Welcome! Log in or Register

David Gates Songbook - David Gates

  • image
£12.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: David Gates / Audio CD released 2002-09-30 at Elektra

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      17.03.2009 22:44
      Very helpful



      Gorgeous songs, gorgeous voice, buy it!

      I submitted a suggestion for this album because it's so gorgeous everyone should know about it!

      I was watching TOTP2, a good few years ago now, when former Bread front man David Gates performed a song from his new CD at the very end of the show. Immediately I turned to the person sat next to me and said 'I'm buying that album'. I scoured the shops and bought my copy of the autumn-yellow CD, The David Gates Songbook - A Lifetime of Music, in Woolworths (yes it was a while ago now!) as soon as it appeared. Since then I've bought a further three copies of the album for family and friends. The song I had heard was called 'Find Me', and in one word, it was beautiful.

      Many of the songs here, including 'Make It With You', 'Everything I Own' and 'If', will be familiar to anyone who's not been living on Mars for the last thirty years. Fully half of the songs on the album were Bread hits and a further five (including 'Goodbye Girl') have been solo hits for David Gates. That leaves five 'new' songs. I say new, one is a re-recording of a single from the 90s only released in the US. Since fifteen of the songs are already familiar, you'll probably know whether you like them or not. If you don't know, you can listen to clips online or buy the album! The new songs are:

      Find Me
      This is track #2. The only way I can describe it is 'beautiful'. The song begs a lover to wait and to find him again if they are ever separated by death. Sounds gloomy and weird, but it really is lovely. It almost moves me to tears to hear it. The song is quite similar in the sound to 'Make It With You'.

      I Can't Play The Songs
      Track #4 describes the feelings you get when hearing songs associated with a lost love. Living in silence because every song brings back memories of you. The sound of this song is similar to 'Find Me'.

      Love Is Always Seventeen
      Pretty self-explanatory, track #6 says that it doesn't matter what's in the past, or how long you have to wait for that perfect someone, because when you find her it makes you feel like a teenager again. Or something like that. I don't know, I'm no philosopher. But it's a lovely song. Again this has the same feel to it as 'Find Me'. (In fact, most of the album has that feel...)

      The Mustang
      Ah, here we go. Track #8 is one of the two songs that don't really seem to 'fit' on this album. It's a great song and very listenable, but doesn't really feel like the others. A teenage girl growing up too fast. Catchy and feel-good but if I was to listen to these on my computer/mp3 player, I'd put this song on a separate playlist to 18 of the other songs.

      Mirror, Mirror
      Track #10 is another beautiful song, about a girl/woman wondering as she looks in the mirror what the future will bring. This is a favourite song of my ten year old sister and if the album is on, she will ask for this song.

      Don't be put off, if you're not a country fan, by the CD cover. It looks like it should be a country album, and the colour photos in the pamphlet, showing him on (I assume) his ranch, reinforce this idea. But it's NOT a country album! Really. I can't really compare these songs to any that weren't written by Gates himself. He has a very distinctive style that has won over everybody I know. My partner and I love to listen to this album when having a cuddle on the sofa, and Mum will have it in the car on any journey. When I hear the songs on this album, 'Find Me' in particular, they give me the sweetest, most painful feeling inside. The guy is a genius, buy this album and see for yourself.

      The full track listing:
      1. Make It With You
      2. Find Me
      3. Baby I'm-A Want You
      4. I Can't Play The Songs
      5. If
      6. Love Is Always Seventeen
      7. It Don't Matter To Me
      8. The Mustang
      9. Everything I Own
      10. Mirror, Mirror
      11. Lost Without Your Love
      12. This Could Be Forever
      13. Aubrey
      14. Sail Around The World
      15. Part-Time Love
      16. Sweet Surrender
      17. Goodbye Girl
      18. Never Let Her Go
      19. Diary
      20. The Guitar Man

      The inlay pamphlet contains a reasonably long and quite decent description of his career. There are a couple of recent colour photos, plus two black and white ones (quite small) from the 70s (I'd guess). It contains the lyrics to the five new songs, plus the track listing and information (writers, length, producers etc.) that you expect.

      If you're curious, you can find clips from all the songs at www.hmv.co.uk. The album is sold for anything up to about £15, but is on Amazon used at the moment for £2.48 + postage. At that price, what have you got to lose?


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Make It With You
      2 Find Me
      3 Baby I?m A Want You
      4 I Can?t Play The Songs
      5 If
      6 Love Is Always Seventeen
      7 It Don?t Matter To Me
      8 The Mustang
      9 Everything I Own
      10 Mirror, Mirror
      11 Lost Without Your Love
      12 This Could Be Forever
      13 Aubrey
      14 Sail Around The World
      15 Part Time Lover
      16 Sweet Surrender
      17 Goodbye Girl
      18 Never let Her Go
      19 Diary
      20 The Guitar Man

    Products you might be interested in