Welcome! Log in or Register

Blackhawks Over Los Angeles - Strung Out

  • image
£3.31 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Strung Out / Audio CD released 2007-06-18 at Fat Wreck

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      13.06.2009 22:24
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A great album full of metal-esque punk music

      In my constant search for new melodic punk music, I came across the band Strung Out. I had never heard of them before, so I listened to their song "Calling" on YouTube, and I was instantly hooked. I quickly downloaded the entire album, and was a little sad to see that the album isn't quite as good as I would have hoped, but it soon grew on me and is now one of my favourites.

      The band mixes melodic punk with just a dash of metal - and it works surprisingly well. Strung Out will play punk drum beats, with heavy guitars and great vocals... only to burst into an amazing guitar solo, worthy of all that metal music which led me to punk! Of course, the music varies throughout the album, but I found that it's best to describe their overall sound as "punk gone slightly metal"

      Here are a few sentences about my favourite songs:

      I think this is the lead single for the album - and for good reason. This song sums up the Strung Out sound (including the kind of epic guitar solo I mentioned earlier!) There are some really great vocals here, and the drums and guitar playing are good too.

      All The Nations
      A very catchy song! I find myself singing along every time it comes on - even though I don't know half the lyrics!

      Brilliant riff in this song! The rest of the song is good enough (catchy melody, good vocals, etc), but I think that it's the riff that really makes the song.

      More Than Words
      One of my favourites from the album, except it's only a bonus track! So it wasn't even on the CD that I bought :( This song is excessively happy without being pop-punk-ish, and so it makes me smile every time.

      Of course, not every song on the album is great. There are some very average songs, and a couple that I honestly don't like very much. For example, "Blackhawks Over Los Angeles" is extremely forgettable, and I can never remember how it goes. Also, the song "Dirty Little Secret" just doesnt match up to the other songs on the album - it is essentially pop-punk, which makes it sound a little weak.

      All in all, this album has worked its way into my top twenty albums, so give it a listen and see what you think! Especially if you like punk stuff.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Calling
      2 Blackhawks Over Los Angeles
      3 Party In the Hills
      4 All the Nations
      5 War Called Home
      6 Letter Home
      7 Orchid
      8 Dirty Little Secret
      9 Downtown
      10 King Has Left the Building
      11 Mission Statement
      12 Dive

    Products you might be interested in