Welcome! Log in or Register

Actions - My Awesome Compilation

  • image
£0.69 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Artist: My Awesome Compilation / Audio CD released 2005-08-08 at Sore Point

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      13.01.2009 20:04
      Very helpful



      My Awesome Compilation bring the fun back to British music..

      A brilliant nugget of a record, My Awesome Compilation's (MAC from now on in) 2005 release 'Actions' was a breath of fresh air, with keyboard-driven tunes, polished production values provided by Hundred Reasons' Larry Hibbitt and a singer who for once wasn't afraid of sounding English!

      The rise to the top (or what passes for it when British bands sign to relatively small record labels) wasn't easy and the group played in the region of 200 gigs before recording this, their debut album. They've also recorded a split release with the chart-topping Fallout Boy and have a new album due to come out this year.

      While their poppy slices of alternative rock are decidedly satisfying, I can't help but feel that there's a limited appetite among the record buying public for this sort of sound. At a push (and I'm sorry for this guys), they could be described as Ben Folds Five meets Blink 182 with English accents. They're affable individuals and have great enthusiasm for their music, but there isn't a surfeit of amazing songs on the record.

      'You Need Discipline', 'Put Up a Fight', 'Gave you Everything', 'Actions' and 'As Always' are brilliant, hummable and will stick in the memory - everything that's good about British alternative music.

      My only fear is that they now have two choices - go down the 'Americanised' route of guitar-driven pop punk, or fade into the relative obscurity of other British bands whose rise to fame was paralleled only by their fall into relative obscurity. Hundred Reasons, anyone? In retrospect, the album's producer seems almost ironically placed - let's hope he guides his young charges towards a future that's a little more successful than his own band..


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 You Need Discipline
    2 Put Up A Fight
    3 Gave You Everything
    4 Set To Go
    5 What You Do
    6 Actions
    7 Longshot
    8 Sirens
    9 As Always
    10 Asking For Trouble
    11 Awake

Products you might be interested in