following weekend we would take the cage and receipt back to the store as 'Not fit for Purpose'. Please find an email that I sent to head office customer service and to CEO Chris Dawson. It should explain what happened next. Dear Sir,   Further to my conversation with Danny today at Head Office Customer Service, please find as requested a true account of my experience today.   My name is ---------------and I would like to tell you of my experience of your returns policy at The Range Scunthorpe.  Firstly please let me explain a bit about myself. I am mid forties, no tattoos or piercings, not that there is anything wrong with that and I like to think of myself as reserved and measured in my approach to life in general. I have served on our local parish council for a number of years and currently I Chair the premises committee on our local primary school board of governors.     Today my family and I had the misfortune to experience the sharp end of your returns policy. We have for a number of years called into both the Scunthorpe and Lincoln stores for our needs and maybe some sustenance and beverage from your fine restaurants. This is the first time we have ever tried to return an item.   A week prior to this visit we had purchased a hamster cage from your pet department to house our 9 year old autistic sons new pet syrian hamster. The cost of this item was not of particular issue being only £14.99.  We helped our son fit the cage out with all the bits and pieces and put the hamster in his new home. This was on the Friday. The hamster was still in his cage on the Saturday but we did notice that he seemed to be paying quite a bit of attention to the corner of the cage. By Sunday the cage was empty. The doors were still all closed but somehow the hamster had escaped. We believe that where the hamster was showing interest the day before, the spacing between the bars is slightly wider and we believe that he must have somehow squeezed through. A true houdini indeed!   Our son as you can imagine is distraught. My wife and I have for the last week been taking turns getting up in the middle of the night to see if we can find this hamster. There has as yet been no sign so has either made a dash for freedom, is expert at stealth operations, died, or currently chewing through the household wiring. Your guess is as good as mine.   Anyway, we decided to take the not unreasonable step of returning the offending cage back to Scunthorpe with receipt in hand. The young man on the desk listened to our experience and seemed a bit torn as what to do. I pointed out the 'Sale & Supply of Goods Act 2002'and suggested that the item was 'Not fit for Purpose'. He decided to try to get a manager involved eventually returning to state that the manager decided that as the cage had been used they could do nothing with it and therefore would be ignoring the act and not giving a refund. This as you can probably imagine was not very helpful, so I suggested to the chap that maybe the manager could have the courtesy to actually take time to come and speak to his unhappy customers.  Eventually the manager arrived. Things were very cordial and my wife explained the problem again. The manager was as flummoxed as we were as to how the hamster had got out. He then reiterated that he wasn't going to do anything to rectify the situation. No apology for the lost hamster to our upset son or his disregard for the previously mentioned act of 2002. I then gave him another reminder of this act and he then tried to start arguing in front of my wife child and other customers the finer points of this legislation. I would like to add that it became absolutely apparent that he has very little grasp nor understanding of this act. By now I was a tad irked by his attitude and lack of remorse of any kind regarding the upset caused to our son or the upset to us having to wake at silly o'clock to check for the hamster, so I told him that just on principle I would chase this through the small claims proceedure. I then requested his name to which he replied John. I asked for his surname twice and on both occasions he refused. So by now i was very upset and frustrated at his attitude but mindful of customers around and also the fact my wife and child were also upset, I went up to him and very quietly told him that he obviously had something to f*c*ing hide to not want to give me his name. I returned back to my wife. My wife then very calmly asked him to reconsider?. He then replied to my wife who was very calm but upset that he can do whatever he wants and he is not going to refund and will now ban us not just from Scunthorpe but all The Range stores nationwide!  He was also now smiling and almost chuckling as he said it. I then politely asked him if he would like to join me outside to sort this out staggered by the lack of respect being shown. I will be the first to state that this was unforgivable, but he had managed to drag me down to this level. Now his next plan was to call the police. We waited patiently whilst he did this. I now had a very good measure of this chap so took it upon myself to stand next to him to ensure he didn't fabricate anything whilst talking on the phone. He scurried off. We then waited calmly and patiently for the police to arrive. I am guessing we probably waited around half an hour or more. During the wait I even joked to him when he returned regarding the time taken for the police to respond. He replied that if this had been Doncaster the police would have been there immediately!   The police eventually arrive and John, no surname runs out and talks to one of the officers. The officer then approaches me and asks me to join him outside in his van. I oblige. I would like to make clear at this point that neither myself nor my family have ever been on the wrong side of the law and both my wife and especially my son where very worried by me following this officer out to the van.  