Welcome! Log in or Register

Burn - Havok

  • image
£5.41 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Havok / Import / Audio CD released 2009-07-06 at Candlelight

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      22.08.2010 13:29
      Very helpful



      A reasonably good thrash metal album

      Take a look at the font used on the album cover or a look at the skulls and you've probably guessed that this is a thrash metal album. I've beeen rocking out to some speed and trash lately and Havok was not a band I had come across before, so I decided to give them ago.

      Many of the bands playing in the most recent wave of thrash metal, just rehash the older stuff, playing pretty similar riffs but are often technically worse.

      Havok really score well on two fronts, musically they are extremely solid, very rythmic drumming compliments some really kick ass guitar playing, it's rifftastic, the bass takes a back seat and largely goes unnoticeable unless you look for it but the vocalist is a very capable chap who sounds quite Hetfieldish but definitely has his own sound. Morbid Symmetry and The Disease are two of the best tracks on the album and as this is only the band's debut album leads me to believe that they could have a lot more originality in store in the future.

      The album is not without it's faults though, lyrically it's awful, the worst track of all being Identity Theft, the vocals are not disguised by the music so it means that you do have to listen to the rubbish spurted out. Some tracks also seem to be a bit repetitive, fortunately the riffs are usually enjoyable enough for it not to be a big problem.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Wreckquiem
    2 Root of Evil
    3 Path To Nowhere
    4 Morbid Symmetry
    5 Identity Theft
    6 Disease
    7 Scabs of Trust
    8 Ivory Tower
    9 To Hell
    10 Category of the Dead
    11 Melting the Mountain
    12 Afterburne

Products you might be interested in