Welcome! Log in or Register

12"/80's Vol.2

  • image
£84.53 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop - Dance Pop / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2005-06-27 at U.M.T.V.

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.09.2009 23:29
      Very helpful




      I continue delving into the eighties with this CD, offering up more extended versions of some of the more memorable moments from the decade. The CD is spread over three discs and comprises 35 tracks.

      On the first disc, be sure to dip into Heaven 17, where disco and pop hit you with some full on swagger. Heaven 17 always had the ability to sound posh without being pretentious. The manly lead vocals will sweep you off your feet and the melody is dancefloor friendly enough. On a similar keel, the Human League were doing great things for pop music. The balance of Phil's vocals against the softer female input from the two girls allows the songs to take on an exciting lease of life. Their ability to juggle poignant lyrics with killer synths cemented their appeal further.

      I am not sure Hue and Cry lends itself to being extended, though the soulful vocals are always a treat. 'Labour Of Love' is a fine pop gem and very rewarding on the chorus.

      Talk Talk's 'Life's What You Make It' has creepy synth work and a bleak feel but it pulls you in and makes you want to hear more thanks to the enveloping melody.

      As you hit disc two, be sure to dip into the amazing 'Love Comes Quickly,' which finds Pet Shop Boys on top form. The gentle vocals from Tennant capture the essence of falling in love while Lowe's considered synths work their magic effectively in the background.

      Not so fond of 'Two Tribes.' Frankie Goes To Hollywood were overhyped and overplayed and the song is too laboured. Do check out Echo and The Bunnymen for a slice of some sophisticated pop rock with edge.

      Disc three next, my picks here are The Style Council who conjure up some wonderful warm vibes with 'Long Hot Summer' and at the other end of the scale, some Carribean summer vibes come courtesy of Kid Creole.

      There are some odd tracks on here that you might not have thought would be the first choice for the album, but the rarities add to the charm.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Simple Minds
    2 Heaven 17
    3 The Human League
    4 Hue & Cry
    5 Pigbag
    6 Associates
    7 ABC
    8 INXS
    9 Belouis Some
    10 Lloyd Cole
    11 Talk Talk
    12 Visage

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Pet Shop Boys
    2 Duran Duran
    3 Frankie Goes To Hollywood
    4 Spandau Ballet
    5 Thompson Twins
    6 Soft Cell
    7 Altered Images
    8 Siouxsie & The Banshees
    9 Julian Cope
    10 Tears For Fears
    11 That Petrol Emotion
    12 Echo & The Bunnymen

    Disc #3 Tracklisting
    1 Aztec Camera - Oblivious
    2 Haircut 100 - Favourite
    3 Culture Club - I'll Tumble 4 Ya
    4 Style Council - Long Hot Summer
    5 Swansay - Soul Tain
    6 Sly & Robbie (Feat.Shinehead - Boops 9Here To Go)
    7 Tom Tom Club - Genius Of Love
    8 Kid Creole - Annie I'm Not Your Daddy
    9 Animal Nightlife - Mr Solitaire
    10 Harold Faltermeyer - Axel F
    11 Yello - The Race

Products you might be interested in