Welcome! Log in or Register

Black Metal - Venom

  • image
£2.32 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Venom / Import / Audio CD released at Metal Is

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.10.2008 12:19
      Very helpful



      Top album

      Venom's Black Metal album was released on the Neat label in November, 1982 - about 20 months after their debut album. This album retains a lot of the catchiness from the first but the production is considerably clearer and better, the musicianship is tighter but still a little sloppy, a lot of tracks start off with cracking riffs and the clear but croaky vocals belt out anthem like tracks with choruses necessary to sing a long to.

      It's not a carbon copy of their first album though, the band delve into deeper realms with more experimental darker melodic sounds that would become a mainstay of black metal (a genre which name derived from this album), just about every track has satanic lyrics, much more vivid and detailed than bands had done in the past and my favourite track of the album is "Buried Alive" which takes a while to get going due to the early instrumental work but proves to be a corker of a track.

      Countess Bathory also starts off with a wonderful retro sound, a top tune to bounce around to, if ever there was one. The vocals of Cronos are sublime (especially when taking in to account he's still only 19 here), at times it sounds like Lemmy chewing his way through a bus and at other times a more punkier youthful Johnny Rotten sneery scream. Perhaps particularly entertaining on this album are the geordie chants of "get your tits out" during "Teacher's Pet", if only they'd said that to Mike Ashley!

      Again - the 2002 release has an additional 9 tracks which make it top value!

      1. "Black Metal" - 3:40
      2. "To Hell and Back" - 3:00
      3. "Buried Alive" - 4:16
      4. "Raise the Dead" - 2:45
      5. "Teachers' Pet" - 4:41
      6. "Leave Me in Hell" - 3:33
      7. "Sacrifice" - 4:27
      8. "Heaven's on Fire" - 3:40
      9. "Countess Bathory" - 3:44
      10. "Don't Burn the Witch" - 3:20
      11. "At War with Satan" (Introduction) - 2:14

      All tracks composed by Bray/Dunn/Lant

      Bonus tracks in 2002 re-release by Castle Music/Sanctuary Records Group

      12. "Bursting Out (60 Min+ version)" - 2:58
      13. "Black Metal (Radio 1 session)" - 3:08
      14. "Nightmare (Radio 1 session)" - 3:27
      15. "Too Loud for the Crowd (Radio 1 session)" - 2:09
      16. "Bloodlust (Radio 1 session)" - 2:44
      17. "Die Hard (12" version)" - 3:06
      18. "Acid Queen (12" version)" - 2:31
      19. "Bursting Out (12" version)" - 2:59
      20. "Hounds of Hell (Outtake)" - 3:20


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Black Metal
      2 To Hell and Back
      3 Buried Alive
      4 Raise the Dead
      5 Teacher's Pet
      6 Leave Me in Hell
      7 Sacrifice
      8 Heaven's on Fire
      9 Countess Bathory
      10 Don't Burn the Witch
      11 At War with Satan
      12 Bursting Out [60 Min + Version][*]
      13 Black Metal [Radio 1 Session][*]
      14 Nightmare (Radio 1 Session) [*]
      15 Too Loud for the Crowd (Radio 1 Session) [*]
      16 Bloodlust (Radio 1 Session) [*]
      17 Die Hard [12" Version][*]
      18 Acid Queen [12" Version][*]
      19 Bursting Out [12" Version][*]
      20 Hounds of Hell [*]

    Products you might be interested in