Welcome! Log in or Register

Coda - Roy Bailey

  • image
£9.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Folk - English Folk / Artist: Roy Bailey / Audio CD released 2000-11-06 at Fuse

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.02.2002 01:55
      Very helpful



      CODA by Roy Bailey. Roy has been on the folk scene now for over forty years and made his first record about 1960 something. In my opinion he is an icon in the folk world and his music and singing are just superb. CODA, as Roy describes the word from Oxford English Dictionary, means concluding event. I sincerely hope Roy does not mean this to be such. I saw him at Fylde festival in 2001 and he had a copy of CODA for sale (surprising or what?) needless to say I didn't hesitate to buy and how glad I am that I did. The CD is fantastic with each track riveting you to every word and note he sings. His voice is mellow and the music compliments to the nth degree. I have picked out four of my favourites which I play over and over again, if it were a vinyl disc it would be well worn out by now. Tom Paine's Bones. About perhaps one of the finest born Englishmen ever I guess, yet how many out of the folk scene have ever heard of him is anyones guess. Super words and sung with sentiment. Beeswing. Gentle and nice to listen to, I like this one very much. Red and Green. Last of the miners, good rousing song and one to sing along to as well. Joy of Living. Gosh! What can I say about this song? It brings a lump into my throat and a tear in my eye every time. By Ewan Maccoll who wrote it when he found he would no longer be able to walk his beloved hills of Scotland and North England. It is a moving song, a farewell song, a touching song JUST LISTEN TO IT WILL YOU I get so emmotional just talking about it even. Fantastic CD Beautiful singing Superb songs What else do you want. GET IT (along with a good supply of tissues)


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Brigg Fair
      2 Tom Paine's Bones
      3 On The Road To Freedom
      4 When The Small Birds Start Leaving
      5 Where Do You Lie
      6 Captain Swing
      7 Beeswing
      8 Suicide Town
      9 New Frontier
      10 Les Timides
      11 Alyandabu
      12 World To Live In
      13 Last Ploughshare
      14 Joy Of Living
      15 Red And Green

    Products you might be interested in