Welcome! Log in or Register

Chrome Dreams II - Neil Young

  • image
£5.20 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Folk Rock / Artist: Neil Young / Audio CD released 2007-10-22 at Warner

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      25.02.2010 17:12
      Very helpful



      solid album

      Strange to find Young releasing Chrome Dreams II, when you consider the original Chrome Dreams never actually got released in the first place. The album was initially conceived in 1977, only to be scrapped by Young at the last minute, with the songs gradually dished out on subsequent albums (a number of the tracks found their way onto 1978's Rust Never Sleeps). The effect of this non-release meant that the album gained a reverence, enabling the release of a follow-up album in late 2007.

      By modern standards, this is a solid effort, Young has assembled many of his usual backing musicians - Ben Keith (who played on Harvest) & Crazy Horse drummed Ralph Molina are both clearly audible throughout. Yet it's a curious mix of styles, opening with the delicate acoustic musings of 'Beautiful Bluebird', followed by the gentle shuffle of 'Boxcar'.

      Matters then take a surprising twist with the appearance of the 18 minute long 'Ordinary People'. It's a furious ode & lament to times past, & without a doubt the standout track of the album, originally recorded in the late 70's, but like many others remained unreleased until now. That track will be enough to have long-term fans salivating, much of the rest of the album may leave the listener cold.

      It's not that the material is bad, far from it, just that it perhaps won't do enough in the eyes of many to live up to the name. There is a lovely casualness to this album which has been missing from recent Young albums, but it's still not enough to elevate this above merely good. It shambles along as one might expect, occasionally hitting the highs you know Young is effortlessly capable of.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Beautiful Bluebird
    2 Boxcar
    3 Ordinary People
    4 Shining Light
    5 The Believer
    6 Spirit Road
    7 Dirty Old Man
    8 Even After
    9 No Hidden Path
    10 The WayDVDContent Includes High Resolution Audio with Moving Video Image.

Products you might be interested in