Welcome! Log in or Register

Call of the Nightwolves - Vargsang

  • image
£10.14 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Vargsang / Audio CD released 2003 by Undercover Records

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.02.2010 15:05
      Very helpful



      Excellent old-school black metal

      Vargsang (German for Wolf Song) is a two man old school black metal band from Peiting, Germany. The music on 2003 debut release 'Call of the Nightwolves' is hardly original, with a doomy intro consisting of ancient and ominous-sounding Burzumesque riffs giving way to simplistic, crude riffing and fast, repetitive drums, with a muffled, droning yet vital and dynamic sound amounting to early Darkthrone-worship, complete with raw, growled vocals wholly reminiscient of those of Nocturno Culto.

      Stark, tremolo-riffing and more cold and electrifying Burzumic riffs are worked into the unsophisticated, repetitive and hypnotic songstructures, as are punkier, mid-paced, Celtic Frost/mid-period Darkthrone riffs and occasional melancholy guitarlines that whilst possessive of a slightly jaunty folkiness are on the whole distinctly melancholy, reminding of Finnish bands Sargeist and Horna. Meanwhile the artwork is also in the early 90s black-metal style, once again aping Darkthrone with its monochrome, high contrast front-cover image of the vocalist in full corpsepaint standing under a Burzum-like logo written in old Germanic script.

      As previously noted, 'Call of the Nightwolves' breaks no new ground, but then it was never supposed to, and what it lacks in originality it makes up for in pure, atavistic and primordial atmosphere, with a great sense of momentum and plenty of truly memorable minimalistic riffs that add up to some engaging and immensely powerful songs. Highly recommended to fans of Burzum, Darkthrone, and Arckanum.


      1. Intro 01:52
      2. My Dark Hateful Spirit 05:25
      3. Through The Gates Of Sorrow 04:51
      4. Deathgate To Eternal Life 04:02
      5. Whores Of The Light 05:08
      6. Grave By The Oak 05:12
      7. Through Frost-Covered Moors 04:37
      8. Call Of The Nightwolves 05:34

      Total playing time 36:41


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting 1 Intro 2 My Dark Hateful Spirit 3 Through the Gates of Sorrow 4 Deathgate to Eternal Life 5 Wh**es of the Light 6 Grave by the Oak 7 Through Frost Covered Moors 8 Call of the Nightwolves

Products you might be interested in