Welcome! Log in or Register

'64-'95 - Lemon Jelly

  • image
£0.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Lemon Jelly / Audio CD released 2005-01-31 at XL Recordings

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.02.2012 18:42
      Very helpful



      Still very clever sampling in a new way - for any open minded dance/break beat fan

      The arrangement of samples and rhythmic backgrounds has a faster and more powerful tone compared to it's predecessors - K.Y. E.P. & Lost Horizons.

      1. Come down on Me - The welcome to the album starts with a very mellow background, an older gentleman talking, sampled from a conversation taken about the war and times gone by. Then explodes into drums and guitar to wake you up. A constant drum beat rhythm using electronic keyboards and on the chorus, vocals which have a similarity to John Lydon of Sex Pistols and Public Image Ltd fame.

      2. Only time - Once again a relaxing start with tranquil notes, then onto a slightly upbeat samba style. A clever use of slowing a sampled voice right down, ironically which is always saying 'If I only had time' - which is the reason for the extra slow vocal.

      3. Don't stop now - More slowed down sounds this time using the very popular club track from a few years ago, Atlantic Ocean - Waterfalls, with a repeated whispered/echo effect voice saying 'Don't stop now'.

      4.Make things right - Vocals on a loop here are from Terri Walker and the soulful sounds from 'Before you walk out of my life'. With a therapeutic acoustic guitar throughout , lively bass and happy melody.

      5. Shouty track - A scream begins, then the continuous guitar riff from a track called 'Horror show' by Scars. Then the rather pleasant voice 'OK then' 'OK!' - (see the Lemon Jelly 64 - 95 DVD to watch the animation that fits perfectly, in a dark way on there).

      6. Stay with you - You will recognise this vocal sample as soon as the chorus starts, from the 70's song by Gallagher & Lyle - 'I want to stay with you' blended with a dreamy tempo.

      7. The slow train - A male harmonious choir mixed with a pulsating groove, which literally rides along. Slowing and speeding in splendour with the waves of the singing.

      8. A man like me - Ralph Tresvant - Sexuality, do you remember this? He was a member of New Edition in the 80's, which solo artist Bobby Brown was also in. This track is the main stream running through the percussive dance components here.

      9. Go - My favourite track on the whole album. 'Go' a low shrill voice echoes on your speakers or so it is portrayed. It is actually William Shatner's voice, surprisingly. He tells a tale of travel and lists places he has been. From the violin background to the electronic jazz keyboard, mixed with techno pounds and fantastic bass line consistently abundant. A silent pause for a couple of seconds, then a perfect finale
      of rocking guitars and poignant words.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details


Products you might be interested in