Welcome! Log in or Register

7 Worlds Collide: Live At The St. James - Neil Finn

  • image
£9.10 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Neil Finn / Live / Audio CD released 2001-11-26 at Parlophone

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.02.2003 23:21
      Very helpful



      I have a natural suspicion of live recordings. They always give me the impression that the cool kids had a party and I was not invited. I hate the audience participation that you can't quite hear. I hate the fact that stuff happens on stage that is cut or rendered incomprehensible on the CD. However, Neil Finn and friends: 'Seven Worlds Collide' is a diamond in the rough. Where else would you hear Jonny Marr (The Smiths), Bic Runga (American Pie Soundtrack and a brilliant songsmith), The Brothers Finn, and Ed O'Brien (Radiohead) play the Smith's classic 'There is a light'? Certainly this rendition is far superior to the one I heard Morrisey perform at The Albert Hall in 2002. The rendition of 'Don't Dream It's Over' is stock Neil Finn material and more sincere than the contrived studio recordings Crowded House previously made. The final track 'Weather With You' is again, beautifully played by the ensemble. The song stands as a popular national anthem for many New Zealanders and is at once reflective, uplifting and innocent - suffice to say, its bloody good. However, this album is a useful and comfortable introduction to some of Neil Finn's later work from the albums 'Try Whistling This' and 'One Nil'. Neither album quite matches the inspired Crowded House albums 'Woodface' and 'Together Alone' but still proves that Finn is a capable composer. However, having heard this album I am convinced that Finn is best live - as an accomplished and touching musician. This is an excellent CD which celebrates sincere musicianship - past and present, and best of all it is also available on DVD.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Anytime
      2 Take A Walk
      3 Climber
      4 Loose Tongue
      5 Down On The Corner
      6 There Is A Light
      7 Paper Doll
      8 Turn And Run
      9 Angels Heap
      10 Edible Flowers
      11 Stuff And Nonsense
      12 I See Red
      13 She Will Have Her Way
      14 Parting Way
      15 Weather With You
      16 Paradise (Wherever You Are)
      17 Don't Dream It's Ove

    Products you might be interested in