Welcome! Log in or Register

Black Dots - Bad Brains

  • image
£19.73 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Bad Brains / Audio CD released 1996-09-30 at Caroline

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      19.08.2008 17:16
      Very helpful



      Superb early hardcore album

      For those who like their music ridiculously loud and fast then Bad Brains are a great band. Pioneers of the hardcore genre, they were originally a jazz fusion band who changed their style having listened to punk. The quartet are not just superbly talented musicians but also african-americans in what is a generally a caucasian or latin filled genre. The band took their name from a Ramones song.

      This album Black Dots is a compilation album originally recorded in Inner Ear Studios in 1979 but remained unreleased until 1996. The album is filled with short, fast, furious little tracks with Dr. Know's quirky punky vocals. The longest track on the album is probably the best, coming in at 3.02 - Supertouch/Shitfit features some excellent guitar work.

      This album is actually pretty eclectic though with tracks like "The Man Won't Annoy Ya" which is basically dub reggae and Redbone in the City which sounds positively similar to Johnny Rotten or even the Dead Boys. Tracks like How Low Can A Punk Go embrace punk lyrics perfectly, the album finishes off in style with a completely manic mental screaming and chaos "Send You No Flowers"

      A superb example of early hardcore which is slightly mixed up with some other genres like reggae and punk 77.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Don't Need It
    2 At The Atlantis
    3 Pay To Cum
    4 Supertouch/Shitfit
    5 Regulator
    6 You're A Migraine
    7 Don't Bother Me
    8 Banned In DC
    9 Why'd You Have To Go
    10 Man Won't Annoy Ya
    11 Redbone In The City
    12 Black Dots
    13 How Low Can A Punk Get
    14 Just Another Damn Song
    15 Attitude
    16 Send You No Flowers

Products you might be interested in