Welcome! Log in or Register

Complete Recorded Works 1926-1930 - Jelly Roll Morton

  • image
£14.63 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Jelly Roll Morton / Box set / Audio CD released 2001-06-18 at JSP

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.03.2010 21:17
      Very helpful



      An album worth adding to the collection

      Jelly Roll Morton's claim of being the person who invented jazz may seem to appear slightly extreme but frankly - someone had to and as one of the earliest jazz artists around, there's no reason why he can't stake his claim. Modesty may not have been his forte but music certainly was and although I'm not taken with modern day jazz, I'm quite a fan of the early sounds and Jelly Roll Morton gives it a distinctively ragtime sound that I found pleasant on the ears. His piano playing is awesome and he leads an extremely tight band that make it sound as if there are much more of them than you'd expect.

      I find that with the older artists, a complete discography is always a good thing to have a listen to and from there you can create your own CD or move your favourite tracks over to an Mp3 player, a lot of early blues and jazz compilations by one artist tend to be overloaded with different versions of the same track, this isn't the case with this wonderful box set that rarely repeats a track over a phenomenal 5 discs of Morton's music from 26-30.

      As you may have guessed this has pretty much every song he made before and during this period from the famous "Jelly Roll Blues" that gave him his name (having played piano in a brothel from the age of 14, he should know more about jelly rolls than most!) through to the final numbers that were recorded before he was dropped by his record label in 1931 due to The Depression.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Black Bottom Stomp
    2 Smoke House Blues
    3 Chant
    4 Sidewalk Blues
    5 Dead Man Blues
    6 Steamboat Stomp
    7 Someday Sweetheart
    8 Grandpa's Spells
    9 Original Jelly Roll Blues
    10 Doctor Jazz
    11 Cannon Ball Blues
    12 Hyena Stomp
    13 Billy Goat Stomp
    14 Wild Man Blues
    15 Jungle Blues
    16 Beale Street Blues
    17 Pearls
    18 Wolverine Blues
    19 Mr. Jelly Lord

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Red Hot Pepper
    2 Deep Creek
    3 Pep
    4 Seattle Hunch
    5 Frances (Fat Frances)
    6 Freakish
    7 Burnin' The Iceberg
    8 Courthouse Bump
    9 Pretty Lil
    10 Sweet Aneta Mine
    11 New Orleans Bump
    12 Down My Way
    13 Try Me Out
    14 Tank Town Bump
    15 Sweet Peter
    16 Jersey Joe
    17 Mississippi Mildred
    18 Mint Julep
    19 Smilin' The Blues Away
    20 Turtle Twist
    21 My Little Dixie Home
    22 That's Like It Ought To Be

    Disc #3 Tracklisting
    1 Each Day
    2 If Someone Would Only Love Me
    3 That'll Never Do
    4 I'm Looking For A Little Bluebird
    5 Little Lawrence
    6 Harmony Blues
    7 Fussy Mabel
    8 Ponchatrain
    9 Oil Well
    10 Load Of Coal
    11 Crazy Chords
    12 Primrose Stomp
    13 Low Gravy
    14 Strokin' Away
    15 Blue Blood Blues
    16 Mushmouth Shuffle
    17 Gambling Jack
    18 Fickle Day Creep

    Disc #4 Tracklisting
    1 Chant
    2 Sidewalk Blues
    3 Dead Man Blues
    4 Someday Sweetheart
    5 Grandpa's Spells
    6 Original Jelly Roll Blues
    7 Cannon Ball Blues
    8 Hyena Stomp
    9 Billy Goat Stomp
    10 Wild Man Blues
    11 Jungle Blues
    12 Beale Street Blues
    13 Pearls
    14 Wolverine Blues
    15 Georgia Swing
    16 Kansas City Stomps
    17 Shoe Shiner's Drag
    18 Boogaboo
    19 Shreveport
    20 Mournful Serenade

    Disc #5 Tracklisting
    1 Shreveport
    2 Seattle Hunch
    3 Freakish
    4 Burnin' The Iceberg
    5 Courthouse Bump
    6 Pretty Lil
    7 Sweet Anita Mine
    8 New Orleans Bump
    9 Tank Town Bump
    10 Sweet Peter
    11 Jersey Joe
    12 Mississippi Mildred
    13 Each Day
    14 Oil Well
    15 Load Of Coal
    16 Crazy Chords
    17 Primrose Stomp
    18 Strokin' Away
    19 Blue Blood Blues
    20 Gambling Jack

Products you might be interested in