Welcome! Log in or Register

Coupled With - Wildhearts

  • image
£11.60 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
3 Reviews

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Wildhearts / Audio CD released 2004-03-29 at Gut

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    3 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      25.07.2009 06:37
      Very helpful



      Superb collection of B-sides

      'Coupled With' by The Wildhearts is one very under rated album by one hugely under rated band. In my opinion frontman, Ginger, is of the most talented songwriters in the UK and neither him nor his band ever received the mainstream exposure that they truly deserve. Most likely because of some of their older sleazier more offensive material.

      'Coupled With' was the follow-up release to the album 'The Wildhearts Must Be Destroyed' which has a very strong America pop-punk style to all the songs and not surprisingly was recorded in America! The style seems to remain vaguely throughout 'Coupled With' although at a much punkier level, the band seem to have returned to their roots a little.

      Released in 2004 by Gut Records 'Coupled With' contains twenty one B-side tracks of pure Wildhearts rock - now that's good value for money and even includes a cover version of the Cheers theme song! There's a lot variety in terms of style throughout the album, some songs have good catchy melodies while others are heavier and thrashy - literally a taste of The Wildhearts for everyone.

      Highlights from the album would be 'The People That Life Forgot' with a great theme and catchy chorus, the stompingly heavy yet melodic 'Looking For The One' which always seems to find it's way into your head with no accord, the ridiculously lengthy titled 'You Got To Get Through What You've Got To Go Through To Get What You Want But You Got To Know What You Want To Get Through What You Got To Go Through', the softer more tuneful love song 'Hit It On The Head', the rocking anthem 'OCD' and the sleazy highly fuelled 'Action Panzer' .

      I can truly say that this is one album that rocks with style, The Wildhearts are a band that are unmatched in what they do and despite 'Coupled With' being advertised on national television the album still didn't seem to attract much attention. The Wildhearts have also split up many times over the past years but are very much now back together and rocking better than ever. Their self-titled 2007 album 'The Wildhearts' being their best romp yet. A new album is also due out soon.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      06.03.2009 00:07
      Very helpful



      A great taster CD for the band...

      The Wildhearts are a band from Newcastle that enjoyed moderate recognition for their work in the Mid to late 90's, and are known as a Pop/Rock band with many up-beat songs, made to uplift, and tell a story of the band members previous troubles in life.

      Coupled With is an album released in 2004 which was released by popular demand of The Wildhearts fanbase and beyond, due to the effort put into the 'B Side' Tracks as well as the Singles released into the charts.

      The obvious stand out here to anyone not farmiliar with The Wildhearts, is 'Cheers,' which, of course, is the theme from the popular American TV Sitcom of the same name. A fantastic rendition of the theme is displayed here, and could easily be the favourite of all owners and listeners of this album alike. One celebrity fan is known to be Radio One DJ, Chris Moyles, who actually played this song every Morning on his Early Morning Radio Show.

      Other tracks, such as Stormy in the North, OCD, Lets Go, You Got to Get Through What You Got to Go Through and Bang! all in the recent-to-2004 UK Charts, the majority of which were part of a Double-CD packs of Vanilla Radio and Stormy in the North.

      The album is a very very good pop-rock album recommended to anyone who has grown tired of the recent production of 'Rock'

      Coupled with is actually one of my favourite Wildhearts Albums, and displays a continuity which many bands dont have in their B Sides.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      08.08.2008 21:09
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Top notch Brit rock

      This might only be a collection of B-sides (mostly) from a handful of singles, BUT it is a far better album than a lot of bands manage in their entire career. The Wildhearts often seem to be an under-rated band and THIS is an under-rated album. Their trademark sound of heavy punky pop rock is all over this album. Beautiful harmonies over (at times, ridiculously) heavy guitars. A blinding cover of the Cheers theme tune is always good for a chuckle and you can get away with playing that one to your Mum. If you fancy something with a bit more angst then try Lake Of Piss or The People that Life forgot. This cd is not as gritty as early Wildhearts material, this is more like what the Beach Boys would be doing if they did super heavy punk rock. If you like your rock/metal/punk melodic and ballsy then you won't be
      disappointed with this record.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Stormy In The North, Karma In The South
      2 Move On
      3 Cheers
      4 The People That Life Forgot
      5 L.T.D.
      6 Looking For The One
      7 6.30 Onwards
      8 Eager to Leave 'Er
      9 Putting It On
      10 Better Than Cable
      11 Lake Of Piss
      12 If I Decide
      13 Bang!
      14 You Got To Get Through...
      15 Hit It On The Head
      16 Let's Go
      17 Return To Zero
      18 O.C.D.
      19 Action Panzer
      20 Dancin'
      21 Stormy In The North Karma In The South (Video)

    Products you might be interested in