Welcome! Log in or Register
£39.99 Best Offer by: iwantoneofthose.com See more offers
65 Reviews
  • None
  • Cheapish
  • Stock a mess
  • very bad customer service
  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    65 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      30.08.2014 00:50
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      • None

      Disadvantages

      • "rubbish product"
      • "Dire service"

      A masterclass in ineptitude and diabolical service.

      Ordered the Madrid TV Chair and footstool. It arrived 2 weeks later with a part missing. Customer services cheerfully informed me that they would send the part out in "ten to fourteen days". It did take nearly that too and the clowns sent another chair instead of the part. They told me to take the part I needed and they would pick up the rest. Chair full of defects, holes in wrong place, holes not drilled right through, staples crossing boltholes so you cant get a bolt in. Couldn't make a good one from both boxes so rang them and told them to pick them up and I wanted a refund. No apology or argument they just didn't care. Both chairs picked up a few days later. Went away and when I came back no refund had been issued.
      Now the best bit.
      The SAME driver turned up ten days later for the chairs and he even remembered me !
      Phoned customer clowns I mean services and at last the girl I spoke to apologized and issued a refund which has reached my account.
      In summary almost entertainingly inept but probably not what you want in a company.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      22.08.2014 16:24
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      • "still dont have sofa"
      • "very bad customer service"

      Only use them if you dont care when you get your goods and your not

      Ordered a sofa 8 weeks ago, told it would be 4-6 weeks delivery, still dont have sofa Head office is not interested in helping as they say its not there problem, store are attemoting to help but have same problem with head office, this has cost me money and time, and i will NEVER use the company again. ( i entered into credit contract with them so if i dont get a responce soon there is a big shock comming to them) MY advise go somewhere else and get a better servise and product.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      27.06.2014 13:10
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Use at your peril!

      Ordered Table on line. Delivered late and irreparably damaged. Arranged for collection of damaged goods and requested refund as replacement would take minimum of 14 days. Goods collected - still awaiting refund. Abysmal service - will never use Range again. Would not recommend them to worst enemy.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      25.06.2014 11:08

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      great response to issue

      i bought a gazeebo from the range store in willenhall, when we started to unpack the item we found there were parts missing i called the store and asked to speak to the store manager i explained the situation and also told him that i had an event the next day at my house the store manager offered to drop off the item after he had finished work i thought that was a superb level of customer service

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      25.06.2014 11:01
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      very satisfied by the response

      i bought a gazeebo from the range store in willenhall, when we started to unpack the item we found there were parts missing i called the store and asked to speak to the store manager i explained the situation and also told him that i had an event the next day at my house the store manager offered to drop off the item after he had finished work i thought that was a superb level of customer service

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      17.06.2014 14:32

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Non existent customer service!

      We purchased a pack of 6 small bath mats, but after a short period they stained our new bath. We reported this to The Range ''customer service'' who took several months to requested proof of purchase, photographic evidence and proof that our bath was new. We supplied all of this information but it still took months to reply. Finally got a response which stated they wouldn''t accept any responsibility for the damage to our bath! Poor quality products, poor customer service.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      15.06.2014 20:09
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      • Cheapish

      Disadvantages

      • "Broken stock"
      • "Staff unhelpful"
      • "Stock a mess"
      • "No prices"

      Cheapish and nasty

      The Edinburgh Range is a mess. Stock is broken but still on display. When you find Something you want that''s remained intact, there will be no price on the item or the shelf. Stock is strewn all over the place, and Customer Services are clueless.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      10.04.2014 10:11
      Not Helpful
      (Rating)

      Advantages

      • "Web site is the only think user friendly"

      Disadvantages

      • " lack of"
      • Service

      NOT RESOLVED AS YET

      I ordered some furniture for my son on the 15th March, I received a text on the 25/3 advising delivery on the 1st April between 10am and 2pm. Rang the delivery firm at 4pm as no one came. They could not get hold of the drivers while I was on hold! No one came back to me after I rang, on the 2nd was told that delivery would be on the 10th. I asked to speak to the MD who did ring me, saying his drivers tried to phone. I said they did not. He rang me on 3rd April and apologised as they had not phoned, he would get the delivery out on 6th April, yes they did turn up with some furniture, 1 correct undamaged piece, 1 damaged and 2 the wrong colour. Driver said it was my fault, the range confirmed I had ordered all Black. Rang the Range several times on the 7th and 8th as the goods need to be reordered, nothing back from them. They have finally responded to Facebook and asked for my order No. Money was taken out of the account straight away, bad practice, should only be taken once dispatched!!
      I will update once I have either received what I ordered or cancelled my payment and left the goods for them to collect. Its simple to get it right, no one wants to take ownership of the issue, yet they are happy to have your money. BEWARE

