Welcome! Log in or Register

Awaken The Guardian (cd+dvd) - Fates Warning

  • image
£8.45 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Fates Warning / CD+DVD / Audio CD released 2007-01-01 at METALBLADE

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      08.07.2008 20:51
      Very helpful



      Fates Warning's third album (1986).

      Fates Warning were one of the forefathers of progressive metal in the eighties, and 'Awaken the Guardian' catches them at a time when their sound was still distinctly rooted in the 1980s heavy metal sound, albeit with a focus on experimentation. The sound is comparable to Iron Maiden around that time, with the even more extreme vocals of John Arch carrying off some impressive and very high melodies that will doubtless repel as many listeners as they attract.

      Unusual time signatures keep listeners on their toes, but unfortunately the album fails to be gripping all the way through, and becomes fairly repetitive by the half-way point. Some songs stand out for various reasons, from the melodic vocals of 'Fata Morgana' to the acoustic introduction of 'Guardian' and the distinctly Maidenesque finale 'Exodus' that sounds a more complex version of that other band's epic finales such as 'To Tame a Land,' but prog metal fans approaching this album through the praise of its die-hard fans may leave slightly disappointed.

      1. The Sorceress
      2. Valley of the Dolls
      3. Fata Morgana
      4. Guardian
      5. Prelude to Ruin
      6. Giant's Lore (Heart of Winter)
      7. Time Long Past
      8. Exodus


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Sorceress
    2 Valley Of The Dolls
    3 Fata Morgana
    4 Guardian
    5 Prelude To Ruin
    6 Giants Of Lore (Heart Of Winter)
    7 Time Long Past
    8 Exodus

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Sorceress
    2 Valley Of The Dolls
    3 Prelude To Ruin
    4 Fata Morgana
    5 Damnation
    6 Apparition
    7 Sorceress
    8 Guardian
    9 Die Young

    Disc #3 Tracklisting
    1 Valley Of The Dolls
    2 Pirates Of The Underground
    3 Orphan Gypsy
    4 Fata Morgana
    5 Traveler In Time
    6 Sorceress
    7 Guardian
    8 Prelude To Ruin
    9 Damnation
    10 Apparition
    11 Die Young
    12 Kiss Of Death

Products you might be interested in