Welcome! Log in or Register

Almighty Presents: NRG Anthems Vol.2

  • image
£24.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Various / Audio CD released 2009-08-03 at Almighty Records

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      27.09.2009 18:14
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      not bad

      Now I am sure the artwork will have you flocking to buy a copy of this. Five sailors, three with their tops off, engaging in a very friendly game of sorts. There appears to be a bit of touching going on too. Totally unrealistic portrayal of what real sailors do of course!

      There are fourteen tracks on here and a fifteen minute drive-time megamix on the second disc. We kick off with the huge anthem 'High Energy' by Evelyn Thomas. The song is a tour de force, with a proud and assertive vocal and plenty of gusto in the melody. Complete with satisfying synth riffs which seem to borrow from Pet Shop Boys and Erasure, it's a right old romp.

      'Rofo's Theme' brings up images of crusing American discos in 1986 with moustached men in leathers. The song is tacky and naff but is also quite pleasing in a sad way. Head to the more mellow Diana Ross track, ' Surrender' has a dependable vocal and a soulful twist for the more refined dancefloors.

      'Love Eviction' boasts a growly vocal full of attitude and grit. It is the kind of track you should play when you're though with an ex. I love the dark synths on this, which give it a ghoulish air, great bassline too.

      Stalwart Jimmy Sommerville turns in a neat vocal on 'Why.' Jimmy has a superb vocal range and this really showcases why he has been imitated so many times, a stunning build to the lavish chorus raises the tension and will have you screaming for more as he shrills with glee.

      The megamix on the second disc uses the same tracks and blends them seamlessly. This album might only please fans of handbag house, but there are enough gems on it to thrill me for a few minutes.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Evelyn Thomas - High Energy (Almighty Definitive Radio Edit)
      2 Infinity - Rofo's Theme (Castro Boy Radio Edit)
      3 Diana Ross - Surrender (Almighty 12" Anthem Mix)
      4 Almighty Vs. Belle & Dusty - Passion (Almighty Anthem Radio Edit)
      5 Almighty Divas - Can't Live (Almighty Definitive Radio Edit)
      6 Quartzlock - Love Eviction (Dancing Divaz Club Mix)
      7 Obsession - Love Pains (Almighty Definitive Radio Edit)
      8 Sheryl Lee Ralph - In the evening (Almighty Definitive Radio Edit)
      9 Angie Gold - Eat You Up (Almighty 12" Definitive Radio Edit)
      10 Pamala Stanley - I don't Wanna Talk about It (Almighty 12" Definitive Mix)
      11 Jimmy Somerville - Why (Almighty Essential Radio Edit)
      12 Diana Ross - Touch Me In The Morning (Almighty 12" Definitive Radio Edit)
      13 Eria Fachin - Savin' Myself (Almighty Essential Radio Edit)
      14 Linda Taylor - Love In The Shadows (Almighty 12" Definitive Mix)
      15 DISC 2 - Drive Time Non-Stop Mix

    Products you might be interested in