Welcome! Log in or Register

A Brief History Of Love - The Big Pink

  • image
£3.99 Best Offer by: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/oxfam-unwrapped See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: The Big Pink / CD / Audio CD released 2009-09-14 at 4AD

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.05.2010 01:11
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      The Big Pink's 1980s influenced sound is highly successful on their debut long player.

      I saw The Big Pink live earlier this year during the NME Shockwaves tour. They were the second act on after The Drums and before The Bombay Bicycle Club and The Maccabees. Unfortunately they only played 6 songs but they impressed me.

      The Big Pink are London based Robbie Furze and Milo Cordell. Furze played guitar for a band called Alec Empire while Cordell (brother of the late Tarko Cordell had previously released records on his own label (Merok) before forming The Big Pink with Furze in 2007.

      The band are supported by Akiko Matsuura, Leopold Ross and Adam Prendergast. They released their debut single Too Young To Love in October 2008 (which was limited to 500 copies on 7" vinyl).A Brief History Of Love was released in the UK on 14th September 2009. It was produced by the band at the Electric Lady Studios in New York City and mixed by Rick Costey.

      The Big Pink's music has been described as "electronic noise rock with a pop twist". Apparently their influences include My Bloody Valentine and Phil Spector.

      Opening track Crystal Visions has an ambient feel to it and tons of atmosphere.

      The seriously appealing percussion on Too Young To Love carries the song along magnificently and the line "Oooh, never again" will stay in your head for days.

      You'll probably recognise Dominos because it was used in an advert. The tune reminds me of a song on the Pink Floyd album The Wall. I think that line, "These girls fall like dominos" is quite brilliant. Dominos reached #27 in the UK singles chart and was named as the best track at the NME awards in February 2010.

      Love In Vain sounds a bit like a song Soft Cell never got round to recording and At War With The Sun is one of the album's high points. Its sound takes me back to the 80s and the likes of Depeche Mode, B-Movie etc. Furze reminded me of Andy McCluskey from OMD when I saw him play this song on tour. There's lots of handclaps thrown in there alongside dream like keyboards/synths.

      Velvet is another very good track with a memorable chorus. If I close my eyes when listening to this amazing song I can imagine being back in the 1980s again. "These arms of mine don't mind who they hold" sings Robbie McCluskey, I mean Furze.

      The start of Golden Pendulum sounds like an air raid siren going off. Like the opening track it's got an ambient feel to it while Frisk has got pleasant backing harmonies and another excellent chorus, "If this is love" etc.

      The title track has got a female sharing some of the vocal duties , a little bit like Marc Almond and Cindi Ecstacy during Torch? I can just imagine the crowd swaying from side to side to this one. Tonight sticks to the same formula as before but has a more edgy feel to it.

      Count Backwards From Ten ends the album on a high note. There are some nice female backing harmonies, fuzzy guitar and pounding percussion. "I rebel" proclaims Robbie who appears to out of luck with his love life.

      A Brief History Of Love then is a highly impressive debut album, Believe the hype.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Crystal Visions
      2 Too Young To Love
      3 Dominos
      4 Love In Vain
      5 At War With The Sun
      6 Velvet
      7 Golden Pendulum
      8 Frisk
      9 A Brief History of Love
      10 Tonight
      11 Countbackwards From Ten

    Products you might be interested in