Welcome! Log in or Register

Connected -12" 90s

  • image
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2008-07-07 at Universal

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.03.2009 17:43
      Very helpful




      There is nothing better than finding some of your favourite tracks then finding them in extended versions. This album is somewhat of a godsend as it gathers some of the more edgy grooves from the 90's and gives you some 12 inch mixes to get your teeth into.


      Head for for bold and dramatic 'Open Up' By Leftfield and Lydon. The ex Sex Pistol adds some spicy vocals to this and seems to be spitting the lyrics and having a great time. Leftfield provide their usual selection of dirty industrial beats.

      More soulful is 'Remember Me' by The Blue Boy. Using a gospel esque vocal and some hypnotic beats, this is a moody number with a groove which you could wind to.

      Felix's 'Dont You Want Me' still tears up dancefloors with the slamming synth riff and the screeching vocal. It is high energy and has a wicked bassline to drive it. If this is up your street, The Grid's 'Swampthing' should also do the trick, catchy and irritating as a banjo plays a nagging hook.

      The third disc is a shift towards more soulful sounds. Arrested Development's 'People Everyday' is a raw and powerful song with natural sounding vocals and a real essence of community about it. More sublime is Omar doing 'There's Nothing Nothing Like This.' His vocals are rich and smooth and he penetrates the track with such warmth.


      Spread over three discs, you will get some trippy stuff on disc one, more eurodance on disc two before going more chilled on the last disc. 36 tracks , all worthy of a placing on the album. A rewarding listen.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Stereo MCs - Connected (12"Mix)
      2 Leftfield / Lydon - Open Up (Chemical Brothers Remix)
      3 The Blue Boy - Remember Me (12"Mix)
      4 The Beloved - Sun Rising (Tom's Drum & Bass Edit)
      5 The Stone Roses - Fools Gold (Bottom Won Mix)
      6 England New Order - World In Motion (Carabinieri Mix)
      7 The Soup Dragons - I'm Free (12"Mix)
      8 Paul Weller - Wild Wood (Portishead Sheared Wood Remix)
      9 Primal Scream - Funky Jam (Club Mix)
      10 Kula Shaker - Tattva (Lucky 13 Mix)
      11 Moloko - Fun For Me (Doctor Rockit Mix)
      12 James - Come Home (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Snap! - Rhythm Is A Dancer (Extended Mix)
      2 Felix - Don't You Want Me (Hooj Mix)
      3 Utah Saints - Something Good (12" Mix)
      4 Electronic - Getting Away With It (Extended Mix)
      5 The Grid - Swamp Thing (Southern Comfort Mix)
      6 Adamski - Killer (12" Version)
      7 Alison Limerick - Where Love Lives (Knuckles & Morales Classic Mix)
      8 Sub Sub Feat. Melanie Williams - Ain't No Love (Ain't No Use)
      9 M People - How Can I Love You More? (Classic Mix)
      10 Incognito - Always There (Morales Classic Mix)
      11 Freak Power - Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out (Pizzaman Remix)
      12 Beats International - Dub Be Good To Me (Norman Cook's Excursion In The Version)

      Disc #3 Tracklisting
      1 Deee-Lite " Groove Is In The Heart (Remix)
      2 Diana Brown & Barrie K Sharpe " The Masterplan (12" Mix)
      3 Arrested Development " People Everyday (Metamorphosis Mix)
      4 Jamiroquai - When You Gonna Learn? (JK Mix)
      5 Young Disciples " Apparently Nothin' (Soul River)
      6 Martine Gerault " Revival (12" Mix)
      7 Driza Bone " Real Love (Original Mix
      8 James Taylor Quartet" Starsky & Hutch (Funky People Mix)
      9 DJ Krush & Ronny Jordan " So What! (Tuff N Smooth Mix)
      10 Marxman " All About Eve (Sax N Flute Mix)
      11 Omar " There's Nothing Like This
      12 Tricky " Aftermath (LP Mix)

    Products you might be interested in