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      04.03.2014 11:03

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      Automated sale but no follow up customer service

      Order number 10190721
      My online shopping experience with the Range rates as the absolute worst customer service I have ever encountered. Telephone rarely answered, emails not responded to. Even more annoying is receiving surveys asking about the goods I am still waiting for. Ridiculous. When you escalate to head office, they can only reply with "we are not connected to the online team". I have seen the same goods with other suppliers, so please be aware - avoid the Range online shopping and maintain your sanity.
      I contacted the manufacturer directly and found out the information I needed and delivery dates etc. They were magnificent. However, it was the Range customer service who should have been advising me, not the other way around.
      I don't blame the operators, I blame the managers who are clearly not managing nor following up.

      This relates to online shopping only. In store I find the staff helpful and friendly.

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      17.02.2014 16:51
      Very helpful
      (Rating)
      2 Comments

      Advantages

      Disadvantages

      As Above

      I purchased a Swan Processor on 31.12.13 as a belated Christmas present for someone. Before I paid for it I asked if it could be returned if not wanted. I was informed that it could be returned in the original packaging.
      The person that I purchased it for returned it to me a few days later stating it had an intermittent fault as it did not always start. I returned the item to the store where it was plugged in. This time it started so I said the fault was intermittent and that I wanted my money refunded. £24.99. I was refused so purchased another processor and this time from Argos who said that they would have refunded and returned the item to Swan. This is good customer relations and I will continue to shop at Argos. I sent an e mail to The Range and an automated reply came to me stating that they pride themselves on their customer serviced and hoped to get back to me within 28 days. It is now 49 days later and still no reply. I have written to them again and received another automated reply. I have made several phone calls to them but one just can not get past the female operator. I will never shop there again. I have since found that I could have purchased the item from BM stores for ten pounds less so the Range are not that cheap are they.
      R.Burrill

      Store 00093 Till 09 TRAN 006824
      31.12.13 Operator 002010

      Comments

      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        15.02.2014 01:44
        Very helpful
        (Rating)
        3 Comments

        Advantages

        Disadvantages

        Well done, and brilliant customer service

        Several months ago a new branch of the Range opened locally to me, just outside Bridgend.(South Wales).
        Reading through some of the previous reviews I was surprised at the negative experiences reported by other Dooyoo members. To be fair I haven't ordered anything from the store so can't give an opinion on that.
        My first impression of the store was that I had better not spend too long in there or I'd risk spending a lot of money. It seemed packed with attractive items for the home, mirrors, lights, pictures,soft furnishings, and small electrical items (strangely not including hairdryers). It also sells some furniture,a limited range of clothing, homewares, pet equipment, drain cleaner and some bargain food and drink.
        My husband likes to write a list when he shops, rush in, find it ,pay and rush out as quickly as possible.I like to look round, spend time,look for a bargain and maybe impulse buy. I guess we are pretty typical in this, for this reason I think the Range may appeal to women rather than men.Because I love it in there, its like an Aladdins cave.
        The main reason I shop there though is because I'm a keen amateur artist. If the Range has a specialist subject it is Art and stocks a very impressive range of art materials of good quality.Whether you use acrylics watercolours (artist quality) or pastels, whatever paper you are searching for, look no further, a wonderful selection is available.Also carriers to store your portfolio.
        However I have a friend who is very skilled in cake decorating , so she headed for the Range to find ....nothing! So the Craft section is brilliant, but also limited in range.
        My final comments are to do with the customer service. I am glad to say that my experience (truthfully) is BRILLIANT! A*
        1st example: I went in with my 10 year old granddaughter. She told me she had seen a sewing box in the Range Which she wanted to buy. When we went in we couldn't see it, so I headed for the nearest member of staff, a young girl. She looked up and down several aisles, couldn't find it, so went to ask another girl, they looked everywhere but then apologised as they couldn't locate it. I am ashamed to say that as we were leaving the store my granddaughter said she had remembered that she had actually seen it in Tesco's not the Range (she was correct)
        2nd example:I wanted some parcel tape, I asked an assistant as I couldn't see it, she also looked in a few aisles, then told me to stay while she went to ask her senior, she returned after a while carrying the tape I wanted which she had gone into the stock room to find.
        I was very impressed with both these examples, as the staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide good customer service, going the extra mile.
        So, in my opinion the Range whilst not perfect, from my point of view at least as a customer deserves a good review

        Comments

        Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          13.02.2014 20:05

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          Avoid. If you have issues nobody wants to know.

