Welcome! Log in or Register

Electribal Memories - Electribe 101

  • image
£24.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: World Music / Artist: Electribe 101 / Audio CD released 1990-10-08 at Mercury

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      11.02.2012 19:43
      Very helpful



      Billie-Ray Martin's voice is an acquired taste - recommended for the open minded 90's dance fan


      This album was released in 1990 and track one 'Talking with myself' was re-released which reached number 23 in the charts. Electribe 101 also toured as a support band for Depeche Mode during this time.

      *Track Listing*

      1. Talking with myself - This was originally released in 1988, without success. A very whimsical chorus, from the strong and powerful tones of Billie-Ray Martin.
      2. Lipstick on my lover - 90's synthesized beats and the catchy chorus 'I will be begging you please' throughout in a shrill tone.
      3. Your Walking - Two boop, boop keyboard sounds, start a very distinctive beginning. The scale of Billie-Ray Martin's voice is very apparent in this song.
      4. Inside Out - A cover of the Odyssey track which was originally released in 1982. This version has a lot more drum beats added into a 90's style.
      5. Diamond Dove - A more eerie tone of voice, in this track with a good bass line.
      6. Heading for the night - A more slower paced soulful, r 'n' b tempo with this particular one.
      7. Tell me when the fever ended - *favourite* The arrangement of the groove, the build up bridge and sinister vocals which work so well together. And for me, was part of the iconic video image in the 90's of Billie-Ray Martin's chic bob haircut, swaying hips and chain hip belt.
      8. Talking 2 - The instrumental, piano version of 'Talking to Myself' with plenty of bongo and percussion.
      9. Electribal Memories - A song about reminiscent times with talking and singing for the description.
      10.Talking with Myself - '98' (Frankie Knuckles mix) - A totally different slant on this version, lots of atmospheric piano added. Then slowly lifts into extra drums.
      11. Talking with Myself - '98' (Canny 12" vocal) -The sounds of the waves crashing, then again the Frankie Knuckles piano.
      12. Talking with Myself - '98' (Beloved radio edit) - A much more livelier dance take on this, compared to the previous remixes above, with rolling beats.


      Ultimately my opinion is very sentimental and nostalgic, as this rave, techno, dance decade was where I had the best times of my life. I find this to be a classic album of it's time, and will always have a place in my heart.


      Login or register to add comments

Products you might be interested in