Welcome! Log in or Register

Blackout - Dropkick Murphys

  • image
£36.40 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Dropkick Murphys / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2003-06-09 at Hellcat

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.05.2009 12:43
      Very helpful



      a great style of punk

      Blackout was the fourth studio album from the punk band dropkick Murphy's. it's a great album, I think its their best to date and it has all of their best songs on in my opinion. Dropkick murphys for all of you who don't know, and that might be a lot as there not the biggest of bands is an Irish American punk band combining two very different styles to be a really unique punk band which is what I like most about them.

      The first track off the album, walk away is a great lyrical song, the lyrics are arranged very well and the chorus is very catchy too and it's a real feel good song. It gets the album off to a great start.

      Workers song is track number two and its here you hear there real Irish blend of punk with a great opening and their style of singing is a lot more prominent in this one. This is actually one of my favourite songs off the album, I just love the instruments going on in the background throughout the song and the lyrics are very good too.

      Time to go is another fantastic song, some people might know it from the game of tony hawks and to be honest that's how I first heard of this band, I liked them so much that I went and looked for more of there music. It has a really good fast pace and good singing especially when the verse kicks in. I think this must be my favourite song off the album just because of the memories of skating it brings back however I think workers song is probably better than this one.

      Track Listings:
      1. Walk Away
      2. Worker's Song
      3. Outcast
      4. Black Velvet Band
      5. Gonna Be A Blackout Tonight
      6. World Full Of Hate
      7. Buried Alive
      8. Dirty Glass
      9. Fields Of Athenry
      10. Bastards On Parade
      11. As One
      12. This Is Your Life
      13. Time To Go
      14. Kiss Me I'm Shitfaced

      This is a fantastic punk album, if you haven't heard this band yet then you should really give them a listen, they have a great style going on and they write great music too.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      02.11.2006 08:08
      Very helpful



      The 4th Studio album from Folk/punk crossover Fropkick Murphys

      While I didn't discover the Dropkick Murphys until 2004 they released what I consider to be my favourite album of theirs just the year before in 2003. Having formed in 1996, Blackout became their 4th studio album and their 7th long play release in total. In fact the reason this is probably my favourite album by the Boston band is probably due to it being the first studio album of theirs I actually bought. There blend of Irish folk and American punk had really caught my attention and so this quickly became an album that was repeatedly played on my CD player.

      For anyone unsure of the Dropkick Murphys on paper, as I was to start with, it seems a bit of a strange combination. A band from America who have that sort of American punk sound going, blending it with the feel of traditional Irish music. What the Dropkick Murphys seem to achieve is a very capable fusion of both styles. If I were to describe it in the form of band names then you would take a pinch of The Dubliners, mix it with a little bit of Green Day and add the Murphys own unique style. They do have a mixture of their own material and covers and this album contains two of the best covers they've done to date.

      Of course they don't just do an exact cover of each track. The band take elements of their own writing and blend them into the covers to give them a little something extra. Now this may not go down too well with fans of the traditional Irish folk approach, but it makes this material much more accessible for the younger generations. I was already listening to Irish folk as my parents listened to quite a bit when I was younger, but covers of tracks like "Black Velvet Band" by The Dropkick Murphys may encourage younger listeners to seek out the original.

      It seems overtime that the band have musically become a lot stronger than the earlier albums. The guitars seem to work in synch and create a real rousing effect on this album. The majority of the album is pretty upbeat and that's really why the guitars take the centre stage. Of course the drums provide an excellent beat to hold it all together. Then throw in the most unusual instrument for an American punk band, the Bagpipes. When you think about it though this is quite a unique blend of music and the use of the Bagpipes really makes the Murphys stand out.

      The vocals are more of a shared responsibility on this album than on a lot of the bands others. Al Barr and Ken Cassey seem to share the vocals on a number of tracks and it seems to work quite well. Its quite clear that Barr is the lead singer and his vocals sound superb on tracks like "World Full Of Hate" where the pace is slowed down a little. Of course the album does include a mixture of covers and own material but it all has that uniquely original quality to it.

      It took me a little while to get into this album, as when I bought it I only really knew two of the tracks and seemed to start by only playing them. Of course over the space of a few weeks I gave the rest of the album a chance and it all started to really grow on me. For me I'd honestly say that I don't dislike any tracks on the album but for the more traditional fans of "Black Velvet Band" and "Fields Of Athenry" they may not enjoy the Murphys rather different versions.

      I'd say though that their version of "Fields Of Athenry" is probably one of my favourite tracks on the album. They've upped the tempo of the original and it seems to work quite well. It still has the same structure and lyrics, but there's now a bit of life about their version of Pete St John's classic. The other track that really gets my attention on the album is "Kiss Me I'm Sh*tfaced". It's a slower track with quite a good tempo. It starts with the Bagpipe introduction and from there it's really a decent drinking song.

      Overall I do feel this to be the bands best album so far. It pips their latest release Warriors Code to the title purely because of "Fields Of Athenry", which is one of my favourite tracks. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone who likes something that they can tap their feet to and sing a long with. It's a quality the Murphys seem to have really embraced. For the more traditional fans it may not be your thing, but I'd suggest just giving it a little listen as it might surprise you.

      Amazon: £7.99
      Amazon Marketplace: £5.33


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Walk Away
    2 Worker's Song
    3 The Outcast
    4 Black Velvet Band
    5 Gonna Be A Blackout Tonight
    6 World Full Of Hate
    7 Buried Alive
    8 The Dirty Glass
    9 Fields Of Athenry
    10 Bastards On Parade
    11 As One
    12 This Is Your Life
    13 Time To Go
    14 Kiss Me I'm Shitfaced

Products you might be interested in