          We ordered a very nice bed off the range online. We Received it 2 months after we ordered it although in stock for the 2 months. When we eventually received it there were pieces missing. Online customer service team are none existent and never answer their phones. The emails I sent were not replied to and a month after delivery still haven't. Went In store but as I purchased online they could not help me. Rung customer service and they also could not help me, again because I purchased it online and had to ring the "online team". It was down to myself to ring the supplier, Julian Bowen who sent out the parts the next day. Avoid buying this or any large product online cause if you have any issues, good luck getting through to the "online" customer service team.

          I wrote this review against the product but it was rejected surprisingly.


          Weird how the "online" team can check through reviews but not check emails or answer their phones.

          Mr sebastian Mawdsley

          Order:- 10176918

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
        • More +
          10.02.2014 20:26
          5 Comments

          Advantages

          Disadvantages

          Buyer Beware!!

          My family and I have shopped at The Range for a good few years now. We purchased a hamster cage from their Scunthorpe store for our autistic son's Syrian Hamster that was part of his birthday present.
          That evening after taking great care to ensure the hamster was comfortable we went to bed. The next day the hamster was there and seemed happy, but the following day he had vanished.
          We searched everywhere but couldn't find him. There were no doors on the cage open and we came to the conclusion that it must have squeezed through one of the bars. Our son was very upset as you can imagine so for the next week my wife and I took turns to get up in the middle of the night to see if we could find it. This was fruitless and so we decided that the following weekend we would take the cage and receipt back to the store as 'Not fit for Purpose'. Please find an email that I sent to head office customer service and to CEO Chris Dawson. It should explain what happened next.

          Dear Sir,

           

          Further to my conversation with Danny today at Head Office Customer Service, please find as requested a true account of my experience today.

           

          My name is ---------------and I would like to tell you of my experience of your returns policy at The Range Scunthorpe. 

          Firstly please let me explain a bit about myself.

          I am mid forties, no tattoos or piercings, not that there is anything wrong with that and I like to think of myself as reserved and measured in my approach to life in general. I have served on our local parish council for a number of years and currently I Chair the premises committee on our local primary school board of governors.  

           

          Today my family and I had the misfortune to experience the sharp end of your returns policy. We have for a number of years called into both the Scunthorpe and Lincoln stores for our needs and maybe some sustenance and beverage from your fine restaurants. This is the first time we have ever tried to return an item.

           

          A week prior to this visit we had purchased a hamster cage from your pet department to house our 9 year old autistic sons new pet syrian hamster. The cost of this item was not of particular issue being only £14.99. 

          We helped our son fit the cage out with all the bits and pieces and put the hamster in his new home. This was on the Friday. The hamster was still in his cage on the Saturday but we did notice that he seemed to be paying quite a bit of attention to the corner of the cage. By Sunday the cage was empty. The doors were still all closed but somehow the hamster had escaped. We believe that where the hamster was showing interest the day before, the spacing between the bars is slightly wider and we believe that he must have somehow squeezed through. A true houdini indeed!

           

          Our son as you can imagine is distraught. My wife and I have for the last week been taking turns getting up in the middle of the night to see if we can find this hamster. There has as yet been no sign so has either made a dash for freedom, is expert at stealth operations, died, or currently chewing through the household wiring. Your guess is as good as mine.

           

          Anyway, we decided to take the not unreasonable step of returning the offending cage back to Scunthorpe with receipt in hand.

          The young man on the desk listened to our experience and seemed a bit torn as what to do. I pointed out the 'Sale & Supply of Goods Act 2002'and suggested that the item was 'Not fit for Purpose'. He decided to try to get a manager involved eventually returning to state that the manager decided that as the cage had been used they could do nothing with it and therefore would be ignoring the act and not giving a refund. This as you can probably imagine was not very helpful, so I suggested to the chap that maybe the manager could have the courtesy to actually take time to come and speak to his unhappy customers. 

