Welcome! Log in or Register

Capture / Release - Rakes

  • image
£1.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Pop / Artist: Rakes / Audio CD released 2005-08-15 at V2

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.10.2007 19:24
      1 Comment



      A must for indie lovers everywhere, move over Arctics!

      Capture/Release is an immediatly fast paced, lively journey through modern day life, almost in the same essence as The Arctic Monkeys and HardFi brought working class life back to the focus of music. But that is where any comparisons end. For a start the Rakes for some unknown reason have failed to gain the same attention as there fellow artists, despite the mass of criticle acclaim that has came there way, for anyone who listens to this album just once, it becomes baffling why this anonymity is, as the Rakes sure as anything present us with this debut an immense amount of talent not only for creating a catchy, lively tune that will never go amiis at any decent indie club, but also some brilliantly almost poetic lyrics that become a comment on modern day life post-university.

      The most stand out songs i feel are the almost hit-of-the-summer 22 grand job, with its blasting jealousy of those rising to the top of the social ladder where you remain stuck in small city jobs staring on, and the soundtrack to my life, Work Work Work.... , the morning after the night before song for a generation!

      In essence i still fail to comprehend why the album remains decidedly almost unknown, and anyone who fails to be wooed by this high energy burst onto the music scene clearly needs a bit more caffeine and energy themselves!


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        21.11.2006 18:43
        Very helpful



        The Debut album from London's The Rakes

        If there is one thing that amazon is good at, it's recommending decent bands that I perhaps might not have heard of but end up loving. I took a gamble on this just before Reading festival last year and it certainly paid off. I'm always a little wary about buying based on the amazon recommends but so far I've not come across one yet that I haven't liked. The London 4 piece seem to have really sneaked onto the scene and then over a short space of time really developed a cult following, probably due to their appearance at Reading in 2005 and these amazon recommendations.

        They formed back in the early part of 2000 and decided to call themselves The Rakes because they were in fact as skinny as rakes. It's a bit of a tenuous way to name your band but it seems to have worked for them. It did take till 2005 for them to really make a name for themselves. It was a time when bands like Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party and the Kaiser Chiefs were really taking the British music scene by storm and I personally felt that like Maximo Park, The Rakes offered something a little different to the rest.

        As a band they have quite an upbeat sound and it can be likened to quite a few bands in the new wave of British Indie rock bands that are around at the moment. The sound of the band itself seems to be somewhere in between the likes of Franz Ferdinand etc and the more diverse sound of bands like The Libertines and The Others. The album has quite a raw sound to it and I think that's really what The Rakes were looking for. They haven't over produced it and tried to make it sound too polished, in fact they have tried to really capture the feeling of their live performance on the album and it works pretty well.

        The majority of the album is very much guitar lead, with the bass taking it on a times but the majority of the pace and direction is set by the guitars. Both blend in nicely to really create a decent punky/Indie type of sound. The drums seem to mainly keep things quite solid and regimented but really play a back role compared to the lead guitar and the bass. It's a method that seems to really be coming common place In the industry, leading from the front rather than relying on the drums to guide each track along.

        In lead singer Alan Donohoe they have a front man that has quite a bit of personality. It really shows through in his vocals, which at times may not sound quite as polished as some other bands but really have the desired effect on this album. I felt that his vocals really emphasised the lyrics and blended in well with the musical element of the album. The lyrics really fit quite well and although I can't really see any deeper meaning behind them the upbeat pace of the album is really down to some very clever song writing.

        When I first got my copy of the album there were a couple of tracks that really stood out for me. The likes of opening track "Strasbourg" really grabbed my attention from the off. It has quite a distinct sound as the guitars really lead the way into the lyrics. The pace of the song really makes it quite enjoyable and can often catch myself singing along to it. The other one that really stood out for me was "22 Grand Job". It's possibly the track that has seen the band receive more radio play and recognition than anything else on the album.

        Again it opens very strongly and with a decent pace and upbeat tempo, lead by the guitars and backed superbly by the drums, I find I can't help but really get carried away by it. My only complaint about the album is the opening section of "The Guilt". The spoken lines at the start don't really work for it and it seems to really slow down the albums tempo. Other than that though I would say that The Rakes have really done rather well with this album.

        Overall it's a very decent debut album, that hasn't really received the press and airplay that the band seem to deserve. As well as a decent debut album they are also a very good, but slightly unpredictable, live act. If you like the new wave of Indie bands or are a fan of more longstanding bands such as Joy Division then I can certainly recommend this album without hesitation. It has a nice tempo and is ideal for driving or getting ready to go out, but generally I just recommend that you give them a try.

        Amazon: £5.97
        Amazon Marketplace: £5.48


        Login or register to add comments
      • Product Details

        Disc #1 Tracklisting
        1 Strasbourg
        2 Retreat
        3 22 Grand Job
        4 Open book
        5 The Guilt
        6 Binary Love
        7 We Are All Animals
        8 Violent
        9 T Bone
        10 Terror!
        11 Work, Work, Work (Pub, Club, Sleep)

      Products you might be interested in