Welcome! Log in or Register

Cee-lo Green Is The Soul Machine - Cee-Lo

  • image
£19.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Cee-Lo / Audio CD released 2004-03-13 at Arista Records

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.06.2011 05:24
      Very helpful



      Soulful, lyrical genius

      Now I like to believe I have an eclectic mix of music, however my mainstay is made up of 90's metal and hip-hop. I tend to keep listening to the same old tunes and it takes a lot for me to accept some of the new music around, which in my view, for what its worth, is made up of remixed rifts that sound very similar.

      I do venture well beyond my old stomping grounds, however, me like many have 'that' album that could be listened to over and over.

      Which brings be to this review of what I feel is an amazing soulful beautiful album created by a Deep South rapper/artist.

      Those of you will be well aware of Cee-Lo Green from his recent chart success with 'Forget You' and his album 'Lady Killer' and previously to that his joint album with DJ Danger Mouse who formed Gnarls Barkley, St Elsewhere. In themselves are great albums but this review is for his first solo album 'Soul Machine'.
      Cee-Lo Green...is the soul machine.

      This album was released in 2004 and only sold relatively few numbers, which having listened to it relentlessly surprises me. Any one with an interest in soul or hip-hop will love this music.

      The album is described as him exploring his Southern roots; his collaborations with the likes of Ludacris, T.I. and Pharrel are party to this. There are also some amazing productions made within the album by Timberland and The Neptunes.

      The 17 track list below features some amazing vocals, if you have heard Crazy from the Gnarls Barkley album you know this man can hit those notes which are sang with heart and of course Soul. His southern twang lends itself to some of the slower tracks. Of note and my two favorite songs from the track list is 'My kind of People' and 'All day love affair' which I urge anyone who has an interest in music to listen too.

      These songs themselves are my two stress relievers; my good lady bought me a waterproof MP3 player some time ago. This album is on it and I will always remember floating in the sea on holiday listening to this, and in particular these two songs, in the warm sun not wishing to be anywhere else. When ever I need to relax, I head straight to this album which instantly unwinds me.

      There are also some great rapping songs within the album too. Cee-Lo doesn't give it the street grit the likes of 50 Cent or Onyx do, but really raps with feeling and a great voice. If like me you like all sorts of music you may have come across Henry Rollins (Rollins Band), whilst not similar musically the lyrical sense of the spoken word to great tunes is amazing.
      1. "Intro"
      2. "Soul Machine"
      3. "The Art of Noise" (feat. Pharrell)
      4. "Living Again"
      5. "I'll Be Around" (feat. Timbaland)
      6. "The One" (feat. Jazze Pha & T.I.)
      7. "My Kind of People" (feat. Jazze Pha & Menta Malone)
      8. "Childz Play" (feat. Ludacris)
      9. "I am Selling Soul"
      10. "All Day Love Affair"
      11. "Evening Newz" (feat. Chazzie & Sir Cognac The Conversation)
      12. "Scrap Metal" (feat. Big Rube & G-Rock)
      13. "Glockapella"
      14. "When We Were Friends"
      15. "Sometimes"
      16. "Let's Stay Together" (feat. Pharrell)
      17. "Die Trying"
      18. "What Don't You Do?" (outro)

      If you like the chart music you have heard from this larger than life character from the deep south I implore you to have a listen at the very least to this fantastic album, you will like it I am sure of it.

      It's always nice to be someone to have loved an artist before then became huge and famous. A friend of mine gave me this album years ago having listened to it once. I became instantly hooked 7 years ago, and I love the fact that his branching out with the likes of Danger Mouse, and another soulful album last year has him coming to the forefront of music pop culture.

      Keep the roots, listen and love this great music!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 These Eyes
    2 Devotion
    3 Public Enemy No. 1
    4 Pass The Dutchie
    5 Return From The Ashes (Theme)
    6 Holy Ghost
    7 Intro
    8 Soul Machine
    9 The Art Of Noise
    10 Living Again
    11 I'll Be Around
    12 The One
    13 My Kind Of People
    14 Childz Play
    15 I Am Selling Soul
    16 All Day Love Affair
    17 Evening News
    18 Scrap Metal
    19 Glockappella
    20 When We Were Friends
    21 Sometimes
    22 Let's Stay Together
    23 Die Trying
    24 What Don't You Do? (Outro)

Products you might be interested in