Welcome! Log in or Register

Detonator - Ratt

  • image
£11.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Hard Rock / Artist: Ratt / Audio CD released 1990-08-13 at Atlantic

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      11.01.2012 15:43
      Very helpful



      Ratt's best album.

      "Detonator" is the 5th studio album by US glam rock band, Ratt. It was released in 1990 on Atlantic Records and produced by Desmond Child & Sir Arthur Payson. The line-up for the album was Stephen Pearcy (vocals), Warren DeMartini (guitar), Robbin Crosby (guitar), Juan Croucier (bass) and Bobby Blotzer (drums).

      "Intro Into Shame" is a 55 second intro played slowly on a detuned guitar which leads into "Shame Shame Shame". At the end of the first things begin to speed up a bit. Seconds into the second part of the song, the guitar is joined by drums and bass. The lyrics are about cheating.

      Stephen Pearcy's somewhat raspy voice gives "Lovin' You's a Dirty Job" an edgy, dirty sound pure glam rock naughtiness. The lyrics are, of course, all about innuendo. The music is heavy and impressive.

      Although it is one of the very few power ballads Ratt has ever performed, "Givin' Yourself Away" is still quite heavy. The lyrics are about a woman still in love with a man but denying her feelings, which could have made the song into a sappy love tune. However, Ratt managed to keep it from going down that route by making it just heavy enough to rock, while keeping it just mellow enough to still be a love song. They managed to find the fine line between the two and keep true to it.

      Anyone who loves glam music will appreciate this album. I'd recommend it for a glam fan who hasn't heard Ratt, or anyone looking to enjoy some true glam. In my opinion, it is their best album, hands down.

      1. Intro to Shame
      2. Shame Shame Shame
      3. Lovin' You's a Dirty Job
      4. Scratch That Itch
      5. One Step Away
      6. Hard Time
      7. Heads I Win, Tails You Lose
      8. All or Nothing
      9. Can't Wait on Love
      10. Givin' Yourself Away
      11. Top Secret

      My rating: 9/10


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Intro To Shame
    2 Shame Shame Shame
    3 Lovin' You's A Dirty Job
    4 Scratch That Itch
    5 One Step Away
    6 Hard Time
    7 Heads I Win, Tails You Loose
    8 All Or Nothing
    9 Can't Wait On Love
    10 Givin' Yourself Away
    11 Top Secret

Products you might be interested in