Welcome! Log in or Register

Classic Fm: Hall Of Fame 2012

  • image
£9.32 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Classical / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2012-04-09 at Decca

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.08.2013 16:46
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A highly recommended buy, especially with the free digital copy, Would recommend it to a friend!

      This CD contains the top 30 songs from last year (2012's) Classic FM Hall of Fame. The tracks chosen have been voted in by the general public, and subsequently contains both musical masterpieces, such as Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto, and other pieces such as Einaudi's 'Le Onde', which whilst pretty is generally considered to be over simplistic, and not an example of good composition by most musicians.
      The music on the CDs varies widely across musics historical eras; 'Allegri: Miserere' is a beautiful of pre Baroque plain chant, Bach's Cello Concerto and Haydn's 'Zadok the Priest' give the representation from the Baroque period, Mozart, as usual covers the classical era.

      The music from the Romantic and 20th/21st Century is truly sublime and varied, including Prokofiev's suite from Romeo and Juliet, made famous as the theme for BBC1's 'The Apprentice', Mendelsson's 'Fingal's Cave', as well as music from 'The Fellowship of the Ring'.

      For me, the main reason why I bought it was for Vaughan William's 'The Lark Ascending', in my opinion one of the most beautiful pieces of classical music ever written. The soloist in this recording is the fabulous Nicola Bernedetti, and the quality of the recording thoroughly does her justice! Other soloists/groups included on the CD range from Jullian Lloyd Webber and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra to the Military Wives; Classic FM have ensured they have found the recordings with the best instrumentalists possible!

      The only problem I have with the CD is the price; at £10.99 for 30 tracks it seems relatively cheap, however the 2013 Hall of Fame has 100 tracks, and is only £9.99, although this is only available as a digital copy. I feel for the price they could have included some more music.

      The CD is included in Amazon's new scheme whereby you get a free digital copy of any music of which you buy the hard copy too. This I think is a fantastic idea! It means as soon as you buy the CD you can go online, or open the Amazon Cloud app on your iPad/iPhone and hear it straight away, meaning you don't have to wait 5 days before you can hear the music you have been eagerly anticipating, and that for me was the deal clincher!

      This is a brilliant compilation of some of the most beautiful, timeless classical music, and I would recommend it to anyone!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      "Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Zadok the Priest (Coronation Anthem No.1, HWV 258)
      2 Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor, Op.18 - 2. Adagio sostenuto
      3 Variations on an Original Theme, Op.36 ""Enigma"" - 9. Nimrod (Adagio)
      4 Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, O"

    Products you might be interested in