Welcome! Log in or Register

Children Of Love - Fuckpony

  • image
£5.15 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - House & Garage / Artist: Fuckpony / Audio CD released 2007-01-15 at Get Physical

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.03.2007 10:47
      Very helpful



      A shorter pony ride would've been better.

      This originally was released in the middle of 2006 and got quite a bit of attention, but I've only just got round to giving it a good listen. The brains behind Fuckpony is Jay Haze, an American based in Berlin a city known for its devotion to the 4/4 lifestyle. He says this release is a bit of homage to the classic House sounds of the mid to late eighties with a few modern stylistic quirks mixed in. I don't know jack (in joke) about 80s House, so have no idea how successfully it emulates its predecessors' ethos.

      The cover is a clue to the neoHouse music contained within. Cartoonish (speeded up, manipulated voices, odd sound EFX), garish (while this is not soothing, chill out music, but it is quite OK for just listening to on your iPod) and ebullient (happy music for gurning people). But there's a bit more going on here than just boom, boom, boom, boom music.

      This is an impeccably produced House CD, with enough individual sounds spread over the sonic palette to engage a listener's interest. On the first listens, the novelty of the production impresses. The beats are varied enough from track to track and there are plenty of simple little stereo tricks played with sound EFX. It's almost certainly a different experience played on a club PA, but it still works on an iPod or home stereo.

      However, I found myself quickly tiring of the predictability of things. The inanities of the vocals (I know, I know, who listens to House music for vocals?) overpower the beats and textures of the music, working against them but the 13 tracks differ enough in style that you don't find yourself grumbling too much that it all sounds the same.

      Top Tracks
      Children of Love
      Ride the Pony
      It's only Music
      Bongo Porn

      Overall worth a listen, but not something I can imagine playing obsessively as it gives up what little charm it has too easily. But you know, this is House music not Ligeti so what did I expect?


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Intro
      2 Children Of Love
      3 Ride The Pony
      4 Silence
      5 Cell Phone Hit
      6 It's Only Music
      7 Freaky Stories Of Earth
      8 93 At 4am
      9 Get Pony
      10 Make Money Hoe
      11 Bongo Porn
      12 Mafalda
      13 Draft

    Products you might be interested in