Welcome! Log in or Register

A Time Of Changes-phase 1 - Blitzkrieg

  • image
£89.71 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Blitzkrieg / Import / Audio CD released 2003-03-18 at Castle

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      17.09.2008 13:14
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A must have!

      A Time of Changes - Phase 1 is an album by the NWOBHM band from that well known hot pot of talent that is Leicester (ahem) - Blitzkrieg. Despite setting up shop in 1980, it took them ages to get themselves together and releasetheir first album which is this one and was released in 1985, originally planned for release in 1981.

      It's an interesting album, starting off with an instrumental track "Ragnarok" which is a moody electronic track but soon gets boring.

      Moving on to the very catchy "inferno", the vocals have a relaxed and cool almost surf rock quality to them whilst also showing off a bit of Sweet Savage or early Metallica at the same time. In fact Metallica covered the 3rd track "Blitzkrieg" on their 1984 EP "Creeping Death", the original Blitzkrieg version has sludgier riffs and more of a punky sound to it.

      Pull the Trigger shows off Brian Ross's vocals again which I believe to be rather unique as it sounds like a cool slightly metal quirky version of Sting singing which fits in well with the well-timed slow bluesy metal that is produced by the band and the stylish but slightly cheesy lyrics.

      Armageddon on the other hand is fast with hard drumming, constant plucking of the bass at the beginning and then finishes off with guitar and vocal solos (the latter which are rather high!), the song is a bit of a journey and at 6 minutes could be considered quite progressive too for it doesn't repeat itself too much.

      Hell to Pay is slow but upbeat in the same way a lot of Danzig songs are and slightly doomy with some excellent guitar solos, the vocals once again are excellent. In fact I think this is my favourite track on the album.

      Vikings is an acoustic track which is slow and moody, about vikings and generally a bit of a let down for the first 2 minutes before improving with some fast catchy riffs but looks dire compared to the other songs on the album.

      A Time of Changes, seems to have a slight Egyptian theme to the guitar riffs and the vocals are rather gothic, the song is catchy and rather good to dance to.

      Saviour - fast and with a punky sound to it, Brian Ross once again belts it out and really shows off his vocal range. Fun but the music itself is quite similar to other songs of the era.

      Overall an excellent enjoyable album, excellent guitar solos and a more unique sound than some NWOBHM bands, experimenting with softer gothic sounds as well as electronic noises at times.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Ragnarok [Instrumental Inferno]
      2 Inferno
      3 Blitzkrieg
      4 Pull the Trigger
      5 Armageddon
      6 Take a Look Around
      7 Hell to Pay
      8 Vikings
      9 Time of Changes
      10 Saviour
      11 Blitzkrieg [Demo Version]
      12 Inferno [Demo Version]
      13 Armageddon [Demo Version]
      14 Buried Alive
      15 Blitzkrieg
      16 Inferno

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Intro
      2 Inferno
      3 Take a Look Around
      4 Armageddon
      5 Blitzkrieg
      6 Highway Star
      7 Saviour
      8 Calming the Savage Beast [#]
      9 Santa [#]
      10 Buried Alive [#]
      11 Vikings [#]
      12 Too Wild to Tame [#]
      13 Hell to Pay [#]
      14 Time of Changes [#]
      15 Toccata [#]
      16 Sweeney/Rock and Roll [#]

    Products you might be interested in