I explained to the chap exactly what had happened and the officer stated that my account was the same as John, I can do what I like no surnames. After running a check to ensure I havent got any history with the police he suggests that he go back in the store and aquires this managers surname to enable me to fire off a complaint to you. I agreed to this. The officer also indicated that he could absolutely see my issue.  Two minutes later he returns dumbfounded as your manager had refused to give the officer his surname!!! What is this guy hiding??    Anyway, this whole experience has not only soured our view of The Range, but it has left us all personally upset especially our challenged son who doesn't understand any of this and got very frightened during this experience.    The money wasn't the issue. We are talking £15. Its the principle. The wasted afternoon, the 50 mile wasted round trip to return the item. The trauma caused to not just ourselves but more importantly our son. The lack of an apology for the loss of the hamster nor sympathetic handling of the issue. Nor any regard for us getting up in the middle of the night to try and find the hamster. I personally find that the sheer disregard for our integrity galling. The hamster escaping is by our own admission perplexing but all the same it happened. Your manager by not doing the correct thing has virtually implied we are lying.  I would imagine that you will hold a cctv record of this time consuming and upsetting incident. I would respectfully request that it is viewed to confirm my account.    If a hamster cage doesn't manage to contain a hamster, I hope that you will agree that it is not fit for purpose?      I trust this will be looked into and appropiate action taken?    Could you please also confirm the validity of our lifetime ban to all of your stores that your manager kindly awarded us with for having the gall trying to return a faulty item?   Not wanting to sound belligerent but this won't particulary be an issue to us after today, we are just curious.    Best Regards Well nearly a week went by and I received this reply, Dear ---------------   Thank you for your email received on the 3rd February 2014, regarding the Hamster Cage.   I can confirm that all the details highlighted have been investigated, however in order for me to continue with my investigation I will require a copy of your proof of purchase or bank statement and photographs highlighting your concerns.   Once I have received this information, I will happily look into the matter further for you.   I look forward to hearing from you.   Yours Sincerely   Jordan Thomas Customer Service Team T: 01752 725595 F: 01752 725570 E: customerservice@therange.co.uk     I was gobsmacked, so I replied, Jordan,I think you may have missed the point somewhat.The receipt has already been presented to the store along with the cage and our concerns.I would have thought it would have been more important to address the issue of John, no surname and his attitude and actions on that day. Not to mention the upset caused to my wife and child as well as myself and the embarrassment of having to follow a police officer out to his van.If you feel that this isnt the more important issue, then please either get a customer service manager involved or even better, please forward the Chris Dawson or his secretary to deal with. Many Thanks Anyway, today I received a letter banning me from all The Range stores nationwide. It also stated that a copy would be sent to the local constabulary and if I set foot in any of their stores it will be treated as tresspass and I shall be committing a criminal offence. The letter went on to state that if I had any concerns that I should contact the 'Loss Prevention Dept' So in a state of increduality I took them up on their kind offer and was put through to Jordan Thomas. I asked him what was going on and here is a condensed version of our conversation, The store manager has the right to ban us from all stores and head office can't overide that decision. He has not reviewed the CCTV footage as yet, but I am banned anyway. I wouldn't get a reply from CEO Chris Dawson because he isn't 'Customer Facing' If I don't agree with the customer service rep Jordan Thomas, I can't complain any higher because his boss isn't 'Customer Facing' They decide if an item they sell is 'Fit for Purpose'. The customer has to decide if the Hamster Cage they sell is Fit for use by a Hamster. I left the conversation telling Jordan that I would now be contacting Trading Standards regarding their denial of the 'Sale of Goods Act 1979 and The Sale and Supply of Goods Act 2002' 'Not fit for Purpose and Not of Merchantable Quality' His reply was 'ok' but I wouldn't be hearing from them anymore. As I stated earlier, the money, though a refund would have been nice isn't the real issue here. What is the issue is the fact that there has been no apologies for the managers handling of the complaint. No apologies for the upset caused to my son or wife. The fact that I have never had any dealings with the police and now I find myself banned, not that that's a great loss but having my good name now on police record by way of the letter sent to them informing them of my nationwide ban. So please take this as a cautionary tale. I honestly thought this was a professional company. There handling of a genuine complaint has been anything but. A company run by a CEO Chris Dawson who won't take an interest in his long standing customers complaints. A inflexible and non caring customer service dept who have no respect for consumer law, who again have managers who don't speak to customers. A company who when faced with an item 'Not fit for Purpose' ban customers and smear their name to the local constabulary rather than do the honest, decent thing and apologise. Not ever has the phrase, 'Buyer beware' been more suited than to this shamble of a company.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            04.02.2014 17:20

