Welcome! Log in or Register

Dil Chahta Hai - Soundtrack

  • image
£1.05 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Soundtrack / Artist: Various / Soundtrack / Audio CD released at Normal

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      24.04.2010 12:21
      Very helpful



      Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy's first big album!

      Released in 2000/01,Dil Chahta Hai created a new wave of cinema and its soundtrack wasn't too far away. The film went on to become a cult and the soundtrack is still remembered after 10 years of its release. Composed by music composer trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, the album features lyrics by Javed Akhtar.

      The title track 'Dil Chahta Hai' starts with the emergence of a new sound. Shankar comes behind the mike and their affinity for rock music is apparent with the composition and the musical arrangements. Dil Chahta Hai comes as a breathe of fresh air, and compels you to sway with it. Groove to the beats or play it while driving/lounging!

      Dependable singers Udit Narayan and Alka Yagnik sing 'Jaane Kyun'- a love/hate song that sounds fun! The lyrics are witty, enjoyable and very honest. Shankar Ehsaan Loy's tune is original yet again- it is catchy yet classy. The chemistry between the two singers is the USP of the song and elevatets the song to a new level.

      Shaan and Kavita Krishnamurthy gets to sing the only proper love duet in the album. 'Woh Ladki Hai Kahan' will remind you of the golden era of hindi music and carries the charm of old times. Javed Akhtar's lyrics pay tribute to that era and the singing complements the setting even more. A fantastic track by every means, this will be remembered for long.

      Srinivas goes solo with 'Kaise Hai Yeh Ruut'- a soft, melodic and poetic song that will soothe your senses. Javed Akhter's lyrics are beautifully composed by Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy. I tend to go into a trance when I listen to this and the flute playing is amazing!

      Lets get into the mood to party with 'Koi Kahe'. Sung by Shankar, K.K and Shaan, this track is a full-on entertainer! The lyrics are well written for a club number and Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy extends their range as composers with this. All the singers are brilliant,especially K.K who sings his heart out. Koi Kahe will get you on your feet!

      Up next is an instrumental. "Akash's Love Theme" is a soft musical piece that has strong western orchestra influence. The music is such that it could have fit into any big hollywood love story.

      The album has been brilliant so far but once you hear the last offering, you are floored! The best is kept for the last. Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy brings in Sonu Nigam as singer to sing 'Tanhayee'- the sad love ballad that will bring tears in your eyes! Sonu Nigam's heart wrenching rendition of Tanhayee won him many accolades, and once you hear the song you won't be able to get it out of your heads. This has to be one of the finest tracks of the last decade or so(2000- till date). Javed Akhtar's lyrics portray the inner feelings of a broken heart with all hopes lost. Don't miss this!

      Dil Chahta Hai's OST has to be one of the 15 best soundtracks of the last decade. Not only was it musically rich, it was also ahead of its time.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Dil Chahta Hai - Shankar Mahadevan
    2 Jaane Kyon - Udit Narayan, Alka Yagnik
    3 Woh Ladki Hai Kahan - Shaan,
    4 Kaisi Hai Yeh Rut
    5 Koi Kahe Kehta Rahe - Kay Kay, Kay Kay, Shankar Mahadevan, Shaan
    6 Akash's Love Theme
    7 Tanhayee - Sonu Nigam
    8 Dil Chahta Hai (Reprise) - Shankar Mahadevan

Products you might be interested in