Welcome! Log in or Register

Best Of Strange Cargo - William Orbit

  • image
£11.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - Ambient / Artist: William Orbit / Audio CD released 1996-06-17 at Irs

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.08.2000 18:46
      Very helpful



      William Orbit is undoubtedly a victim of the state of the modern music industry. Listen to any of his seminal Strange Cargo or early Bassomatic/Hypnotone albums and you'll soon realise he's a bit of a genius. But typically for this day and age, he didn't gain much of a mainstream following (and hence much moulah) until he produced for a big name, in this case Madonna. He has always enjoyed a massive and incredibly devoted clut following, but it wasn't until he hooked up with someone like Madonna (who's brilliantly marketed) that he got any serious recognition. He pretty much single handedly created Madona's multi milion selling Ray Of light album (just listen to any of his previous stuff and compare the two). It just goes to show - talent means little in this day and age of multi conglomerate/corporate control of the music industry - what's more important is marketing dollars/image. Let's hope the interent/Napster and Mp3's can change that, eh? Anyway, that's enough of a rant. If you like smooth, funky bass-heavy electronic music that's up-lifting, yet mellow, you'll love William Orbit's early work, particularly The Strange Cargos series. The Best Of... is an excellent introduction and will certainly make you want to check the rest out. (beware his 'Pieces In a Modern Style' album, it sucks.)


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Water From A Vine Leaf
    2 Dark Eyed Kid
    3 Gringatcho Demento
    4 Fire And Mercy
    5 Via Calente
    6 Time To Get Wize
    7 Ruby Heart (Transmogrified)
    8 Atom Dream
    9 Harry Flowers
    10 Love My Way
    11 Riding To Rio
    12 Story Of Light
    13 Silent Signals
    14 Painted Rock
    15 Water Babies

Products you might be interested in