Welcome! Log in or Register

Dil Se - Soundtrack

  • image
1 Review

Genre: Soundtrack / Artist: Various Artists / Soundtrack / Audio CD released 1999-10-12 at Musicrama/Koch

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.02.2010 17:08
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Rahman weaves magic again.

      Mani Ratnam,A.R.Rahman,Gulzar.That should be enough to describe how brilliant the album is.

      Sukhwinder Singh starts off proceedings with 'Thaiya Thaiya'- a poignant,slow yet powerful song that has minimal use of instruments and Rahman gives center stage to Sukhwinder who is brilliant throughout the song.

      'Chal Chaiyya Chaiyya' takes a pinch of the previous track's melody and Rahman adds a lot of punch,beats and energy to make it what it is-one of the most popular Indian tracks that westerners know. Both Sukhwinder and Sapna Awasthi render this with huge amount of energy,Gulzar's lyrics are priceless and carry a lot of soul. Chal Chaiyya Chaiyya is mad,zany and carry a lot of attitude. Sukhwinder Singh,way to go!

      A.R.Rahman comes behind the mike for the title track 'Dil Se' which is nothing short of brilliant! Gulzar's lyrics are philosophical but Rahman packs in a very contemporary composition which is not so conventional. What stands out most in the track is Rahman's rendition-you cant help but be in awe of the genius!

      Lata Mangeshkar's evergreen voice is heard in 'Jiya Jale'-a song with lot of regional classic influences. This might not be a commercial entertainer but holds it magic nevertheless.Lose yourself to the legendary Lata's voice and you won't mind the classical overdose.

      Sonu Nigam and Kavita Krishnamurthy are roped in for 'Satrangi Re'- a very emotional romantic song with a very innovative composition which sets it up nicely. Sonu Nigam gets space to unleash his madness which works wonderfully well for the song and Kavita is at her melodic best.Satrangi Re is to be heard,but I'm sure there will be people who won't like it.

      'Ae Ajnabi' ends the album on a rather poetic note. Ae Aajnabi is more calm,soothing to the ears and who better than Udit Narayan and Madhushree to croon such a soulful number. Rahman's composition is classy,sophisticated and will surely keep you hooked. I go back to this song every now and then and I believe this song has the longest shelf life.Brilliant!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Chaiyya Chaiyya - Sukhwinder Singh
      2 Jiya Jale - Lata Mangeshkar, M.G. Sreekumar
      3 Dil Se Re - Guy Pratt, A.R. Rahman
      4 E Ajnabi - Mahalakshmi, Udit Narayan
      5 Thayya Thayya - Sukhwinder Singh
      6 Satrangi Re - Kavita Krishnamurthy, Sonu Nigam, , John Themis

    Products you might be interested in