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            I ordered a duvet set online that proved to be of poor quality so I followed their returns policy and emailed their customer services to arrange collection. They replied saying they would be happy to help and for me to provide a date the item could be collected; however, they did not collect the item and have since ignored all emails and do not seem to answer the telephone. This is online robbery. I will report to trading standards regarding this matter.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            02.02.2014 04:06

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            Never trust the staff at the range instore and dont waste time online either....

            Well... what else is there to say... from other customers it seems going instore to buy an item can be no more entertaining than buying online... except the item we have purchased is only available online... well I know I wont be going face to face with the shop staff I suppose! So on the 14th January we (me and hubby) purchased a pine ottoman from the online store,paid by direct debit,and were excited that we had finally found the last piece of furniture to our bedroom and whole house decorating episode. BUT..... we are still waiting for it.... yes that's right... and we have no way of knowing whats going on,where our item is and how much longer we will have to wait...infact..we have now had to send them a letter via the post via recorded signed for postage at a cost to ourselves,to see if we may or may not get a response from them. And even that was advised by the guy from Trading Standards... The range have our money, we have a statement that shows they have taken it and an email from them on the 16th of January stating clearly they have taken it. On that same email it also states our item was dispatched and should be with us within 3-5 working days... fab...NOT!!! They have broken 2 laws under the sale of goods act, (don't want to say too much as to encourage them to rectify the situation, not that they will have time to read this with dealing with others, of course), but, I now have proof that I have complained, despite being told a standard issue letter will be sent to me disregarding the complaint and telling me I still have to send an email, alongside my other 2 emails, to the online email address, to which I have still had no response, or to call them on the web number...to which I have tried countless times,(I can remember the number in my head like a robot ive dialled it that many times!) yet no one answers and the darn thing automatically cuts off.... which im sure must please them... On the whole, I believe that despite giving them a deadline to deliver the goods, i will still have to go and claim my money bank trough my bank, and if no luck, through the courts. I would advise anyone to avoid the place, be it online or instore, as it seems im not the only one who has lost out, and been on the receiving end of a rude member of staff! I have used the store option a few times before now, but I wont even allow myself to travel the distance in fuel to deal with the staff... if they are anything like the guy, (Danny), who I spoke to on the "other number" that is supplied for shop customers,(even though that seemed pointless and proved useless). Either they have no one to answer the phones or reply to emails, or they just sit on there backsides reading the emails off frustrated customers and making a laughing stock of us,and knowing that the second they answer the phone they have a frustrated upset customer who just wants help and understanding... seems the range staff don't know how to do this and the MD chris dawson should be ashamed of the non existent service he has for those who helped him get where he is! THE ONLY REASON THIS HAS ONE STAR IS THE FACT I HAVE NO CHOICE SET BY THIS WEBSITE, ELSE IT BE NOUGHT!!

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            28.01.2014 15:42

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            need to work on customer service

            Bought 2 picture frames online on the 22nd of January recieved on 27th January. One of the glass in frames was broke rang immediately at 5.30 no reply even though they meant to be open till 6pm tried next day 9.30 no reply and phone gets cut off after 5 minutes tried email but they just send automatic email saying they will get back to you in 14 DAYS. Then i found another web address and sent same email to them got another automatic reply saying they will reply within 28 DAYS. So i googled the company and got head office in Plymouth`s number rang them they just put me thru to customer services but wrong customer services , the one for in store not web purchases even though she asked and i told her it was a web purchase . Then I looked at contacts on web again and found another number and rang this , it was in store customer services and he said i wouldnt get a ring back for maybe 3 days !!!!

