Welcome! Log in or Register

Age Of Quarrel - Cro-Mags

  • image
£116.69 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Punk / Artist: Cro-Mags / Audio CD released 1994-09-15 at Another Planet

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      22.01.2012 22:28
      Very helpful



      High energy music

      Age of Quarrel is the 1st album by the New York hardcore outfit Cro-Mags, the original was released in 1986 but the more common version to find is the one released in 1994 on the label Another Planet which also comes with the band's second album Best Wishes attached to it providing a pretty interesting contrast.

      If you like punk/hardcore and a bit of thrash metal as well then the Cro-Mags is definitely a band for you, the first 15 tracks are mostly short bursts of energetic power, the last 8 are considerably longer as they were written 2 years later in 1988 when the band had entered the crossover scene. Likewise both parts of the album have different singers, the first part is sung by John Joseph and the second by bass player Harley Flanagan after John Joseph had left the band

      Flanagan is an interesting character, having released a book on poetry at the age of 9 with non other than family friend Alan Ginsberg writing a foreword for it, he was already drumming with The Stimulators by the age of 12 and his lyric writing is one of the things that sets the band apart from other hardcore acts, unless you're a big hardcore fan then you might even say the lyrics deserve better singing.

      The band lay down great riff after riff and Doug Holland has a pretty recognisable sound that almost gives the guitar playing a bit of a tinny feel at times, probably using cheap guitars I imagine! The production is pretty poor but the music is rather raw so it's not a big issue, it's not really an album to sing a long too either but if you want something with the heavy riffs of Metallica but with the pace and vocals of Black Flag then you'll love this. Unfortunately it's not particularly cheap but it's easier to come by than most of the Cro Mags albums!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 We Gotta Know
    2 World Peace
    3 Show You No Mercy
    4 Malfunction
    5 Street Justice
    6 Survival Of The Streets
    7 Seekers Of The Truth
    8 It's The Limit
    9 Hard Times
    10 By Myself
    11 Don't Tread On Me
    12 Face The Facts
    13 Do Unto Others
    14 Life Of My Own
    15 Signs Of The Times
    16 Death Camps
    17 Days Of Confusion
    18 The Only One
    19 Down, But Not Out
    20 Crush The Demoniac
    21 Fugitive
    22 Then & Now
    23 Age Of Quarrel

Products you might be interested in