Welcome! Log in or Register

Big Science - BWO

  • image
£4.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: BWO / Audio CD released 2009-10-05 at Conehead

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.10.2009 12:06
      Very helpful



      Another fantastic album from Bodies Without Organs. (How they came up with that name is beyond me..)

      Just to say, before I start this review, B.W.O's sound is amazingly difficult to describe. Over here in the UK we don't many bands which sound similar to them, so it's hard to give an honest comparison like that. All I can say is they are seriously good, and if this review gets you ears tingling at all, almost every release of theirs can be found on YouTube if you type in 'BWO' and with that, I hope you enjoy the review!

      :: The Band ::

      BWO (Bodies Without Organs) are a 3 piece band from Sweden.
      And the Members? You have the 'Genius' Alexander Bard, one of the most stylish ladies in Sweden (Won an Elle Style award in 2007) Marina Schiptjenko, and Swedens sweetheart Martin Rolinski - former contestant of Sweden's version of 'Popstars' - whom most of the focus is pointed too.

      :: The Album ::

      Big Science has only recently been released in the UK to buy on CD (5th October) but has been available for iTunes for quiet some time.
      The album consists of 14 tracks - 12 being new tracks and 2 remixes.

      01 Right Here Right Now
      02 Love Came Crashing Down
      03 Kings Of Tomorrow (Ballad Version)
      04 Burning Down The House
      05 Rise To The Occasion
      06 You're Not Alone (Ballad Version)
      07 Bite The Bullet
      08 In Too Deep
      09 Thunderbolt
      10 Rhythm Of The Night
      11 Singing In My Car
      12 Shoot From The Heart
      13 Kings Of Tomorrow (Remix Version)
      14 You're Not Alone (Remix Version)

      3 of these tracks have already been released as singles by B.W.O; You're Not Alone, Right Here Right Now and Rise to The Occasion. (With fantastically obscure green screened music videos to suit - check YouTube.com if you're at all interested!)
      The album reached #9 in the Swedish Album Charts after it's Swedish release on April 1st.

      :: The Sound ::

      Their music is classed as 'Scandipop' but I find almost impossible to describe. They used to have this big, grand, overblown Electro Camp-ness about them - You could easily slot one of there songs into an 80s compilation and never guess the song was released a few years ago. But I feel they've almost cut their Eurovision strings with 'Big Science' and come into their own. When I first listened to this album I was taken a back, their super happy Electro beats and been replaced with deeper more bass-y melodies and slightly darker (yet ever strange) lyrics.
      And I know I said at the start of the review it's quite hard to find current British artists that have the same sound as B.W.O but, as I mulled it over a mug of coffee with 'Big Science' playing in the background, it hit me they have quite a similar sound to genre which the like of Little Boots and La Roux fit snugly into. So chance are, if you like them, B.W.O might be the perfect band for you.

      :: Summary ::

      I seriously love this album, I've have no doubt already listened to it 50 times over and it's by far my favourite B.W.O album. It's the ultimate easy listening with a bit of a kick. Their music is perfect for any age, as they don't curse or use too graphic lyrics for the young'uns, but they have that certain 80s electro charm that appeals to more *ahem* mature listeners.
      Admittedly, B.W.O are a bit of a marmite-y band, you'll either instantly fall for their charms or you'll think 'Ee Lad, sounds like ruddy Eurovision!' (That would be my Boyfriend talking there)

      B.W.O's album 'Big Science' can be downloaded in full for £7.99 from iTunes, or if you prefer CDs is currently instock in Amazon for £7.99 too.


      Login or register to add comments

Products you might be interested in