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            24.01.2014 13:23

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            USELESS

            Ordered two floor lamps on the 29/12/13, credit card was billed within minutes of placing the order & I received an email acknowledging the order. Email stated they "endeavour to dispatch orders within 5-6 working days but can take up to 7-14 days" and a further email would be sent when the order was dispatched. No email stating dispatch but sure enough on the 17/01/14 the lights arrives. One was fine the other not so fine, the shade had been crushed. Emailed Customer Services on the morning of the 18th with photo's and received an automatic reply. 7 days later no further emails or calls from them so I tried ringing 30 attempts with no answer just rings out, was answered once & hung up straight away - obviously Friday morning is not the best time for them! This isn't customer service it's USELESS. My advice if you're 100% sure whatever you order will be delivered fine then go ahead & order, if however there's a problem you'd be better off shopping anywhere else - 1 star rating because I can't give zero and even that'd be generous!

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            18.12.2013 14:38

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            The Muppets meet The Chuckle Brothers (and they only got a star because you can't give zero stars)

            First, I haven't given an order number because they know who I am and if they've more than one person with with this story they've got bigger problems than we can imagine. I ordered a desk from their web site on Monday 3rd Dec. The following day I received an email saying that my credit card had been charged and my order despatched which, of course, doesn't mean despatched in the normal sense of the word. It means, in fact, that they have sent the order to a manufacturer who will despatch the item. On Wednesday 4th I emailed them asking if it would be possible to give an idea as to when I could expect delivery and the following day I received an email from saying:- Thank you for your email. I can confirm that orders for these items are dispatched directly to you from our suppliers DAMS. The dispatch confirmation email that you have received is sent when the order is sent to our supplier in order to be processed. I would like to assure you that DAMS endeavour to deliver orders within 5-7 working days from this point and you should be contacted by them directly regarding delivery. I would like to thank you for your patience, and I hope that you will continue to be a valued customer at The Range. On Tuesday 10th I had still received no notification as to when my desk will arrive an so telephoned DAMS who were most surprised that The Range had not arranged to pick up the desk which had been ready for despatch for days. Not only did they tell me that it is The Range who arrange carriage but it is The Range who should send an email detailing a delivery day, not DAMS as you claimed in the email. After another call to The Range and another to DAMS confirming that the item had been collected I finally had confirmation as to when I could expect the desk. "It will be with you tomorrow" I was told. "It will be here tomorrow" I said. "Yes" I was told. I stayed in all day and did the desk arrive? No. The following day, however, at about 2pm the legs were delivered, yes just the legs. I phoned DAMS who said they had despatched the whole thing and I should contact The Range which I did. I was told that the carrier must have lost the other box or it could still be on the van and that they would call DAMS and. if they could supply another desk top, they would arrange delivery and call me back. I waited 25 minutes then rang The Range customer services. I was told that no action had been taken yet as they'd had no time. I queried the idea that 25 minutes was not enough time to at least begin to action the problem and was told that they "have other customers". Presumably these are customers who have not yet handed over their cash unlike myself who, having had my card charged a week ago, is now low priority. Their customer service man, Dan I believe his name is, said I should allow at least another 35 minutes for him to phone DAMS and get back to me with an answer as to whether I could expect the remainder of my desk to be shipped. Sure enough he called back saying another would be shipped and would be with me the following morning, Friday 13th December. I waited all of Friday morning and when the desk had not arrived at 12.30 tried to phone The Range. The phone rang and rang until it finally cut off. I tried again with the same result. They were probably dealing with other, more important customers who were yet to part with their cash. I then rang DAMS who said that although they had the correct address on the delivery note they had the wrong postcode, WR14, which I believe is Worcester not Chelmsford in Essex. To be fair the lady I spoke to said the error was her fault entirely and that I would have delivery the following day before 12.30. Saturday morning came and went but there was no sign of my desk top and my patience came to an end. I contacted my credit card company and stopped the payment. I emailed The Range customer services outlining the same sad story, telling them what I'd done and telling them they could collect their legs at my convenience. I sent a letter with the same content to both customer services and their CEO Chris Dawson. I received an automated email acknowledging receipt of my email and saying that as I am "a valued customer" they would respond as soon as possible but this could take up to five working days. FIVE WORKING DAYS...not that valued then! It is now Wednesday 18th Dec and I've heard nothing. Of course, the five days isn't up until Friday so why should they bother? My payment has been stopped, the legs are boxed and standing in my porch waiting for collection (but I'm not holding my breath) and its beginning to look like this Christmas The Range will be like most of us....legless

