Welcome! Log in or Register

Cynic Paradise - Pain

  • image
£6.95 Best Offer by: zavvi.co.uk See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk / Artist: Pain / Audio CD released 2008-10-27 at Spinefarm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.06.2009 21:04
      Very helpful
      1 Comment




      Cynic Paradise is the 6th album from Peter Tägtgren's side project Pain, being a big fan of Tägtgren's work in both Pain and Hypocrisy, not to mention many of the artists he has produced for, I had high expectations of this album and I am glad to say I was not disappointed.

      We start on full throttle with the aptly titled 'I'm Going In' which really sets the tone for the rest of the album. This is excellent industrial metal, the growling guitars combined with powerful synths and strong electronic sounds. 'Follow Me' featuring Nightwish's Anette Olzen, is a catchy almost danceable anthem, her vocals fitting effortlessly with the upbeat tone of the track.

      'Have a Drink on me' particularly stands out because it takes on a completely different sound to the rest of the album. The fast paced industrial sounds are put aside briefly for this blues influenced track.

      There's no question that the title of the album is particularly fitting when you listen to the cynicism of the lyrics in songs like 'Monkey Business', 'Generation X', 'Live Fast - Die Young' and 'Feed Us', each having a less than optimistic commentary on aspects of modern society, yet it's not hard to see where such ideas come from! 'Monkey Business' being especially apt when you consider the recent parliamentary expenses scandals.

      Track 'No One Knows' doesn't have the same sort of edge as the rest of the album and for me, is the only track I find myself skipping on occasion.

      Otherwise though, another great work from Pain filled with songs that should be filling the floors of rock clubs around the country. An excellent purchase for any fan of industrial metal.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 I'm Going In
      2 Monkey Business
      3 Follow Me
      4 Have a Drink on Me
      5 Don't Care
      6 Reach Out (And Regret)
      7 Generation X
      8 No-One Knows
      9 Live Fast/Die Young [It's a Cynic Paradise]
      10 Not Your Kind
      11 Feed Us
      12 Follow Me (Peter Vox)
      13 Clouds of Ecstasy [Bassflow Remix]
      14 No-One Knows [Rectifier Remix]
      15 Trapped

    Products you might be interested in