Welcome! Log in or Register

Black Sails at Midnight - Alestorm

  • image
£59.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death & Black Metal / Artist: Alestorm / Audio CD released 2009-06-01 at Napalm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      27.11.2011 09:35
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Piracy is a crime!

      Alestorm's 2nd album "Black Sails at Midnight" is an album that I actually thought I'd already reviewed. Having reviewed the band's debut "Captain Morgan's Revenge" and the more recent 3rd album "Back Through Time", I thought I might as well complete the set!

      The band's 2nd album is the weakest out of that trio I would say but it's not a bad album. At the time of writing, the album typically consists of 10 songs, later extended versions might add additional tracks. I can imagine that it will end up including all the tracks from the Leviathan EP at some point, the album already includes two - Leviathan and Wolves of the Sea.

      The notable difference between the first and second album is that "Captain Morgan's Revenge" is predominantly heavy metal whilst "Black Sails at Midnight" goes for more of a folk metal sound, slightly too symphonic for pirates perhaps. Another weakness of this album is that it lacks the characters and typical locations haunted by sea-faring thieves, there's no "Nancy the Tavern Whench" like in the 1st or "The Sunken Norwegian" as in the 3rd.

      I like the song "No Quarter" which is more reminiscent of the first album, bamboozling drumming, a blast of guitar and strong keyboard playing, towards the end of the track it transforms into a string heavy affair which is as good as any pirate song I've heard.

      The album is still good, the strange choice of covering Latvia's Eurovision song-contest entry "Wolves of the Sea" seems to pay-off as the band do a good job of transforming it into a decent metal track, albeit a slightly cheesy one.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Quest
      2 Leviathan
      3 That Famous Ol' Spiced
      4 Keelhauled
      5 To the End of Our Days
      6 Black Sails At Midnight
      7 No Quarter
      8 Pirate Song
      9 Chronicles of Vengeance
      10 Wolves of the Sea

    Products you might be interested in