Welcome! Log in or Register

Cansei De Ser Sexy - CSS

  • image
£2.61 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: World Music - Brazilian / Artist: CSS / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2006-07-10 at Sub Pop

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      19.01.2009 14:49
      Very helpful



      Likely to cause spontaneous dancing outbreaks.

      Wonderfully sleazy electropop sounds from this fantastically self assured Brazilian group abound on debut release 'Cansei De Ser Sexy'. The group also hold the highest ever single position on the US Billboard chart for a Brazilian group. Ok, so it wasn't in the top 50, but it's not bad for a relatively unheard of band.

      In case you're wondering, the group's name translates as 'I got tired of being sexy'. Alternatively, if you translate it on Babelfish (Portugese to English), it comes up with the wonderfully bizarre 'I tired of being sexi'. How was I to know that Brazilian Portugese is different from 'straight' Portugese?

      I'm not sure whether they want to be performance artists or colourful foot soldiers for the New Rave movement, the artistes feature the colourfully monikered Lovefoxx and Adriano Cintra.

      The group sings in broken English for the most part and while they have a confident sound, it's fairly easy to spot someone who isn't a native speaker on a dance track! Pounding beats, layered electronic wizardry and cunning sound effects are the order of the day on this release and it has a very enjoyable commercial sound (even with the sleaze!). There is the odd line that is pretty crude, but it seems less offensive when it's a Brazilian singing it... for example, the line 'Suck, suck, suck my arthole' leaves little to the imagination!

      A few tracks that stand out for me are:

      'Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above' - Debut UK release, very catchy. You can tell a group's obscure when they sing about another group who are an unknown quantity.
      'Artbitch' - Slutty, camp and a thoroughly enjoyable song to dance to.
      'Fuckoff Is Not the Only Thing you Have to Show' - No idea what they are singing about, but this is a cracking club tune.
      'Meeting Paris Hilton' - Brilliant disco number, with a driving beat. Wonderfully bratty lyrics, much like the heiress herself.
      'Music is my Hot Hot Sex' - You may recognise this one from an iPod advert, a cool little track and tribute to music in all its forms...

      A very accomplished album, looking forward to hearing their sophomore release (came out last summer). Delightfully mad, I defy you not to dance.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 CSS Suxxx
      2 Patins
      3 Alala
      4 Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above
      5 Art Bitch
      6 Fuckoff Is Not The Only Thing You Have To Show
      7 Meeting Paris Hilton
      8 Off The Hook
      9 Alcohol
      10 Music Is My Hot Hot Sex
      11 This Month Day 10

    Products you might be interested in