Welcome! Log in or Register

Born Free - Kid Rock

  • image
£8.83 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Kid Rock / CD / Audio CD released 2010-11-15 at Atlantic

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.02.2011 19:18
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Country Rock 21st Century Style

      Born Free, Kid Rock, 2010


      Born Free is Kid Rock's seventh studio album produced by Rick Rubin and released at the end of last year. Its a gear change for Kid Rock as this is the first album of his to be based entirely in the country rock sound, something he has hinted at throughout his tenure as a white rapper.

      Born Free also sees rock team up with the great and good from the world of rock, country and rap such as Sheryl Crow, Zac Brown, Martina McBride and the man Rock is slowly morphing into - Bob Seger. Many critics has dismissed Rock as a cocky know it all with an ego the size of Texas and I expect Born Free will convert few into his way of doing business. But as a rock a roll record, Born Free needs to listened to and be appreciated for what it is - damn good fun.


      Kid Rock has always hinted in previous albums his desire to make a great country rock album, whether its his leaning towards rebels such as David Allan Coe or Hank Williams Jr, he has never quite pulled it off - always coming off as an alternative Eminem who cracks some amusing rap one liners about sex, drugs and alcohol.

      Personally I have always had a soft spot for Kid Rock (ask JJJJ), enjoying both the ludicrously crass lyrics of his earlier albums as well as the southern rock stylings of his later ones. There isn't any crass rapping here on Born Free, neither does Rock endlessly tell us how many records he's sold or how many birds he's slept with. It's just straight down the line heartfelt Americana.

      Its a very organic album and very laid back, neatly slipping into the modern sound of Sheryl Crow and the edgy hard rock of the Stones and The Black Crowes. Even the choice of singing partners feels appropriate and natural.

      My favourite tracks on the album are the edgier rockers. 'Born Free' which flows and rolls eloquently as the opening track. The next 'Slow My Roll' is an equally impressive piece of work reminiscent of Honky Tonk Woman in many respects.

      'God Bless Saturday' is my favourite track of all. Anthermic and memorable it makes the album stand out and feel a little more relevant.

      Born Free won't win over many critics, but it does herald a much more laid back direction for Kid Rock. It isn't 'Cocky' by any means, its Kid Rock growing up and learning to create relevant, but retro music.


      1. "Born Free" 5:14
      2. "Slow My Roll" 4:18
      3. "Care" (featuringMartina McBride and T.I.)4:12
      4. "Purple Sky" 4:05
      5. "When It Rains" 4:45
      6. "God Bless Saturday" 3:34
      7. "Collide" (featuringSheryl Crow and Bob Seger on piano)4:49
      8. "Flyin' High" (featuringZac Brown)4:03
      9. "Times Like These" 5:56
      10. "Rock On" 5:22
      11. "Rock Bottom Blues" 3:51
      12. "For the First Time (In a Long Time)" 5:46


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Born Free
      2 Slow My Roll
      3 Care - Kid Rock & Mary J. Blige/TI
      4 Purple Sky
      5 When It Rains
      6 God Bless Saturday
      7 Collide - Kid Rock & Sheryl Crow/Bob Seger
      8 Flyin' High - Kid Rock & Zac Brown
      9 Times Like These
      10 Rock On
      11 Rock Bottom Blues
      12 For The First Time (In A Long Time)

    Products you might be interested in