Welcome! Log in or Register

Eclipse - Yngwie Malmsteen

  • image
£4.72 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Hard Rock / Artist: Yngwie Malmsteen / Import / Audio CD released 1999-12-23 at Universal

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.12.2008 08:25
      Very helpful



      Yngwie Malmsteen's fifth album (1990).

      Viewed in one way as Yngwie Malmsteen's first true solo album - and in another, ultimately more correct way, not - 1990's 'Eclipse' sees the tortured guitar genius finally abandoned by his old Rising Force comrades and teaming up with a bunch of new musicians and a singer, whose mediocrity would be assumed to increase Malmsteen's own virtuosity, were he putting in any real degree of effort.

      I'm not particularly a fan of so-called 'shred' acts, as being the most technically proficient guitarist in the world doesn't necessarily mean you have any creative talent (Michael Angelo Batio's work in the awful eighties glam band Nitro is almost too perfect an example of this). Nevertheless, it is interesting to see the limits of a genre of instrument pushed, and I was curious to check Malmsteen out. I can only hope that this isn't a fair representation of his work.

      The primary lasting impression is, where the hell are the guitar theatrics? There are a couple of impressive solos here and there, but nothing you wouldn't find on any heavy metal album of the eighties. It's clear that this album (I can't vouch for his others, which I haven't heard) is targeted primarily at the musical mainstream, especially in the airy vocals and over-saturation of shiny keyboards. Malmsteen's only real chance to shine himself is in the instrumental title track at the end, and even that isn't anything too special.

      Overall, this isn't that bad, and is probably quite good as commercial glam metal albums go, but it wasn't what I was expecting from the axeman.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Making Love
    2 Bedroom Eyes
    3 Save Our Love
    4 Motherless Child
    5 Devil In Disguise
    6 Judas
    7 What Do You Want
    8 Demon Driver
    9 Faultline
    10 See You In Hell (Don't Be Late)
    11 Eclipse

Products you might be interested in