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            26.10.2013 12:15

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            Poor customer relations at the Range (Harlow)

            I was refused a refund for a faulty item because it was past their 28 day policy period by just over a week. I stated the Sale of Goods act suggests I am entitled to refund because I felt the item was not fit for purpose as it only worked for 5 weeks. I was offered a replacement but if the first one wasn't any good why should the second be ok? so I refused and insisted on a refund. I was only refunded the amount to spend on other goods which I believe is not sufficiently compliant with my consumer rights. The Range store manager (Harlow,Essex) seems to believe their 28 day returns policy is more important than the consumers rights under the sale of goods act. I have had experience of returning faulty goods in the past with other stores (Argos, John Lewis, Amazon) and these do offer better no quibble refund policies, so I shall avoid the Range in future and stick to stores that play by the rules.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            11.09.2013 20:22
            Very helpful
            (Rating)
            1 Comment

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            I wouldn't shop there if they had a 1p sale.

            Passing through Bangor last weekend on our way back from a break, and we decided to call in at The Range. We don't live near to a branch of this shop and this was our first time shopping at one of their stores. I fell in love with a touch lamp with a vibrant glass shade on the display stand, so we picked up a box and bought it. We spent quite a lot of money there, actually, and we left the store as happy customers. Or so we thought... The sad part was when we got home and I opened the box, pulled out the bubble wrap and.... you've guessed it, broken glass shade. The edge bore less resemblence to a lamp and more to Snowdonia Mountain range, it was so sharp and jagged. I popped online to see how far our nearest store was and it was clearly going to cost just about as much in petrol as the lamp cost (£10), just to take it back. Nearly 40 miles :( So, I contacted Customer Services via their website, carefully explained the situation in an email, and our distance from a shop for returning a lamp sold to us as broken, and asked for their help. Customer Services were less than helpful. I'm sure I made the email clear, how far we lived, the box when I opened it, and so on... Here is an excerpt of Jody's (CS) response in all its' glory: "As I hope you can appreciate we do not hold stock at Head Office, therefore we are unable to distribute stock to our customers. Therefore I can confirm that in order for this matter to be looked into further, you will need to return the item to your local store along with your proof of purchase and the product and your concerns will then need to be addressed with the Department Manager, however as I hope you will appreciate it is the customer's responsibility to ensure that they take additional care when handling or transporting delicate items. As I hope you will appreciate The Range cannot be held responsible for items once they have left the store. Please note that we have Policies in place that our stores must abide by and the responsibility is that of store management to make any decision regarding a return, exchange, refund etc in accordance to our policies and if they do not feel the situation is compliant with our policies the request may be declined. " Wow! Did I catch her on a bad hangover? That was not helpful, and we didn't appreciate the comments relating to goods once they had left the store. It made us feel as if CS were saying that we may well have broken the lamp ourselves. I'm a mature adult, I think I know how to handle and pack a purchase into my car so that it gets home in one piece, and I certainly didn''t want a broken lamp! So, basically, I should drive nearly 40 miles in the hope that my 'local' store will not take the same attitude as CS did (thinking that I may well have broken my lamp by jumping up and down on the box and bubble wrap until it smashed with whoops of glee and a wanton lust for slicing myself open on broken jags of sharp glass when later I open my box and pull out the bubble wrap. Joy!). Of course 'if they do not feel the situation is compliant with our policies the request may be declined' so that could be more wasted money in petrol and more wasted time. Particularly if their managers are trained to the same standards as their CS staff. The Range? Won't be going there again. Use at your peril, because if something's broken, you might find they just don't want to know. Oh, by the way, yes I did slice my hand open when I pulled the lamp out of the bubble wrap. Perhaps I should sue... :D

