Welcome! Log in or Register

Daydream - Katherine Jenkins

  • image
£11.83 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Classical - Opera, Choral & Voice / Artist: Katherine Jenkins / Audio CD released 2011-10-10 at Warner Bros

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.06.2012 17:50
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A delightful album from an incredibly talented artist.

      Katherine Jenkins

      Katherine Jenkins is a famous Welsh singer who is well-known for her incredibly powerful voice, beautiful looks and classical-popular style of music. At the beginning of her career Jenkins was known for her emotive performances and above all her classical music. Over recent years however, Jenkins style of music has altered to a more popular sound, launching her to stardom all around the world. She is now a fully fledged celebrity in her own right and has even just appeared on American television in Dancing With The Stars, on which she placed second. Katherine is also widely known for her religious performances, performing for the troops in Afghanistan and for her role on the popular television show Popstar To Operastar.


      Daydream is the eighth album to be released by Katherine Jenkins. It was originally released in October 2011 and has gone on to be a huge success for her. It feature quite a varied mix of songs ranging from covers to pop songs to operatic classics. There is definitely something for everyone and it highlights Katherine's vocal ability and versatility in the best possible way.


      1. Black Is The Colour
      The album begins with this song which is dramatic, operatic and full of emotional. Katherine's voice sounds simply angelic and the stunning instrumentals are powerful and gradually build up to compliment long and high notes from Jenkins. Towards the end of the song a choir joins in, giving the song a perfect emotional ending.

      2. Your Silhouette
      This song begins with some beautiful string instrumentals before Katherine starts to sing beautifully. This song is more gentle and has a slow piano instrumental throughout. It is definitely more of a pop song than an opera song. It is a beautiful love song and the lyrics are very emotional and speak of love in a moving way.

      3. Can't Slow Down
      This is a lovely pop song with quite a fast-paced chorus and lively vibe. It has a slight Carrie Underwood feel to it with a bouncy yet emotional country sound. Katherine's voice sounds lovely on this track and it just shows how versatile her voice is and how she really can sing pretty much anything.

      4. J'Avais Reve D'une Autre Vie (I Dreamed A Dream)
      In this version of I Dreamed A Dream, Katherine sings in French. Her voice is absolutely flawless and it is a very classy and unique cover of a wonderful song. It is dramatic, emotional and the French language gives it a special edge. If you are familiar with the lyrics in English then you can understand the song even if you don't understand the French.

      5. Carrickfergus
      Katherine takes this well-known Irish folk stone and turns it into a beautiful ballad. Her voice is simply incredible and is supported by a wonderful choir, making it very emotional. Anybody who is already a fan of this song will undoubtedly love this version.

      6. L'Alba Verra
      This song has a much more classical sound to it and is definitely operatic. It is a bit slow moving but it is lovely to listen to and enjoy. Katherine's voice is phenomenal and the Italian lyrics are stunning.

      7.And This Is My Beloved
      This song is very dramatic, it is not quite classical and it is not pop music. I find it quite difficult to listen to as it is such a mixture of the two and it is rather old fashioned. It is definitely not easy listening.

      8. Love Divine (Hyfrydol)
      Katherine's vocals are beautiful on this track, she really sings her heart out and it sounds incredible. Unlike the previous track, this song is very gentle and easy to listen to even though it has a lot of emotion in it.

      9. Ave Maria (New Version)
      This is one of my favourite songs of all time and Katherine certainly does it justice with this beautiful and emotional version. There is a male choir in the background, which makes her voice stand out and the calmness of the song really works well with its meaning.

      10. A Flower Tells A Story
      This is a delightful song with stunning lyrics and a beautiful performance from Katherine. It is very moving, thought-provoking and it may just bring a tear to your eye.

      11. Break It To My Heart
      This is definitely my favourite song on the album! It is a beautiful pop song about heartbreak and it is sung perfectly by Katherine. It has a catchy tune and relatable lyrics which makes it quite an anthem. It still has a classical edge to it with Katherine's vocal sound and the mixture of the two work really well on this track.

      12. Blaenwern
      This is a lovely Welsh Christian hymn which Katherine of course sings very well. I don't tend to listen to it often as I don't understand it and it is not really my kind of thing, but it is very nice all the same.

      13. Abigail's Song (From Doctor Who A Christmas Carol) (Bonus Track)
      Again this is not a song that I would particularly choose to listen to but it is very pleasant and quite catchy. I watched the Doctor Who Special with Katherine Jenkins in and I loved it.


      Overall I really like this album! There are a few tracks which I skip on, depending on my mood and what I fancy listening to. The songs which are a bit more classical are sometimes quite difficult to listen to as they are dramatic and heavy but the pop songs are light and lovely anytime of the day. I like that there is a huge contrast on this album as it offers something for everyone and shows what a versatile artist Katherine Jenkins is. I am definitely a fan of her music and I think that she is an incredible talent. Her sound is timeless and unique and is a treat to listen to!


      Daydream is available from all good music stores and websites. Play.com are currently selling it for just £5.89 with free delivery.

      Would I Recommend?

      I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of Katherine Jenkins or this kind of music. The album has a great variety of tracks and styles so there is something for everyone! I find that the only thing with this CD is that I have to be in a certain mood to want to listen to it, I can't just pop it on at anytime. It is still very good however and a worthwhile purchase for the small price.

      Thank you for reading my review : )

      Review also on Ciao under luceey.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Black is the Colour
      2 Your Silhouette
      3 Break it to My Heart
      4 I Dreamed a Dream
      5 Carrickfergus
      6 L'Alba Verra
      7 And This is My Beloved
      8 Hyfrydol
      9 Ave Maria
      10 A Flower
      11 Can't Slow Down
      12 Blaenwern
      13 Bonus Track - Abigail's Song

    Products you might be interested in