Welcome! Log in or Register

Desire - Pharoahe Monch

  • image
£1.33 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Pharoahe Monch / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2007-06-26 at Universe

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.07.2007 10:33
      Very helpful



      Nice album the production is tight, though the lyrics aren't perfect, a lil more commercial too

      Well I was late copping this album but finally got around to picking it up Tuesday night. I wasn’t a real huge pharaoh monch or organized konfusion fan back in the day but I copped the “internal affairs” cassette a few years ago and was pretty pleased with it, but then completely forgot about son until last year when diddy channeled the spirit of him for “the future” track (which was ghostwritten by pharaoh) on his album. Later on I heard “desire” and “Push” which were both on our top 5 countdowns, I was feeling both of those joints so made up my mind to cop the CD when it dropped.

      And I’m damn glad I did…

      Dude sets the tone from the beginning with “Free”. A track where he compares the recording industry to slavery… great lyricism and content over a banging beat. Next comes desire, an uptempo track with one of my favourite producers Alchemist behind the boards, and a cat named showtyme who sounds exactly like K-ci singing the hook. Nice track.

      “Push” is a track where he starts getting a lil more experimental, it’s mostly a harmonizing exercise with some rhymes sprinkled in, but doesn’t come off corny, or delve too much into the left field like some other rappers who tried to go the same route.

      “Welcome to the terrordome” had me thinking that there was a Chuck D guest appearance but it wasn’t, it was just Pharoah rhyming with the same voice, cadence and delivery as chuck over a public enemy style track, similar to how black thought mimicked BDK and G rap on “boom”. “What it is” and “when the gun draws” are good tracks as well, the latter is a concept track in the same vein as “stray bullet”.

      “let’s go” is another banger. Sounds kinda similar to Just blaze’s production on Fat joes “the incredible”. There’s a hilarious mini-skit/parody in between this track and “body baby” where somebody’s scanning the radio and on one channel, hear some ignorant rapper talking shit on some Hot 97 type radio show, and on another channel hear some ying yangs “whisper” type snap track where a dudes spittin about jacking off. Then on another channel you hear some extreme backpack rapper rapping about “save the trees y’all, save the trees” lol.

      Next track is the only mis-step of the album “body baby”, the shit sounds like a combination of Will Smiths “switch” and B-Rich’s “whoa now”. I'll give him props for shouting out the T dot, but overall...Not feeling it, I’ll give it a chance later on but right now I can’t even listen to the shit in it’s entirety.

      “Bar tap” is a track where Pharoah hits the club and hollas at a chick, for a backpacker, son’s pretty good at doing these tracks whenever he attempts it. “The light” worked and this works as well… great track, the production is on point, flow and delivery is good, female R&B vocalist laying down the chorus sounds smooth. This and “hold on” are probably the best bets for radio play and giving him some exposure and that crossover appeal. “Hold on” is a track featuring Erykah badu on the hook, pharaoh spits some positive uplifting empowering lyrics to the dark skin sistas. Nice track. Next we get to “So good” yo I swear if you want your girl to feel this CD just initially let it bump from track 9 and on..let her get into the lyrical shit afterwards…shit is smooth. This track sounds like something the late great J dilla would’ve produced, nice baseline, soulfull and mellow..Next is a “Trilogy” a 9 minute masterpiece of a track which is actually 3 different tracks in one, it’s a story of a man who discovers his wife dead and how everything unfolds. Very well done, all three of the beats work well and blend together perfectly.

      All in all this is probably the best album of the year so far, after a 8 year hiatus Pharoah came back and proved that he still got love for hip hop, still has skills on the mic and comes lyrically and intelligently without being too complex, but just complex enough to satisfy us real heads (you’re gonna have to rewind a couple times). The G.O.A.T said hip hop is dead but we’ve got niggas like Pharoah monch, Common, kast, papoose, kanye etc. working the defibrillators maad hard.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Intro - Pharoahe Monch,
    2 Free - Pharoahe Monch,
    3 Desire - Pharoahe Monch, , Showtyme
    4 Push - Mela Machinko, Pharoahe Monch, , Showtyme, Tower of Power
    5 Welcome to the Terrordrome - Pharoahe Monch,
    6 What It Is - Pharoahe Monch,
    7 When the Gun Draws - Mister Porter, Pharoahe Monch, ,
    8 Let's Go - Mela Machinko, Pharoahe Monch,
    9 Body Baby - Pharoahe Monch,
    10 Bar Tap - Mela Machinko, Pharoahe Monch,
    11 Hold On - Erykah Badu, Pharoahe Monch,
    12 So Good - Pharoahe Monch,
    13 Trilogy - Dwele, Mister Porter, Pharoahe Monch, , , , Tone

Products you might be interested in