          Eventually the manager arrived. Things were very cordial and my wife explained the problem again. The manager was as flummoxed as we were as to how the hamster had got out. He then reiterated that he wasn't going to do anything to rectify the situation. No apology for the lost hamster to our upset son or his disregard for the previously mentioned act of 2002. I then gave him another reminder of this act and he then tried to start arguing in front of my wife child and other customers the finer points of this legislation. I would like to add that it became absolutely apparent that he has very little grasp nor understanding of this act. By now I was a tad irked by his attitude and lack of remorse of any kind regarding the upset caused to our son or the upset to us having to wake at silly o'clock to check for the hamster, so I told him that just on principle I would chase this through the small claims proceedure. I then requested his name to which he replied John. I asked for his surname twice and on both occasions he refused. So by now i was very upset and frustrated at his attitude but mindful of customers around and also the fact my wife and child were also upset, I went up to him and very quietly told him that he obviously had something to f*c*ing hide to not want to give me his name. I returned back to my wife. My wife then very calmly asked him to reconsider?. He then replied to my wife who was very calm but upset that he can do whatever he wants and he is not going to refund and will now ban us not just from Scunthorpe but all The Range stores nationwide!  He was also now smiling and almost chuckling as he said it. I then politely asked him if he would like to join me outside to sort this out staggered by the lack of respect being shown. I will be the first to state that this was unforgivable, but he had managed to drag me down to this level. Now his next plan was to call the police. We waited patiently whilst he did this. I now had a very good measure of this chap so took it upon myself to stand next to him to ensure he didn't fabricate anything whilst talking on the phone. He scurried off. We then waited calmly and patiently for the police to arrive. I am guessing we probably waited around half an hour or more. During the wait I even joked to him when he returned regarding the time taken for the police to respond. He replied that if this had been Doncaster the police would have been there immediately!  

          The police eventually arrive and John, no surname runs out and talks to one of the officers. The officer then approaches me and asks me to join him outside in his van. I oblige. I would like to make clear at this point that neither myself nor my family have ever been on the wrong side of the law and both my wife and especially my son where very worried by me following this officer out to the van. 

          I explained to the chap exactly what had happened and the officer stated that my account was the same as John, I can do what I like no surnames. After running a check to ensure I havent got any history with the police he suggests that he go back in the store and aquires this managers surname to enable me to fire off a complaint to you. I agreed to this. The officer also indicated that he could absolutely see my issue.  Two minutes later he returns dumbfounded as your manager had refused to give the officer his surname!!! What is this guy hiding?? 

           

          Anyway, this whole experience has not only soured our view of The Range, but it has left us all personally upset especially our challenged son who doesn't understand any of this and got very frightened during this experience. 

           

          The money wasn't the issue. We are talking £15. Its the principle. The wasted afternoon, the 50 mile wasted round trip to return the item. The trauma caused to not just ourselves but more importantly our son. The lack of an apology for the loss of the hamster nor sympathetic handling of the issue. Nor any regard for us getting up in the middle of the night to try and find the hamster. I personally find that the sheer disregard for our integrity galling. The hamster escaping is by our own admission perplexing but all the same it happened. Your manager by not doing the correct thing has virtually implied we are lying.  I would imagine that you will hold a cctv record of this time consuming and upsetting incident. I would respectfully request that it is viewed to confirm my account. 

           

          If a hamster cage doesn't manage to contain a hamster, I hope that you will agree that it is not fit for purpose? 

           

           

          I trust this will be looked into and appropiate action taken? 

           

          Could you please also confirm the validity of our lifetime ban to all of your stores that your manager kindly awarded us with for having the gall trying to return a faulty item?

           

          Not wanting to sound belligerent but this won't particulary be an issue to us after today, we are just curious. 

           

          Best Regards

          Well nearly a week went by and I received this reply,

          Dear ---------------

           

          Thank you for your email received on the 3rd February 2014, regarding the Hamster Cage.

           

          I can confirm that all the details highlighted have been investigated, however in order for me to continue with my investigation I will require a copy of your proof of purchase or bank statement and photographs highlighting your concerns.

           

          Once I have received this information, I will happily look into the matter further for you.

           

          I look forward to hearing from you.

           

          Yours Sincerely

           

          Jordan Thomas

          Customer Service Team

          T: 01752 725595

          F: 01752 725570

          E: customerservice@therange.co.uk    

          I was gobsmacked, so I replied,

          Jordan,I think you may have missed the point somewhat.The receipt has already been presented to the store along with the cage and our concerns.I would have thought it would have been more important to address the issue of John, no surname and his attitude and actions on that day. Not to mention the upset caused to my wife and child as well as myself and the embarrassment of having to follow a police officer out to his van.If you feel that this isnt the more important issue, then please either get a customer service manager involved or even better, please forward the Chris Dawson or his secretary to deal with.
          Many Thanks

