Welcome! Log in or Register

Bangarang - Skrillex

  • image
£80.76 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Skrillex / EP / Audio CD released 2012-02-13 at ATLANTIC

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      29.03.2012 18:26
      Very helpful



      A less aggressive second release, not quite as hard-hitting as his previous album

      Skrillex aka Sonny Moore's second physical release hit shelves in the UK in January 2012, just as the hype around him as a musician was really hotting up. If you've read my review of Skrillex's first release, you may be aware that I am a big fan of his, and have been for a few years. However this release failed to impress me as much as his first mini-album. "Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites", when first released, was unlike anything I, or many music fans, had ever heard. A snarling, hard-hitting mixture of dubstep, house, and trance. This release sticks to the same unique formula, however with much less bite and aggression. Don't get me wrong, its still an impressive release, but fans of his previous release may have expected something a little more. It's as if the angry pitbull of the first album had settled down for a few years, bought himself a nice house, and come back trying to compete with the younger pups.

      Track 2, the title track, "Bangarang", is the exception. Like most of his back catalogue, it starts off slow and promising, building up to the big drop, where the track hits hard and heavy. Unfortunately after the end, the rest of the album fails to keep up. There's a nice appearance by Ellie Goulding on the final track "Summit", which is more of a slowed-down affair, and offers a more ambient and spacious track. This is another fantastic highlight to an otherwise wholly unexciting affair.

      Skrillex's first release really lived up to the hype he'd worked hard for and deserved, but 'Bangarang' never really pushes any new boundaries, and sounds more like a "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" type of affair. I'd still recommend the album to fans of dance music, but if you really want to hear the music that's excited both critics and music fans alike, I'd recommend his previous release. This album, though it has its merits, is swimming in tamer waters than the bloodthirsty shark thrashing about in "Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites"


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Right In
    2 Bangarang (Feat. Sirah)
    3 Breakn' A Sweat
    4 The Devil'S Den
    5 Right On Time
    6 Kyoto (Feat. Sirah)
    7 Summit (Feat. Ellie Goulding)

Products you might be interested in