Welcome! Log in or Register

Discouraged Ones - Katatonia

  • image
£6.43 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Katatonia / Audio CD released 2007-02-26 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.08.2008 12:18
      Very helpful



      Katatonia's third album (1998).

      Katatonia's third album marks the point at which the band abandoned doom metal in favour of a more commercially accessible depressive rock direction, but accusations of selling out are unfounded in light of the high quality and integrity of 'Discouraged Ones.' The guitar work still dominates in a similar manner to the previous 'Brave Murder Day,' and this is essentially a natural continuation of that style, dropping the growled vocals and editing the songs to more convenient lengths.

      It's difficult to pick out specific songs here, as most are quite similar, and identifiable largely by each distinctive guitar melody that Blackheim chooses to lead the way with. Some songs are still quite heavy, namely 'Nerve,' but the new direction is entirely successful, not yet giving over to bland pop elements as would be the case in subsequent albums. The choruses are heartfelt and energetic, matching the intensity of the repeating guitar chords elsewhere, and it's guaranteed that several of the hypnotic guitar lines will haunt you for days to come.

      1. I Break
      2. Stalemate
      3. Deadhouse
      4. Relention
      5. Cold Ways
      6. Gone
      7. Last Resort
      8. Nerve
      9. Saw You Drown
      10. Instrumental
      11. Distrust


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 I Break
      2 Stalemate
      3 Deadhouse
      4 Relention
      5 Cold Ways
      6 Gone
      7 Last Resort
      8 Nerve
      9 Saw You Drown
      10 Instrumental
      11 Distrust
      12 Quiet World
      13 Scarlet Heavens

    Products you might be interested in