Welcome! Log in or Register

Cursing Your Will To Live - Dodsferd

  • image
£7.40 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Dodsferd / Audio CD released 2007-10-08 at Moribund

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.03.2010 01:03
      Very helpful



      A decent slab of black and roll, despite immature vocals and lyrics

      Dodsferd is a Greek black metal band (project, whatever) that never ceases to frustrate me. The band has only one permanent member by the name of Wrath, responsible for vocals, guitars and songwriting, whilst temporary session musicians are hired in for bass and drum duties.

      Released in 2007, 'Cursing Your Will To Live' retains the same advantages and disadvantages as its predecessor. On the one hand, Wrath is clearly a talented songwriter, with the tracks evidencing a convincing synthesis of fast-paced and raw, early-Burzum-like guitarwork and more contemporary 'black and roll' sensibilities, with the songs twisting and turning in an engaging and atmospheric fashion, shifting from breakneck passages to mid paced and melancholy bridges before gradually working back up to speed once more. Further, Wrath's vocals are for the most part pretty good, recalling Varg Vikernes' agonised adolescent howls in places.

      On the downside however, Wrath still imbues his music with a distinctly jeuvanile ideaological approach; nihilism and misanthropy is all good and well but the lyrics and songtitles still scream 'angry teenager' whilst the interlude tracks in which Wrath screams his lungs out without the coarse and distorted musical backing left me wishing he'd just go away and come back when his balls have finally dropped. Also, the employment of samples from evangelist sermons in old films ups the cheese factor yet further.

      None of this detracts from the fact that musically 'Cursing Your Will To Live' has a lot to offer however, with powerful and intoxicating riffs and dynamic drums worked into engaging songstructures, making it still worth checking out despite its angsty and adolescent flaws.


      1. All of Them Are Dead 01:12
      2. Hypocritic Sh*tf*ckers Still Breathing 07:16
      3. You Called It Resurrection, I Call It a Fairytale for Human Parasites, Your Kind! 06:37
      4. Failure Was Described as Religion, as Heresy 08:41
      5. I Was Challenged to Enter the Gates of Blasphemy 08:01
      6. Under a Broken Cross, I Buried Your World 06:00
      7. Standing at the Ashes of a Forsaken Kingdom 09:40
      8. Cursing Your Will to Live 09:51
      9. Your Death, My Propitiation 07:46
      10. I Kept Standing with Disgust 02:52

      Total playing time 01:07:56


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 All Of Them Are Dead
      2 Hypocritic Shitfuckers Still Breathing
      3 You Called It Resurrection I Call It Fairytale For Human Parasites Your Kind
      4 Failure Was Described As Religion As Heresy
      5 I Was Challenged To Enter the Gates Of Blasphemy
      6 Under a Broken Cross I Buried Your World
      7 Standing At the Ashes Of a Forsaken Kingdom
      8 Cursing Your Will To Live
      9 Your Death My Propitation
      10 I Kept Standing With Disgust

    Products you might be interested in