Welcome! Log in or Register

100 Hits - Disco

  • image
£5.40 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Compilation / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2007-10-15 at 100 Hits

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.10.2009 14:10
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      pretty good

      These 100 hits series are usually pretty good value, obviously you get one hundred songs and five discs worth of good choices. Occasionally they like to surprise you by chucking in one or two suspect tracks, but on the whole, they are a worthy purchase for a little over five quid.

      The Disco package is off to a rousing start with the pacey 'Disco Inferno' by The Trammps. It has a fiery chorus and would certainly encourage me onto a dancefloor. Jacksons 'Blame It On The Boogie' is sweet enough, though recent exposure has kind of killed the song for me.

      Sister Sledge's overtly slinky 'Lost In Music' is what disco is all about for me. A freshy cool vocal and a set of beats which will eat away at your hips. I also adore the power and gutsy vocal of Chaka Khan who delivers a star turn on 'Aint' Nobody'. A wicked melody and a set of lyrics anyone can identify with.

      As we hit the second disc, be sure to dip into Odyssey's 'Use It Up' which is three minutes of glamourous and camp pop with a chorus which will make you want to launch into an aerobics routine. Also check out the amusing 'Instant Replay' by Dan Hartman, which has more pop leanings than outright disco.

      Disc three throws up quite a lot that I had never heard of, though do inspect 'Funkin' For Jamaica' which has a raw vocal and some real street appeal. I get the impression disc three will please the more seasoned disco fan, who can see beyond Chic, Earth Wind And Fire and Sister Sledge!

      There is a definite hint of cheese as we approach the other discs, as offerings from Boney M and The Weather Girls are aimed firmly at the commercial dancefloors. I am not keen on 'It's Raining Men' which has been overplayed and is also too long. Head to the soulful 'Hold Back The Night' by The Trammps, which has a casual and effortless vocal and oh so much charm! If you like this also try out the sexy 'Just A ouch Of Love' which is on a similar tip.

      This is a pretty strong hits package. Yes there are quite a lot you might not know towards the end and there is the feeling they were running out of bonefide hits, but for the price it's useful for parties.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Disco Inferno - Trammps
      2 Blame It On The Boogie - Jacksons
      3 Lost In Music - Sister Sledge
      4 Forget Me Nots - Rushen, Patrice
      5 Is It Love You're After - Rose Royce
      6 Le Freak - Chic
      7 Jump To The Beat - Lattisaw, Stacy
      8 This Is It - Moore, Melba
      9 Lady Marmalade - Labelle
      10 Give It Up - KC & The Sunshine Band
      11 Rock The Boat - Hues Corporation
      12 Relight My Fire - Hartman, Dan
      13 More More More - True, Andrea Connection
      14 Love Really Hurts Without You - Ocean, Billy
      15 Play That Funky Music - Wild Cherry
      16 Working My Way Back To You - Detroit Spinners
      17 Young Hearts Run Free - Staton, Candi
      18 Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now - McFadden & Whitehead
      19 Strut Your Funky Stuff - Frantique
      20 Ain't Nobody - Rufus & Chaka Khan

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Use It Up And Wear It Out - Odyssey (1)
      2 Everybody Dance - Chic
      3 Let's Groove - Earth Wind & Fire
      4 He's The Geatest Dancer - Sister Sledge
      5 It Makes You Feel Like Dancin' - Rose Royce
      6 My Simple Heart - Three Degrees
      7 Red Light Spells Danger - Ocean, Billy
      8 Encore - Lynn, Cheryl
      9 Boogie Nights - Heatwave (1)
      10 Instant Replay - Hartman, Dan
      11 Best Of My Love - Emotions (1)
      12 Pick Up The Pieces - Average White Band
      13 Love Come Down - King, Evelyn 'Champagne'
      14 Fate - Khan, Chaka
      15 Bourgie' Bourgie' - Knight, Gladys & The Pips
      16 #1 Dee Jay - Goody Goody
      17 Smack Dab In The Middle - McClain, Janice
      18 Weekend - Phreek (1)
      19 Dynamite - Lattisaw, Stacy
      20 Keep Your Body Workin' - Kleeer

      Disc #3 Tracklisting
      1 Funkin' For Jamaica - Browne, Tom
      2 Expansions - Smith, Lonnie Liston (1)
      3 Don't Let It Go To Your Head - Carn, Jean
      4 Nights Over Egypt - Jones Girls
      5 Risin' To The Top - Burke, Keni
      6 Groove - Franklin, Rodney
      7 You + Me = Love - Undisputed Truth
      8 Wear It Out - Starguard
      9 When You Wake Up Tomorrow - Wansel, Dexter
      10 Life On Mars - Wansel, Dexter
      11 I Shoulda Loved Ya - Walden, Narada Michael
      12 Ain't No Time Fa Nothing - Futures
      13 Let's Clean Up The Ghetto - Philadelphia International All Stars
      14 Disco Nights - GQ
      15 You Know How To Love Me - Hyman, Phyllis
      16 Got To Be Real - Lynn, Cheryl
      17 Gangsters Of The Groove - Heatwave (1)
      18 I'll Always Love My Mama - Intruders
      19 Tonight's The Night (Good Time) - Kleeer
      20 TSOP (The Sound Of Philadelphia) - MFSB

      Disc #4 Tracklisting
      1 Daddy Cool - Boney M
      2 Keep On Dancin' - Gary's Gang
      3 I Love To Love - Charles, Tina
      4 Yes Sir I Can Boogie - Baccara
      5 Disco Lady - Taylor, Johnnie (1)
      6 Whistle Bump - Deodato
      7 Now Do U Wanta Dance - Graham Central Station
      8 Lean On Me - Club Nouveau
      9 Feel So Real - Arrington, Steve
      10 I Can't Wait - Nu Shooz
      11 Turn It Up - Conway Brothers
      12 Rumors - Timex Social Club
      13 Wikka Wrap - Evasions
      14 Magic Fly - Space (1)
      15 I Can't Stand The Rain - Eruption (1)
      16 Put Our Heads Together - O'Jays
      17 Give Me The Reason - Vandross, Luther
      18 It's In His Kiss - Lewis, Linda (1)
      19 It's Raining Men - Weather Girls
      20 Kissin' In The Back Row Of The Movies - Drifters (1)

      Disc #5 Tracklisting
      1 It's A Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop) - Isley Brothers
      2 Native New Yorker - Odyssey (1)
      3 Love I Lost - Melvin, Harold & The Blue Notes
      4 Baby Don't Change Your Mind - Knight, Gladys & The Pips
      5 Family Affair - Sly & The Family Stone
      6 Hold Back The Night - Trammps
      7 Was That All It Was - Carn, Jean
      8 See You When I Git There - Rawls, Lou
      9 Bring The Family Back - Paul, Billy (1)
      10 Just A Touch Of Love - Slave (1)
      11 Keep The Fire Burning - McCrae, Gwen
      12 Searching - Change (1)
      13 Runner - Three Degrees
      14 Automatic - Pointer Sisters
      15 Shame - King, Evelyn 'Champagne'
      16 Mysteries Of The World - MFSB
      17 You Can't Have My Love - Jones Girls
      18 Hold Me Tighter In The Rain - Griffin, Billy
      19 Jam Jam Jam (All Night Long) - People's Choice
      20 Love Train - O'Jays

    Products you might be interested in