Welcome! Log in or Register

A Trip To Marineville - Swell Maps

  • image
£8.85 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Post-rock / Artist: Swell Maps / Audio CD released 1993-12-31 at Mute

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      13.12.2008 13:48
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Well worth a listen

      A Trip to Marineville is the Swell Maps debut album released back in 1979, the album is hit and miss but there is underlying geniusness! Whilst they didn't really make a big impact when it comes to commercial success, they made some pretty cool songs and had inspired future generations of bands - Sonic Youth for instance.

      The Swell Maps have slightly muffled tracks on this album which aren't particularly well produced but this is punk and I don't think it needs to be too refined.

      The drum rolls are there, the guitar playing is sound and the vocalist uses a mixture of Johnny Rotten's voice and Sylvain Sylvain, whilst being as good as neither - at least he has good taste! Whilst tracks like Spitfire Parade and Vertical Slum may show the band in a fast Sex Pistols like style of punk or even pre-punk, plenty of other tracks show a more artistic, alternative side to them more similar to Wire or PIL - Harmony in Your Bathroom, Gunboats and Blam!!! are good examples of this particular style.

      A downside is that they have a few experimental tracks that are just a bit too short and don't really materialise - laughter and the like - tracks like Turn Me on Dead Man or Shoot The Angels but despite a few let downs The Swell Maps intrigue me and I'm definitely intending to check out their later LP Jane from Occupied Europe.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 HS Art
      2 Another Song
      3 Vertical Slum
      4 Spitfire Parade
      5 Harmony In Your Bathroom
      6 Don't Throw Ashtrays At Me
      7 Midget Submarines
      8 Bridge Head
      9 Full Moon In My Pocket
      10 Blam
      11 Full Moon Reprise
      12 Gunboats
      13 Adventuring Into Basketry
      14 My Little Shops
      15 Ripped And Torn
      16 International Rescue
      17 Loin Of The Surf
      18 Shoot The Angels
      19 Elephant Flowers
      20 Turn Me On Dead Man
      21 Bronze And Baby Shoes
      22 Nevertoseeanotherway

    Products you might be interested in