Welcome! Log in or Register

12" 80s Love

  • image
£10.75 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2008-01-28 at UMTV

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.09.2009 00:26
      Very helpful



      great stuff

      Spreading some eighties love aye. The eighties is one of my favourite decades for music, thanks to the rise of acts like Duran Duran and Kylie. It was also a time for glamour, decadence and overkill. This album gathers some of the biggest hits from that era and spreads them over three discs. There are 35 tracks in total, most exist here in full twelve inch versions.

      Paul Young is always a force to be reckoned with thanks to his dulcet tones and ability to draw emotion out of every word he sings. 'Wherever I Lay My Hat' is wrought with sincerity and warmth. Phyllis Nelson achieves a similar feel in 'Move Closer' which conjures up images of romancing someone special by an open log fire in winter.

      Dee C Lee invites us to 'See The Day' and the song has a quaint charm about it, which was lacking in the Girls Aloud cover version. My choice pick off disc one is Kool and the Gang's 'Cherish' which is part gospel and part pop, but such an affirming chorus and such radiance in their vocals.

      Disc two throws up a long mix of 'Nikita' by Elton John. a touching ballad with quite complex lyrics. Did you know it was about a man? I also adore Mica Paris, whose rich velvet like voice oozes soul and passion, she can melt away troubles in an insant.

      Sam Brown's growly voice really cuts through with some bite as she snarls with bittersweet tears in her eyes on 'Stop,' quite a showstopper.

      Onto the third disc, where Rufus & Chaka Khan's disco fuelled 'Ain't Nobody' really gets you into a groove, if you like that then be sure to listen to Joyce Sims, another classy disco track with smooth soulful vocals selling it.

      Sister Sledge turn in the slinky 'Thinking Of You' which benefits from a long mix, while a lesser known ballad from Ray Parker Junior rounds off a pleasing and soulful third disc. This is a decent CD package and worth checking out if you like your eighties stuff.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Paul Young - Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home) (Extended Version)
      2 The Style Council - You're the Best Thing (Long Version)
      3 Phyllis Nelson - Move Closer (New Mix)
      4 Dee C Lee - See the Day (12" Mix)
      5 ABC - All Of My Heart (Full Version)
      6 Howard Jones - What is Love? (Extended Version)
      7 Simple Minds - Someone, Somewhere In Summertime (Full Version)
      8 Tears for Fears - Head Over Heels (Full Version)
      9 Soft Cell - Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (Extended Version)
      10 Champaign - How `Bout Us (12" Mix)
      11 Kool And The Gang - Cherish (Remix)
      12 Jeffrey Osborne - Stay With Me Tonight (Extended Remix Version)

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Frankie Goes To Hollywood - The Power Of Love (12" Mix)
      2 Elton John - Nikita (Extended Version)
      3 Roxette - Listen to Your Heart (Extended Version)
      4 Steve Winwood - Higher Love (Remix)
      5 Dan Hartman - I Can Dream About You (12" Mix)
      6 Level 42 - Leaving me now (Extended Version)
      7 Mica Paris - My One Temptation (Full Mix)
      8 Sam Brown - Stop (Long Version)
      9 Lloyd Cole & the Commotions - Forest Fire (Extended Version)
      10 Art of Noise - Moments in Love
      11 Joe Jackson - Steppin' Out (Full Length Version)

      Disc #3 Tracklisting
      1 Rufus & Chaka Khan - Ain't Nobody (Full Version)
      2 Barry White - Never Never Gonna Give You Up (Paul Hardcastle Mammoth Mix)
      3 Joyce Sims - Come into My Life (12" Mix)
      4 Sister Sledge - Thinking of You (12" Mix)
      5 Jermaine Jackson - Serious (Full Version)
      6 Cameo - Candy (Remix)
      7 Gap Band - Outstanding (12" Mix)
      8 Stephanie Mills - Never Knew Love Like This Before (Extended MIx)
      9 Atlantic Starr - Secret Lovers (Extended Mix)
      10 Rene & Angela - I'll Be Good (Extended Mix)
      11 Windjammer - Tossing and Turning (12" Mix)
      12 Ray Parker Jr - I Don't Think that Man Should Sleep Alone (Full Version)

    Products you might be interested in