Welcome! Log in or Register

Abbacadabra - We Love Abba

  • image
£4.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2008-08-11 at Almighty

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.10.2009 15:22
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      not bad

      We love Abba don't we? Don't we? I am more into them now than I was before 'Mamma Mia' came out, though I wouldn't say I am a die hard fan. The Almighty camp have come up with this offering, a three disc set bursting with Abba cover versions by Abbacadabra. Not sure what the group looks like, but I think that might be them on the sleeve. They specialise in dancefloor friendly remakes of old Abba songs. Simple formula but does it work?

      'Dancing Queen' is sprightly and keen and the vocals sound fresh enough, it is a lot pacier than the original and the production on this is not bad, a promising start to the album. 'Knowing Me Knowing You' is delivered well too, with sparkly bells and synths and all the right level of sentiment in the vocals. I quite enjoyed this one and would probably play it if I was in a party mood.

      Some lesser known ones like 'Under Attack' mean they cover all bases and we don't just get the predictable ones. I think this one is handled well too, though I am not overly familiar with the original. 'Fernando' does not translate so well into a dance version, coming across as a bit vapid, and middling.

      'Take A Chance On Me' has already been done by Erasure, who I think did it better, but this version is dainty enough and there are some pleasant backing vocals. One of my faves is 'Honey Honey' and this is given a twist with a bouncy bassline and whimsical sounding vocals, it calls to mind 'I Feel Love' by Donna Summer with the bass hook. As it closes on 'The Day Before You Came' I was actually quite impressed with what this album had to offer. It does not capture the spirit of the real Abba, but the covers are all competent and well produced and the vocals are strong throughout. Plus, there are twenty four songs and also a bonus megamix disc, so you get a lot for under a tenner.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Dancing Queen
      2 If It Wasn't For The Nights
      3 Knowing Me Knowing You
      4 Just Like That
      5 Under Attack
      6 Fernando
      7 Winner Takes It All
      8 Take A Chance On Me
      9 Angeleyes
      10 Summer Night City
      11 Mamma Mia
      12 On And On And On

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Voulez Vous
      2 Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight)
      3 SOS
      4 Lay All Your Love On Me
      5 Visitors
      6 Honey Honey
      7 Waterloo
      8 Name Of The Game
      9 Super Trouper
      10 Money Money Money
      11 Eagle
      12 Day Before You Came

      Disc #3 Tracklisting
      1 Dancing Queen
      2 If It Wasn't For The Nights
      3 Eagle
      4 Just Like That
      5 Knowing Me Knowing You
      6 Under Attack
      7 Take A Chance On Me
      8 Winner Takes It All
      9 Voulez Vous
      10 Angeleyes
      11 Wrap Your Arms Around Me
      12 On And On And On
      13 Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight)
      14 Summer Night City
      15 Honey Honey
      16 SOS
      17 Lay All Your Love On Me
      18 Visitors
      19 Name Of The Game
      20 Mamma Mia

    Products you might be interested in