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              28.08.2013 03:27

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              staff at the range need to learn about thier products

              I bought a pump and undergravel fish pump from the range in shrewsbury after being assured it was suitable for the tank I had purchased from them a few days earlier. I also bought water safe gravel ect, the set up was a birthday present for my granddaughter two weeks on, so on the day she opened her present we set up the tank filter and pump and the pump didn't work, it wasn't faulty the tank was to big the packaging stated for goldfish bowls and aqauriums the member of staff had assured me it was suitable so I took it back hoping for an exchange unfortunately I had lost the receipt, but thinking its their fault at least I could get abn exchange, the member of staff didn't remember me and the dept head said they couldn't trace the sale witrhout a receipt, so im left with an upset grand daughter and a useless pump, but hey any aks me about the range I know what I will be telling them

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments
            • More +
              23.07.2013 14:49
              Very helpful
              (Rating)

              Advantages

              Disadvantages

              One very happy customer

              Reading through the other reviews of the range, it appears I am one of the very few that have had no problems with this store and have been very satisfied with the service I received and the choice of products which were on offer. I however can see why people have problems within this store as it is very full and stocks many products which can sometimes be overwhelming due to the volume on the shelves. So the Range is located on my local retail park, it has many disabled parking spaces in front and a ramp for access so it is clearly catering for the less mobile customers who wish to attend the store. The outside of my local store which is in Scunthorpe is very clean and well presented. The front door of the store has a lot of shelves with potting plants upon them, and they have also created a display which represents a garden with a rockery, a fountain and some tables and chairs, which shows you what is achievable in your own home. I just recently moved into my own home and I wanted to buy some accessories to brighten up my home as it is a new build and is rather bland coloured. I had no idea about what accessories I wanted to purchase so I headed to the range to have a look, to see if anything would catch my eye. As I walked in I couldn't believe how many products they had. As soon as I walked in they have a display of artificial flowers, a few of which are already bound together and many are loose so you can create your own bundle. So I bought two of these along with the vases which are also available in the range. They also have many soft furnishings such as towels, bedding, cushions, pillows. As well as clocks, pictures, canvasses, lighting, both floor and ceiling lights. They also have a specialist homeware section with everything you would need for the cleanliness of your home. Arts and Crafts is also a bit section within the range, from painting, cross stitch, embroidery, knitting, card making and many more. Furniture is also a huge part of the range, anything from coffee tables, bedside cabinets, beds, sofas, tv stands, the range really does have it all. They have the furniture set up in a real life scenario so you can picture how each piece of furniture would look like within your own home. The main reason which I went to the range for my house accessories was because I was aware of all the ornaments, trinkets and little nick nacks which they sell, which would decorate my home nicely. On this occasion I bought a little wicker heart to hang on my bed frame, tied up by a ribbon, as well as a mirrored diamante candle holder and ornaments for my bedroom window. I bought these as I like these things to give my home the finishing touches that it needs, I also purchased a home sweet home canvas with three separate canvases which hang in my hall. I bought this as I think the quality was brilliant and the product was beautiful. The range sells little accessories for every room in your house, for example the lounge, kitchen and bathroom, for example for my bathroom I bought a large wooden seagull ornament and a large wooden candle holder, both painted in white, dark and light blue and both look brilliant in my modern bathroom. The range near myself also sells food, garden accessories, plants and garden furniture, it really does cater for every need. So overall if I need to purchase something for my house, the range would be my one stop shop as I have never had any bad experiences with this shop, by the look of it I am one of the luck ones. I would definitely recommend the range as they have something for everyone, and if they don't have the product you are after they will definitely have something very similar and if not better. I have never had any problems with the customer service either, it has always been first class. I would however make one suggestion that they have more trolleys and supply more wheelchairs for the customers who are less mobile, this however is one negative against many positives, making me a very happy customer of the range and I will definitely be using them again when my home needs some more finishing touches!! One satisfied customer, well done the range!!

              Comments

              Login or register to add comments