          Anyway, today I received a letter banning me from all The Range stores nationwide. It also stated that a copy would be sent to the local constabulary and if I set foot in any of their stores it will be treated as tresspass and I shall be committing a criminal offence. The letter went on to state that if I had any concerns that I should contact the 'Loss Prevention Dept'
          So in a state of increduality I took them up on their kind offer and was put through to Jordan Thomas. I asked him what was going on and here is a condensed version of our conversation,
          The store manager has the right to ban us from all stores and head office can't overide that decision.
          He has not reviewed the CCTV footage as yet, but I am banned anyway.
          I wouldn't get a reply from CEO Chris Dawson because he isn't 'Customer Facing'
          If I don't agree with the customer service rep Jordan Thomas, I can't complain any higher because his boss isn't 'Customer Facing'
          They decide if an item they sell is 'Fit for Purpose'. The customer has to decide if the Hamster Cage they sell is Fit for use by a Hamster.
          I left the conversation telling Jordan that I would now be contacting Trading Standards regarding their denial of the 'Sale of Goods Act 1979 and The Sale and Supply of Goods Act 2002' 'Not fit for Purpose and Not of Merchantable Quality'
          His reply was 'ok' but I wouldn't be hearing from them anymore.

          As I stated earlier, the money, though a refund would have been nice isn't the real issue here. What is the issue is the fact that there has been no apologies for the managers handling of the complaint. No apologies for the upset caused to my son or wife. The fact that I have never had any dealings with the police and now I find myself banned, not that that's a great loss but having my good name now on police record by way of the letter sent to them informing them of my nationwide ban.

          So please take this as a cautionary tale. I honestly thought this was a professional company. There handling of a genuine complaint has been anything but.
          A company run by a CEO Chris Dawson who won't take an interest in his long standing customers complaints.
          A inflexible and non caring customer service dept who have no respect for consumer law, who again have managers who don't speak to customers.
          A company who when faced with an item 'Not fit for Purpose' ban customers and smear their name to the local constabulary rather than do the honest, decent thing and apologise.

          Not ever has the phrase, 'Buyer beware' been more suited than to this shamble of a company.

          Comments

          Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            04.02.2014 17:20

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            I ordered a duvet set online that proved to be of poor quality so I followed their returns policy and emailed their customer services to arrange collection. They replied saying they would be happy to help and for me to provide a date the item could be collected; however, they did not collect the item and have since ignored all emails and do not seem to answer the telephone. This is online robbery. I will report to trading standards regarding this matter.

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments
          • More +
            02.02.2014 04:06

            Advantages

            Disadvantages

            Never trust the staff at the range instore and dont waste time online either....

            Well... what else is there to say... from other customers it seems going instore to buy an item can be no more entertaining than buying online... except the item we have purchased is only available online... well I know I wont be going face to face with the shop staff I suppose!
            So on the 14th January we (me and hubby) purchased a pine ottoman from the online store,paid by direct debit,and were excited that we had finally found the last piece of furniture to our bedroom and whole house decorating episode. BUT..... we are still waiting for it.... yes that's right... and we have no way of knowing whats going on,where our item is and how much longer we will have to wait...infact..we have now had to send them a letter via the post via recorded signed for postage at a cost to ourselves,to see if we may or may not get a response from them. And even that was advised by the guy from Trading Standards...
            The range have our money, we have a statement that shows they have taken it and an email from them on the 16th of January stating clearly they have taken it. On that same email it also states our item was dispatched and should be with us within 3-5 working days... fab...NOT!!!
            They have broken 2 laws under the sale of goods act, (don't want to say too much as to encourage them to rectify the situation, not that they will have time to read this with dealing with others, of course), but, I now have proof that I have complained, despite being told a standard issue letter will be sent to me disregarding the complaint and telling me I still have to send an email, alongside my other 2 emails, to the online email address, to which I have still had no response, or to call them on the web number...to which I have tried countless times,(I can remember the number in my head like a robot ive dialled it that many times!) yet no one answers and the darn thing automatically cuts off.... which im sure must please them...

            On the whole, I believe that despite giving them a deadline to deliver the goods, i will still have to go and claim my money bank trough my bank, and if no luck, through the courts. I would advise anyone to avoid the place, be it online or instore, as it seems im not the only one who has lost out, and been on the receiving end of a rude member of staff! I have used the store option a few times before now, but I wont even allow myself to travel the distance in fuel to deal with the staff... if they are anything like the guy, (Danny), who I spoke to on the "other number" that is supplied for shop customers,(even though that seemed pointless and proved useless).
            Either they have no one to answer the phones or reply to emails, or they just sit on there backsides reading the emails off frustrated customers and making a laughing stock of us,and knowing that the second they answer the phone they have a frustrated upset customer who just wants help and understanding... seems the range staff don't know how to do this and the MD chris dawson should be ashamed of the non existent service he has for those who helped him get where he is!

            THE ONLY REASON THIS HAS ONE STAR IS THE FACT I HAVE NO CHOICE SET BY THIS WEBSITE, ELSE IT BE NOUGHT!!

            Comments

            Login or register to add comments